We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sunny Coast Resort & Spa
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Qawra
Toulouse, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money”
Reviewed November 26, 2011

Had an excellent stay at the sunny coast this November. The garden outside the hotel is fantastic. The resort is perfectly located near a bus stop and about 10 minutes walk to the central terminus of Bugibba. We had a nice two bedroom seaview apartment on the third floor. Very good layout and all items in the inventory all in good working order. One small drawback is the wifi which is not available in the apartment however works good in the lobby area. Had a good breakfast and average dinner. Would recommend more options for the Dinner menu.
All staff were excellent and all happy to serve and go the extra mile to meet our expectations.
Considering the price we paid which were explained was for the slow season, we had an excellent deal and excellent accommodation.

Tip ... always ask for items which may not be available in the apartment, such as microwave, dvd player, coffee machine. I asked for them and were in the apartment within the same hour.

I recommend this aparthotel to everyone, excellent value for families.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jacques G D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

885 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    334
    151
    88
    68
See reviews for
345
335
18
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Il Gzira, Malta
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2011

Stayed there for 2 nights, pool area and rocky beach are great but can be noisy with kids around, stayed in a 1 bed apartment, good self catering facilities, large apartment, clean, pleasant and helpful staff, excellent sea views, bus stop outside, plenty of places to eat around the area, clean, would definately recommend to people, but more like 3* in my opinion, nothing wrong with that though :-)

Room Tip: Get a Sea view room and on a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South East England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2011

I recall there is a Tripadviser certificate at reception showing 4 star rating, this is not 4 star in the world I live in. I have been many times and accept it for what it is, the location is superb and the pool area and rocky beach very nice, some rooms are better than others both in outlook and level of refurb, plenty of hot water,so it is potluck ! The mattresses were worn out the legs of the bed falling off, the sheets torn, the towels, although changed every day, are threadbare, the TV has only one English language channel, BBC Worldnews, probably the worst channel to have, but films in arabic etc., visitors from the UK seem to always be the majority, why no decent UK TV ? oher places I have stayed in Malta have movie channels, Sky news/sports etc., even the Eurosport channel was in German ! The shop was not well stocked and looked untidy, there is a nice shop opposite called Astra. There is a nightclub opposite which opens at 10.30 at night, if you are at the front the noise goes on until 4am, not funny, also Chaplins next door have karaoke evenings which go on into the early hours, bring your ear plugs ! I have complained before by email about things but get no response, not too surprised, I don't think customer service is in the dna......could be very nice with a little more attention and more reponsive attitude to complaints, it's not personal it's business.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views and are further from noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LondonerWolfy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunnycoastadmin, Front Office Manager at Sunny Coast Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 17, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. I am most gratefull for your feedback, which is such a valuable source of information for me, regardless of whether it is good or bad, and helps me monitor the service we provide.

I was most concerned to read of the issued you experienced during your stay. I am sorry to read that you found your room rather unsatisfactory and were dissatisified with the housekeeping standards. All rooms should be prepared to the highest level of cleanliness. We are in the process of beginning refurbishment to the Hotel Lobby and further rooms on other levels and installation of further TV Channels is to commence.

I am very sorry that your experience was not as positive as that of others on this site and the errors in the service you received were indeed unacceptable. Please accept my sincere apologies. I have personnaly conveyed your dissatisfaction to the General Manager, my executive Housekeeper and their teams.

I do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Sunny Coast Resort and Spa in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2011

this hotel and self catering apartments are in a great location. We stayed one night in a top floor one bedroom apartment which was very clean, comfortable and very spacious. Fantastic sea views. Pool and leisure facilities very good. Staff helpful. Only complaint was the stormy weather!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J1AP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunnycoastadmin, Front Office Manager at Sunny Coast Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 9, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive comments. We are very pleased that you had enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to host you again at the Sunny Coast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2011

Just home from Sunny Coast Resort we arrived at night time and the hotel was beautifully light up and we were warmly welcomed at reception,we were allocated a room on the rear of the buiding with a non sea view but actually this side of the Hotel at this time of the year gets the sun all afternoon and evening so lovely evenings relaxing on the balcony!The hotel was spotless we had a one bedroom apt and it was great very spacious and clean and a very powerful shower - excellent!
Qawra is definately a much better area to stay than the neighbouring Bugibba which was like a concrete jungle though did have a lovely promenade which connects the 2 resorts which shows off the coastline.beaches non existent but they do have strange flat concrete beds that drop into the sea instead!
pool area at sunny coast lovely and clean with plenty of beds.poolside cafe also served good food all day,restaurant was also good,all staff friendly especially Lillian on the front desk :)
local restaurants all good quality ones of note Luzzi,quattro fratelli(looks very posh on the outside but not wen you venture in past this!) and Duo all serve lovely food
would recommend going slighty off season if your not travelling with kids think the resort could be hectic peak season! Would def go to Malta again

Room Tip: september rooms at back of hotel have evening and afternoon sun and the road below not much traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leslee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunnycoastadmin, Front Office Manager at Sunny Coast Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 9, 2011
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking some of your time to place a review on the Sunny Coast Resort. We are very pleased you had enjoyed your stay with us. Your comments has been forwarded to the respective departments.

We look forward to host you again at the Sunny Coast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2011

We stayed in a 2 bed apartment and found this to be very clean, tidy, spacious and fully equipped with everything we needed. Laundry service daily with lovely soft pure white quality towels supplied. We asked for a microwave and it was brought to the room and installed within an hour of requesting it.
We had a road view but found this to be very enteraining and had the sun all afternoon. We made the most of this with dining on the large balcony and the road noise at night was minimal due to good glazing. The air conditioning was far better than other hotels we have stayed in in Malta.
Qawra is a nice resort with an up and coming feel - with new cafe's and bars springing up with a definite upper class feel to those in Buggiba.
The Sunny Coast Resort has one big advantage - the fantastic leisure facilities. A beautiful large pool with separate safe kiddie pool, waterfalls and showers. Pools are clean and attractive having a large area with numerous comfortable sunbeds and every need catered for with shaded areas, palm trees and parasols in abundance. Although this is a family friendly pool area, we found there was always a quiet area available if prefered. The pool overlooked a flat rocky access to the sea (steps provided to get in and out) and a sun terrace at sea level for those who wanted to swim in the clean and clear sea - just lovely!!
In addition to the pools there is an indoor heated swimming pool, fully equipped air conditioned gym, spa treatment centre, squash court and super changing room facilities. Towels are supplied against a small refundable deposit too! great idea so you dont have to take up space in the cases.
The food served both in the hotel restaurant and the leisure centre was of excellent quality and offered good value for money. The hotel bar and outside seating area had a lovely ambiance and prices were comparative to others locally.
There is a small well stocked shop in the hotel where you can get most things you need. Fresh bread delivered daily.
The staff at the Sunny Coast Resort are very friendly and helpful. The night security guard was excellent when we had a late night check in.
We have travelled to Malta twice a year for a number of years and the Sunny Coast is one of our favourite places to stay. Some rooms may not meet a 4* standard but the facilities this resort hotel offers definitely makes up for that.

Room Tip: Sea view on a high floor - newly refurbished with fantastic views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HazelandMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunnycoastadmin, Front Office Manager at Sunny Coast Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 9, 2011
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking some of your time to place a review on the Sunny Coast Resort. We are very pleased you had enjoyed your stay with us. All your comments has been forwarded to the respective departments.

Looking forward to host you again at the Sunny Coast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bugibba, Malta
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2011

It was an average experience. The pool area was quite clean but its a family resort so do not accept to stay relaxed near the pool, without children screaming and running around

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hypcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunnycoastadmin, Front Office Manager at Sunny Coast Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 30, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments.

Regarding the pool area may I point out please that our outdoor pool is divided into the pool area and the relaxing area where one can find jacuzzis and waterfall.

Usually family with children tend to sit next to the pool and one can find some relaxtion in the relaxation area.

Thank you for your stay with us and hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Qawra
4.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.4 mi away
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Dolmen Resort Hotel
#2 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,688 reviews
0.3 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Salini Resort
Salini Resort
#1 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
368 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,350 reviews
0.2 mi away
Qawra Palace Hotel
Qawra Palace Hotel
#6 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunny Coast Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunny Coast Resort & Spa

Property: Sunny Coast Resort & Spa
Address: Triq Il-Qawra | St. Paul's Bay, Qawra, Island of Malta SPB 1905, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Qawra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Qawra
#6 Luxury Hotel in Qawra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunny Coast Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sunny Coast Resort and Spa is ideally located in one of Malta's most beautiful bays. The Resort offers an easy and relaxing experience and has its own Leisure Centre, situated in a separate area across the hotel by the water's edge together with its private beach, large outdoor swimming pool together with a children's pool, three jacuzzis, a heated indoor pool, sauna and massage rooms, squash court, games room and a fully air-conditioned gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunny Coast Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunny Coast Hotel Qawra
Sunny Coast Resort And Spa
Sunny Coast Resort & Spa Malta/Qawra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing