We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“outstanding accommodation, great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sunny Coast Resort & Spa
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Qawra
Reviewed November 24, 2012

This is one of the older holiday complexes in Qawra, but, following a large scale renovation over the past couple of years, it is now a shining beacon of hospitality. The Spa is second to none in the area and it's position on Salina Bay means a perfect spot for views, facilities and transport links across the whole of the island. The Village Square restaurant is very conveniently situated right in reception foyer. My family and I have visited Malta for many years (in fact I used to live just up the road in the Big Ben apartments) and, although there are some really awesome holiday hotels and complexes on the island, I really wouldn't want to stay anywhere else when visiting. Being disabled, convenience and ease of access is very important to me and they are perfect on that as well (although to be honest the roadway down from the main Qawra Rd is a bit steep if walking but there is a main road side entrance right on the pavement which means entering through the back door but who cares about that?). The staff cannot do enough for you. A real must for British tourists especially is the lovely little bar and restaurant attached to the complex building but independent of it called 'Images', Paul and his English wife Gina are almost an institution now, having been in business for over ten years now. Good beer at cheap prices, great food (cooked by them both) and the best place to book tours and ask advice/change money etc. Chaplins is not bad either next to the main entrance. Only downside is the lack of ambience in the bar in the main part of the complex, boring boring boring (that's why we go to Images!)

Room Tip: ring the complex direct before you go and request a sea facing room and they will always try and obl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarryRathbone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rev_Manager, Front Office Manager at Sunny Coast Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Dear esteemed client,
Thank you for your gentle and kind comments. May I assure you that your review have been forwarded to the attention of all our staff here at the Sunny Coast Resort and Spa. As you witnessed everyone here has his job at heart and assisting each and every client with whatever wants and needs he or she may have comes only naturally to us. In the end we treat the resort as our second home and it goes without saying that every client here is treated as a family guest.
While thanking you once again for your expression of appreciation, should you make up your mind to come and visit the island and us another time, do not hesitate in contacting us directly in order to make use of the resort's best offers.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (941)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

579 - 585 of 941 reviews

Reviewed November 19, 2012

Our first stay at this hotel and all in all very satisfied. After looking at other reviews, I emailed and requested a room on either the 6th or 7th floor and was very pleased on arrival to be told that we had been allocated room 604. Fantastic sea view and high enough not to be troubled by noise from the busy main road. The room was a good size and very comfortable although the bed was rather lumpy!
Lillian on reception was very friendly and helpful and gave us a warm welcome.
There is a small shop on the first floor which is useful for buying essentials on arrival and topping up. We didn't use the restaurant as prefer to go out and about and would recommend The Plumtree, The Overflow and Luzzu's; all within 10 minutes walk. On the one evening when there was torrential rain and a thunder storm, we sprinted across the road to The Boathouse, which was very enjoyable.
The bus terminal is close by and a great way to get around. You can buy either a one day ticket for 2.60 or a 7 day ticket for 12 euros. These tickets can be used for as many trips as you like during their period of validity and with bus stops right outside the hotel, it couldn't be easier! There are also hop on, hop off bus tours which are a good way to explore the north, south or Gozo. A free Harbour Cruise is included but be warned, they get cancelled and we missed out on this but as one occasion was due to the weather I guess this was understandable.
I lived in Malta for 3 years (Dad in RAF) so this was a trip down memory lane for me but a first visit for my husband and we found this location ideal for sightseeing.

Room Tip: Ask for 5th, 6th or 7th floor and no point going near the sea and not having a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rev_Manager, Front Office Manager at Sunny Coast Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Dear esteemed client,
May I, on the behalf of the staff of the Sunny Coast Resort and Spa, express my gratitude for your nice comments. As it is our main aim, we're glad to know that you have passed a wonderful time with us at the resort and in Malta. It's true that the resort is perfectly located having spectacular seaviews and , even more importantly, it is never far away from the main attractions of the island especially if one is interested in exploring the rest of the magnificent islands composing the Maltese archipelago.
Should you make up your mind to render us another visit, please do not hesitate in contacting us directly to enjoy our best deals and offers.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Just back from a one week stay here. the position of the hotel is great with lovely sea views. The rooms are a good size also the bathroom. It's not too far to walk into the centre for things and places to eat. We had clean towels evey day which was good. Chaplins restaurant which is next is run by Maltese and the food is very good.
I last came to Malta 34 years ago and i think it is now cheaper than it was then. Did a day trip over to Sicily which was good had lunch at the top of Mount Etna.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 123doreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rev_Manager, Front Office Manager at Sunny Coast Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2012

Dear esteemed client,
We are so happy to know that you found the Sunny Coast Resort and Spa and Malta so much to your liking. It is true that the above combination is a guarantee to spend a relaxing holiday without having to spend much.
Should you make up your mind to render us another visit in the near future (don't let another 34 years to pass!!) your are most welcome to contact us directly to make sure you benefit from our best offers.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

I was really pleased with this hotel. There is a lack of atmosphere in reception area and it's very quiet but that suited me. We mostly used Charlie Chaplins bar next door which was always fairly busy and stayed away from the hotel bar. I'm not sure why, I guess it is just that it's so quiet in there. The room was excellent. We were upgraded to a sea view and we were so pleased with the layout and cleanliness. I did have a small issue with the sofa bed being quite uncomfortable and the legs to one of the single beds did keep falling off. But overall the room was very clean with plenty of storage and a lovely kitchen and bathroom. Our towels were changed daily and the floor mopped. The pool area was pretty and fairly quiet. For the price we paid I was more than happy.

Room Tip: Walk into the town of Qawra, it's easily missed if you stay on the front!! Do use Charlie Chapl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Susan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rev_Manager, Front Office Manager at Sunny Coast Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Dear esteemed client,

May I, on behalf of the Sunny Coast Resort and Spa, take this opportunity to thank you for your nice comments on the resort. It is always our aim to maximise clients' satisfaction whenever possible. Since the large majority of our rooms enjoys impeccable sea views and we're not in the peak season, there are always some sea view rooms which remain unoccupied. Whenever that happens we gladly and automatically upgrade the customer free of any charges.
We took note of the single bed leg and it has been already dealt with. As for the sofas, we are in the process of refurnishing and refurbishing the resort to modernise it. In the very near future all the remaining aging sofas will be changed and replaced by newer and fashionable ones.
While thanking you once again for your kind and positive comments, you are most welcome to contact us directly should you decide to stay with us again in the future.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We have just returned from the Sunny Coast in Qwara, Malta having had another wonderful holiday.This hotel is relatively small compared to many on the island having only 91 apartments. The rooms could do with being updated a little with new furnishings but other than that the rooms are clean and contain everything you need. Towels were changed in our apartment every day and waste bins emptied with full maid service two days a week.

The best thing about the Sunny Coast is having a room with a Pool and Sea view, the Hotel is situated in a prime position on the waters edge with spectacular views out over the bay and the salt water pool.

If your find time the spa facilities are excellent, had a lovely relaxing back massage.

Pool bar offers a great variety of food and beverages at reasonable prices and staff are friendly and helpful.

Will definately be going back again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Allisonp6719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rev_Manager, Front Office Manager at Sunny Coast Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

Dear Esteemed Client,

May I, on behalf of everyone at the Sunny Coast Resort and Spa, take this opportunity to thank you for your great positive review and comments on the resort. I am glad to know that our resort helped to make your stay in Malta such a wonderful experience. That is exactly our intention; offering nice service, great facilities and friendly assistance whenever our clients need it.
Nonetheless, since we are never satisfied with the ever increasing level of quality services we are providing, we are already undergoing a structural refurbishing project to modernize the rooms. We have also just launched the Wii Family and Wii Sports option, which can now be enjoyed by parents and children in the comfort of their rooms.
There is always one constant in staying with us and that is the client's ultimate satisfaction. As for the rest, the Sunny Coast Resort and Spa does its best to always offer new and trendy services which compliment the existing ones.
While thanking you once again for your nice comments, please feel free to contact us directly should you make up your mind to revisit us in the future.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

just arrived home from sunny coast malta
had a wonderful two weeks
yes unfortunately although the air con worked adequately
it was a bit noisy
but all in all had a great time
oh and they really do need to sort the lounge beds out

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank willow59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rev_Manager, Front Office Manager at Sunny Coast Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Dear esteemed client,
Thank you for your excellent comments and we welcome you for another stay with us in the near future. We acknowledge the problems with respect to the noise of the air-conditioners which is hereby duly noted. Gradually the resort is being refurbished and modernized with the intention to maximize client satisfaction during their stay with us. Be assured that your next visit at the Sunny Coast will be even better and more fulfilling.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Great hotel, staff were realyy friendly and efficient, would only give 3 stars to the apartment, but it was spotlessly clean, housekeeping was very good, but your not on holiday to look at the room,always plenty of hot water, air conditioning a bit loud but put it on no. 1 in the night and not a problem. Child friendly, quiet during the night, close to everything, the pool is wonderful, everything is so clean and the views across the Med, Wow!. The Village square restaurant is very good, nothing is too much trouble, fresh food, the King Prawns Yum. We hired a car but didnt use it only to and from the airport, public transport is very good, open top bus tours very good and worth every penny. We will be going back without a doubt.

Room Tip: We overlooked the main road, but didnt hear a thing, the balcony was great, got the sun in the after...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank valdavies77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rev_Manager, Front Office Manager at Sunny Coast Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

Dear esteemed client,
We are happy to learn that you have enjoyed your stay at the Sunny Coast Resort and we would definitely welcome you back. We took due note of your suggestions and recommendations with regards to the airconditions. Please note that the resort is currentlyexecuting refurbishing works to modernise and enhance the Sunny Coast to assure better service and product to all residents.
Looking forward to see you again in the near future.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Qawra
4.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.3 mi away
Salini Resort
Salini Resort
#1 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
493 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Dolmen Resort Hotel
#2 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,942 reviews
0.3 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
3.4 mi away
Pergola Hotel & Spa
Pergola Hotel & Spa
#4 of 12 in Mellieha
1,720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunny Coast Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunny Coast Resort & Spa

Address: Triq Il-Qawra | St. Paul's Bay, Qawra, Island of Malta SPB 1905, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Qawra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Qawra
#6 Luxury Hotel in Qawra
Price Range: $36 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunny Coast Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sunny Coast Resort and Spa is ideally located in one of Malta's most beautiful bays. The Resort offers an easy and relaxing experience and has its own Leisure Centre, situated in a separate area across the hotel by the water's edge together with its private beach, large outdoor swimming pool together with a children's pool, three jacuzzis, a heated indoor pool, sauna and massage rooms, squash court and a fully air-conditioned gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sunny Coast Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunny Coast Hotel Qawra
Sunny Coast Resort And Spa
Sunny Coast Resort & Spa Malta/Qawra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing