We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sunny Coast Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Qawra Palace Hotel(St. Paul's Bay)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Hotel Santana(St. Paul's Bay)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (997)
Filter reviews
997 results
Traveler rating
274
386
166
94
77
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
274
386
166
94
77
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea viewbutchers grillone bedroom apartmentpool areaself cateringthe busrecommend this resortbar next doorocean basketbus stop right outside the hotelhotel restauranthousekeeping staffnight porterlarge balconya great weekhired a carbit dated
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
642 - 647 of 997 reviews
Reviewed August 11, 2012

We got a 2 room apartment which turned out to be (only) just big enough. balcony was a fenced off wide ledge. However, and now the good bit, the staff were exemplary. When we got there we discovered the bed was too soft for my worn out back, so they sent Charlie up with some boards to firm it up, perfect. When the tour operator (Neckermann) failed to tell us when we were being picked up they stepped in and solved the problem. Ashleigh and John were superb on reception. So we would recommend it but just go for the biggest apartment available. Great Pool and Spa too.

Room Tip: 7th floor is best
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisTubbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Just back from our annual visit to Sunny Coast and once again nothing to complain about! Sunny Coast has had a few bits and peices done since last year and remains a top place to stay in Malta.We visited the restaurant on the front and the food was great.The Apt was spotless and the staff were very helpful and always pleasant. Just a shame we had to come home! Looking forward to next year already.

Room Tip: Great views from the higher floors at the front of the hotel.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

I am also an owner at Sunny Coast, for over 24 years. I have seen changes over the years as the resort has become less timeshare ( ie one big family that met up every year who would go out to fish reataurants in Marsaxlokk) more a hotel with many more nationalities staying. The staff have become friends over the years from David the manager to Lilian on reception, Manuel at night, Lydia at the pool reception, the cleaners and maintainence staff. There has been many changes over the years, utility charges have increased as energy is not cheap especially in Malta, the outdoor pool is salt water as fresh water is at a premium here. Sometimes it is 4pm when the towels arrive however this is because occasionally this is when the laundry delivers the clean laundry. I have enjoyed Chaplins hospitality over the years as well as the Malibu poolside bar which provides simple food at a reasonable price. The resort is ideally located to allow an evening stroll to many good restaurants like Incognito and Churchills.
This year I discovered the Spa and the excellent hands of Barbara who is extremely professional and knowledgable in easing muscular injuries. I hope she will still be there next year.
I was happy to find we had new mattresses this year so I had good nights' sleep every night.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms have sun in the morning, and street side have the sun in the late afternoon and evening.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cumbrianlass2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

We are just back from Malta and had a great time. When we arrived I was a bit put off by the look of the outside which did not match up to the lovely pics of the pool area on the website. We ate the first night in the restaurant at the front. Hunger was good sauce as my rabbit was swimming in oil and my husband's beef olives were very tough. We didn't complain as we were too tired but did not eat there again. The night staff were very helpful and that was the same throughout. Day staff were fine but less customer oriented. On the second morning we were asked to move rooms, from 707 to 505 due to an owner wishing to stay. This worked in our favour as we got a much more pleasant and spacious apartment with a huge living area that went on to the balcony rather than the twin bedded bedroom that had the balcony in the previous room. Downsides were the illfitting sheets and absence of cotton mattress covers. The quality of the towels improved during the holiday! We met 2 cleaning ladies, one of whom was very business like but pleasant. The other was frankly not very nice and was abrupt with me one morning when I replied I did want the sheets changed that day but my husband was asleep. I put it down to a language barrier but that was being generous! The airconditioning was very noisy. The pool area is fine but we preferred the area down the steps by the sea for sunbathing and the perch beach steps led straight to clear water. Great for snorkelling.Richard at Waterworld was brilliant; professional and great fun! We tried out lots of water sports. Overall a lovely holiday and good value for what we got with a better apartment.

Room Tip: If you want a one bedroom ask for room 505!
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Just returned from 2 weeks at Sunny Coast and really enjoyed our stay. Apartment spacious and clean, air conditioning bit noisy but reasonably effective and all staff pleasant particularly the men on reception. Towels changed daily and regularly cleaned. No complaints about the accommodation. Always plenty of beds and umbrellas at pool even at busy times and no reserving of beds which meant we could get a bed any time of day. Buses to all main towns stopped right outside hotel.
Best part of the hotel was the Village Restaurant within the hotel run by Ramona and her mother Carmen. Excellent food, great value for money and very friendly service. Our 2 boys even made friends with Ramonas son and we ended up eating there most days.
Dont eat at the poolside restaurant Malibu service really bad and food worse go over to Ramona and Carmen for a much nicer meal for less.
For watersports use Waterworld beside the hotel. We had great rides on the inflatable sofa. Ruth and Richard really friendly and very safety conscious.
Would return to Sunny Coast and definitely return to Village Restaurant

Room Tip: Stayed in 712 balcony overlooked road which was quiet and got the evening sun interesting in evenings to watch comings and goings not worth paying for a sea view unless you come on holiday to sit in apartment great sea view at the poolside
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank una j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews