We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic hotel great people very friendly i will return soon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sunny Coast Resort & Spa
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Qawra
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“fantastic hotel great people very friendly i will return soon”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

great place to stay great food great people first class hotel every thing you need is right there great staff great location great service,, great views over salina bay , nice quiet and relaxing holiday would recommend to all great value for your money , all hotel staff are fantastic

Room Tip: sea view but all rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bobbieredcassidy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

880 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    332
    150
    88
    69
See reviews for
344
334
17
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aldershot
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Checked into Sunny Coast on the 28th September, was greeted by the night porter Emmanuel? He was very friendly! The day reception staff are very friendly too Ashlee was really nice and always had a smile on her face, being a hotel receptionist myself I found the service I was given by all the reception staff very approachable and kind. The only downfall was the lift, it took forever but I haven't got much patience so that may be just me. And when I came in from having a few drinks at the bar Emmanuel would stop and chat to me he had a lot of time for all the guests at Sunny Coast and took a big liking to him. The room was always clean the housekeepers are good at what they do, cleaning seven floors of hotel rooms in the heat that Malta can produce is a very hard job but i think they done well keeping the room tidy, i'm guessing all the other rooms where just as clean as i was on the 5th floor. I would recommend this hotel to my friends and family as it is a very welcoming hotel and it deserves it's 4*'s! The view from the room I had was excellent 511 had a view of the sea it was beautiful! I will be coming back next year to this hotel to stay for a few months as i will be moving to Malta, and will be staying in this hotel until i get a place of my own! Also the Bar next door to the hotel was really good as well all very friendly but i wouldnt recommend eating there!!

Room Tip: Room 511 had a lovely view of the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashleigh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

I was disappointed with Sunny Coast as we had one problem after another here. On arrival the television and telephone did not work. We asked for the TV to be replaced and they brought up one that was no better. The toaster blew the electrics in the apartment when I tried to use it. The reception was unstaffed alot of the time and when we were lucky enough to find someone they could not answer my question. I had a cockroach in my bathroom one night. The furniture was in a poor state (bed leg was broken and chairs were worn) and the dining table sat tilted which meant that you could not put anything that might roll on it, including glasses of cold liquid as they would wet the table and slide. There is music in the vicinity that is played loudly until 5am and there is a kitchen below the bedroom windows which serves food late into the night so if you are looking for a quiet holiday this is not the place for you. There is nowhere to park in the locality at weekends as locals spend there weekends here. I will not be returning.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hazel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Qawra hotels

The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

As it says on the can. Three words of warning however, if they are full - there will be no chance of changing rooms despite how much you smile. Check the plastic chairs on your balcony as the sun makes them brittle - my head still has a lump on when the chair broke from simply being sat on and I am only 85 kg..... and three be warned about the mosquitos. The location is on the coast and near the salt pans, insects can be ravenous.

Further useful comment, free wifi in the cafe downstairs but do buy something.

Room Tip: E mail in advance and ask for a sea view. I have been twice and this time overlooked the road, High...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Safenoble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Hi

We have just come back from a week's stay in Sunny Coast Resort Club Qawra Malta and straight away I have to say it was one of our best holidays todate.
We stayed in room 606 and from the time we checked in until we left the staff were so helpful and friendly and really went out of their way to make us feel welcome.
The room.was spotless cleaned every day and fresh towels put in.
It was easy to get to anywhere we wanted to go from this hotel. Pool across from it was magnificant and also the restaurant attached to the hotel was excellent.
Maltese people are so friendly and there is no hassle from shopkeepers to get you tp buy something if you go in to look around.
We will definitely be back next year but this time for two weeks or more.
Joe and Kate Tone
Westmeath Ireland

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joetone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

After our usual hotel on Malta couldn't accommodate us for one reason or another we were booked into this one. We read the reviews just before going and were a bit worried.

What a load of poppycock some people write!!! We had a very enjoyable stay at the Sunny Coast.

The staff, reception and restaurant, were always friendly, helpful and couldn't do enough for us. The rooms were spacious, clean and more than enough for our needs.
OK, the air conditioning was a bit noisy and the views from the balconies could have been better but who goes to Malta to stay indoors anyway?

We ate out most evenings but the times we did eat in the hotel of an evening, the food was excellent - we had breakfast there every morning and were pleasantly surprised.

The pool was clean and there were more than enough sun beds.

All in all, we had a really lovely and relaxing week (beginning 15th Sept 2012) and we can't wait to go back again.

Room Tip: The lower floors do not have very good views from balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank strayler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We just got back after staying at the Sunny Coast for 10 nights. We had a wonderful holiday and there were good and bad things about the hotel.

Our room wasn't great. We arrived to find the air conditioning not working, complained and were given a fan. The bed for the boys was broken, though easily fixed it wasn't the best of starts (especially as it was way past their bedtime when we discovered this).

After that though things were ok. The room was spacious. Sea view was nice but not completely unobstructed. I thought the pool area was very nice, a good size pool and jacuzzi which our boys loved.

We didn't eat in the hotel as there was lots of good restuarants only a short drive away. Pool food filled a gap though nothing more.

It's a hotel that is more than adequate in my eyes. I've stayed at 4 star rated hotels that were of a much lower standard in Malta before.

It was priced correctly, expectations after a bad start were pretty much met. You could do a lot worse on the island.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frank C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rev_Manager, Front Office Manager at Sunny Coast Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thank you for your honest review with regards to your stay with us at the Sunny Coast. We are glad that we managed to make you and the family comfortable during your stay, we apologise for the issues with the airconditioner whilst you were here, this problem has since then been rectified.

We are glad you found us well priced and we hope to have you guys back soon.

Thank you

Reservations Team

Sunny Coast Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Qawra
0.3 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
0.4 mi away
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Dolmen Resort Hotel
#2 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,653 reviews
4.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Park Lane Aparthotel
Park Lane Aparthotel
#1 of 15 in Qawra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 902 reviews
0.8 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,461 reviews
0.3 mi away
Salini Resort
Salini Resort
#1 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunny Coast Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunny Coast Resort & Spa

Property: Sunny Coast Resort & Spa
Address: Triq Il-Qawra | St. Paul's Bay, Qawra, Island of Malta SPB 1905, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Qawra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Qawra
#6 Luxury Hotel in Qawra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunny Coast Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sunny Coast Resort and Spa is ideally located in one of Malta's most beautiful bays. The Resort offers an easy and relaxing experience and has its own Leisure Centre, situated in a separate area across the hotel by the water's edge together with its private beach, large outdoor swimming pool together with a children's pool, three jacuzzis, a heated indoor pool, sauna and massage rooms, squash court, games room and a fully air-conditioned gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunny Coast Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunny Coast Hotel Qawra
Sunny Coast Resort And Spa
Sunny Coast Resort & Spa Malta/Qawra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing