We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What can i say... loved everthing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sunny Coast Resort & Spa
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Qawra
Billingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“What can i say... loved everthing”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Ive never fancyed going to Malta for a holiday but when my husband booked it for our Christmas I was soon looking forwad to spending a week in the sun. We arrived on the 15/01/13 where it was sunny on landing but the heavens opened and we had a bad storm travelling to our hotel with hail stones thunder and lighting but this didnt put us off. When we arrived to the sunny coast resort my first impresion of the hotel were good and I new I was going to be happy staying there as I am a very fussy and hard person to please. We were greated by Lillian who checked us in she was kind and very warm in her manner. Both her and all the staff couldnt be more helpfull if they tried. It was good value for your money and the pictures dont do the property any justice. Our apartment was very clean and spaceoues and had a side view were we got the sun on the balconey most of the day and the views of the sea were good at the front of the hotel and the gardens were well kepted. We agree with the previous coments regarding the resort, places to visit exploure the island and where to eat and drink. Both me and my husband think the Maltese are lovley people and love us brits I felt safe in a foreign country and it has been one of the best well rested holiday I have had and would definetley go back but not in January due to it been cold. Early May or late September has been advived by the locals.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphne C, Front Office Manager at Sunny Coast Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Paul,

Thank you for your excellent reviews. We are very happy to know your feedback after your stay.

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay at the Sunny Coast Resort. I will also make sure to tell Lillian about the nice comments you left about her. She will be very pleased to hear so! We are very sorry that you encountered bad weather upon arrival but at least the hotel staff made it all worth it hopefully.

We look forward to seeing you all again at the hotel. If you need anything please do not hesitate to contact us.

Thanks,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

888 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    335
    151
    88
    69
See reviews for
346
336
19
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Arrived to a big beautiful sparkling clean room. We laughed that it was bigger than our first apartment. Wonderful view over the sea and resort. Alas balcony didn't catch the winter sun but never mind.
Very well appointed kitchen; bedroom; bathroom and two comfy sofas. We ordered a dvd player to our room which arrived swiftly.
The shower is powerful but needed a while to warm up after about 6pm.
Resort very quite in January however we noticed it def got more lively at the weekend!
Lots of great restaurants near by Duo def deserves a mention!! Boathouse cafe ops sunny coast is a great sun trap until 230pm.
Spa is great. The Irish girls are very helpful giving us lots of restaurant tips and local taxi numbers etc. Treatments in there worth it too.
The indoor pool is small but warm felt this section could do with a lick of paint and a good clean but other than that all good. Would return esp in the warmer months.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank belfastem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rev_Manager, Front Office Manager at Sunny Coast Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear esteemed guest,
Thank you for your nice comments and we welcome you back in the warmer season which is Malta tend to be quiet a long one. The Sunny Coast Resort and Spa boast of spacious apartments and this is one big competitive advantage this resort has when compared with the other alternatives on the island. When one include all the amenities that each apartment offers together with all the hotel's services and facilities, we surely offer an interesting package at a fantastic price.
While thanking you once again for your positive remarks, should you make up your mind to render us another visit, please note that you are more than welcome to contact us directly to make sure you benefit form the best deals possible in offer at the time.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

This was my fourth visit to Malta and we have stayed in Vittoriosa, Valletta on previous visits, so a trip to the other side of the Island was called for! We looked at the reviews and they looked pretty mixed, but as the resort was in the process of being refurbished, the more recent reviews had distinctly improved! We weren't disappointed! The resort was clean, well kept and very welcoming and the staff couldn't have been more helpful. We had a seaview apartment, with a dual aspect lounge, well equipped kitchen, two bedrooms, one of which was ensuite and the housekeeping was first class! Clean towels everyday, if required and the bedding changed regularly! My only niggle was that the beds weren't too comfortable! (maybe these will become one of the refurbishments, in the near future! Who knows! ) The general area is also in the throes of updating with a new area being built, further along the coast. The buses stop regularly at the resort,going to every part of Malta and a weekly bus pass is a must! Good value at 12 Euros! We were very impressed with the restaurants close by as the food was cooked to order and was inexpensive, very important for those with families! We were there in January and we had mixed weather, ranging from 70 degrees down to hailstones,thunder and lightning with flash floods! The Maltese people are very laid back, are amazingly accepting of the hoards of visitors, taking all the seats on their buses and as they have English taught as a first language in schools, speak in a half Arabic-half English dialect.This means that they are more than happy to point you in the right direction, if you are lost!! We'll be back AGAIN!!

Room Tip: Request a seaview if possible!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yvonne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphne C, Front Office Manager at Sunny Coast Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Madam,

Thank you very much for nice comments as we do our utmost for the up keeping of the hotel.

With regards to the mattress I will pass on the message to ensure that something is done about it. On the whole we are very happy that you enjoyed your holiday and we look forward to seeing you again at the Sunny Coast.

If you require any further information please do not hesitate to contact us.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Despite the reviews we visited Malta at the beginning of October 2012 and we had a very good holiday staying in this hotel.
We had an apartment, huge space, with a dining table, sofas, a big bedroom and bathroom.
Although the place isn't a Five star hotel it was clean and the kitchen was well equipped with everything you need (except coffee machine).
You can jump in the sea or in the swimming pool, just a few metres away from the main door of the hotel. The hotel has a restaurant just downstairs, where you can find amazing pizzas for a great price!!
In October the place was almost empty, perfect for us!!

The staff was the Star of the place, very friendly and helpful at all times.
Really a great, GREAT VALUE FOR MONEY!!

Room Tip: October is a great month to come, it is a quieter time of the year you don't need A/C but the da...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellerUKSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rev_Manager, Front Office Manager at Sunny Coast Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear esteemed guest,
May I, on behalf of all the staff of the Sunny Coast Resort and Spa, take this opportunity to thank you for your nice and positive comments, most especially regarding the staff. It is always our main intention to do our best to assure that each and every resident at our resort feels welcome while enjoying to the full his holiday here in Malta.
Nonetheless, we still took note of your minor concern regarding the coffee machine and the appropriate action will follow suit.
While thanking you once again for your positive and encouraging comments, we welcome you to come and visit us in the near future. Should it be so, please feel free to contact us directly by means of email (vacation@sunnycoast.com.mt) to ensure you benefit form the resort's latest and best offers.
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed over New Year - An excellent location - the Spa really made our holiday - with 2 adults, 3 Teens and 2 young ones - the rooms were extremely spacious - the breakfast was outstanding - and all during their off peak time!! - we were even invited to the hotel New Years Eve Party a real family affair!!
We shall certainly try return in the summer - must be quite hot because it was pleasantly warm over the New Year! - A fabulous country - All the local people were extremely relaxed and kind - Victors travel agent was the best for car hire!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helena D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rev_Manager, Front Office Manager at Sunny Coast Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear esteemed client,

On behalf of all the staff at the Sunny Coast Resort and Spa we thank you for your nice and positive comments. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and you liked Malta. Many other visitors seem to share the same opinion. Please note that the management of the resort is never satisfied with all the facilities the Sunny Coast have at any moment and other projects are already being planned to be carried out in the near future. In a couple of years time, the Sunny Coast will be invigorated with continuing refurnishing works and new services for its clients.
While thanking you yet again for your kind comments, may I take this opportunity to suggest contacting us directly through our website or by means of email (vacation@sunnycoast.com.mt) to be sure you would enjoy our best and latest offers should you decide to visit the resort another time in the future.
Best regards from warm and sunny Malta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

We arrived at the sunny Coast and we were greeted by friendly staff on reception. Once inside the room we realised that the room was unacceptable. In the lounge/ kitchen we had two single beds in front of which was the dining table and behind that the TV. No sofa to sit on as the sofa was on the balcony??? Along with a set of cane furniture. We had the separate bedroom that we had booked but the lounge wasn't right according to what we had booked. However on complaining to reception we were offered another room immediately. Our second room(607)was acceptable but there was a very loud mechanical noise at various times through out the day and night and early hours of the morning. It was impossible to detect where the noise was coming from and by the time we got got ready to make a complaint the noise stopped. The worst part was when the noise commenced while we were asleep. Be aware of room 607 the noise was a nuisance!!.
Other negatives...
The heating didn't work-bad smell from the drains-no mattress covers on the bed-sheets didn't quite fit the bed!
Excellent Staff in a somewhat dated building!
Would I stay here again? No!!!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sonia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed in this resort, last week, we had a very good experience, the staff were friendly,rooms clean, we have 2 comments- (1) The Hotel was not sign posted well, was difficult to find, especially when you drive from airport. (2) The Internet connection was expensive 2.5 euros per hour, even in lobby it was limited connection. In Malta Internet is is free in many places, coffee shops, restaurants, we think the hotel should offer free wifi.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nallan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rev_Manager, Front Office Manager at Sunny Coast Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Dear esteemed client,
On behalf of all the personnel at the Sunny Coast Resort and Spa, I thank you for your nice and constructive comments. It is always our main intent to assure each and every resident of ours enjoy to the very maximum these beautiful islands. For us there is no limit of expectation and this motivates us to try and do better each and every time by adding to our already full package of services.
With respect to your comments regarding sign postage of the hotel, please know that you are very right and we are aware of this fact. Since one has to cross inwards to the coast, there are several tourists (and locals) who fail to find us immediately. Due to certain restrictions, unfortunately, we are not at the liberty to just add sign posts wherever we want to. Nevertheless, we may take this opportunity and your comments to continue pressing our case to the respective local authorities.
Your second comment with respect to free Wi-Fi has also been noted. Right now, the resort is planning a complete revamping on this department which, in our modern times, touches more areas than solely internet. In the near future, the Sunny Coast will exploit the much improved offers to include a larger variety of international TV stations and faster internet coverage.
While thanking you once again for your positive comments, please do not hesitate in contacting us directly by phone or email (vacation@sunnycoast.com.mt) should you want to visit us yet again and to enjoy our latest and best offers.
Wishing you a great new year.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Qawra
0.4 mi away
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Dolmen Resort Hotel
#2 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,704 reviews
4.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.3 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,354 reviews
0.2 mi away
Qawra Palace Hotel
Qawra Palace Hotel
#6 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,642 reviews
0.3 mi away
Salini Resort
Salini Resort
#1 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunny Coast Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunny Coast Resort & Spa

Property: Sunny Coast Resort & Spa
Address: Triq Il-Qawra | St. Paul's Bay, Qawra, Island of Malta SPB 1905, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Qawra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Qawra
#6 Luxury Hotel in Qawra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunny Coast Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sunny Coast Resort and Spa is ideally located in one of Malta's most beautiful bays. The Resort offers an easy and relaxing experience and has its own Leisure Centre, situated in a separate area across the hotel by the water's edge together with its private beach, large outdoor swimming pool together with a children's pool, three jacuzzis, a heated indoor pool, sauna and massage rooms, squash court, games room and a fully air-conditioned gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de and getaroom.com so you can book your Sunny Coast Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunny Coast Resort And Spa
Sunny Coast Hotel Qawra
Sunny Coast Resort & Spa Malta/Qawra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing