We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Maria the receptionist did her best to provide a really poor welcome, this was followed by staff accessing the room while the do”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sunny Coast Resort & Spa
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Qawra
2 reviews
“Maria the receptionist did her best to provide a really poor welcome, this was followed by staff accessing the room while the do”
Reviewed May 2, 2011

The room was not ready when we arrived and the receptionist Maria did her best to provide poor service with regards the checkin!

After 2 hour wait, Maria finally contacted house keeping and told us that the room was almost finished.

We had paid for a 2 bedroom guaranteed sea view apartment at 137 Euro per night. We had a sea view from the children's bedroom, and then the double bed and kitchen, living room and dining room did not have any windows with an external view. One window looked over a central cavity where all the drain pipes enter, and the other window looked over the back of the lift shaft.

We also had a TV in the room but the remote control was missing. This was reported to reception as we left to go out and look around.

The remote control did not appear until the second day of our stay,and the maintenance staff entered the room while the do not disturb sign was on the door. I am just glad that we were not sleeping at the time!

We were disappointed with the living room non views,but as a regular traveller I have to say that the receptionist skills were very poor and this started a series of events that left us overall unsatisfied with the stay.

The cleaner however seemed very friendly and the general cleanliness was good.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davinasfolks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunnycoastadmin, Front Office Manager at Sunny Coast Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 9, 2011
Dear Guest
We would like to thank you for taking your time to give us your constructive comments. We are sorry to hear that you have encountered some problems on check in. Please note that your comments have been forwarded to the Hotel Management team in order to address the issues you have raised. Your positive comment will be forwarded to the housekeeping department. On behalf of the management and staff we would like to thank you for your comments.
Yours sincerely
The Front office Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

869 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    330
    148
    88
    66
See reviews for
340
331
17
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2011

My husband and I have just come back from Malta where we spent a week at the Sunny Coast. I wasn't expecting much as I had only paid £180 for 7 nights ... but I have to say I was pleasantly surprised.

We arrived at 12.30pm and altough it said on our reservation summary that we could only check-in from 4pm, we were given our room straight away. We were on the 6th floor (room 608) and loved the studio we were given. I had booked an inland view studio but due to the location of the hotel, this studio is actually facing the sea!(see photo).

The studio was very well equiped with all the utensils you need to cook, a toaster, a kettle and even an OVEN!! (not a tiny and tacky microwave, a brand new oven)! The studio is effectively a two-room appartement because you have your kitchenette (with sofabed) and a bedroom. Everything was very clean and new. I found the housekeeping staff very good. They changed our towels everyday and washed the floor at least once every other day. They were also very friendly the few times I spoke to them. We didn't eat in the hotel so I can't comment on the food.

The swimming pool, which is located on the other side of the road, is big enough and clean. The sunbeds are very comfy (for having spent a number of hours on them sunbathing!!).

Overall, I have to say, we had an incredible stay at this hotel. I think it would be unfair not to mention an amazing lady called Lilianne who works at the reception of the hotel. I have never met someone so friendly at a reception desk. She is a credit to the hotel and I can honestly say that we are considering coming back next year partly thanks to her!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 13dina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunnycoastadmin, Front Office Manager at Sunny Coast Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 9, 2011
Dear Guest
Thank you for your positive review about our resort and frinedly staff. Your positive comments will be forwarded to the respective departments.
We look forward to host you again at the Sunny Coast.
Yours sincerely
The Front office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Malta, Malta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 22, 2011

We were 2 couples with 2 children, one of 3 and another of 1. The apartment was a seaview apartment with great views. It was very clean and welcoming. I would go there again and again. The staff was very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaymie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunnycoastadmin, Front Office Manager at Sunny Coast Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 17, 2011
Dear Guest
Thank you for the positive review about our hotel and our helpful staff. Your positive comments will be forwraded to the respective departments. We look forwrad to host you again at the Sunny Coast. Yours sincerely The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Best, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed March 17, 2011

We stayed at the Sunny Coast Resort Club from Sunday, March 6 till Friday, March 11. The studio we booked was very luxurious and surprisingly big. We had our breakfast at the Malibu restaurant, just opposite the hotel and next to the swimming pool belonging to the resort. One had the option between an English breakfast and a continental one, which were both pretty good and sufficient. The personnel at the Malibu restaurant was very friendly; special compliments go to the cook who prepared a wonderful breakfast for 9 guests on his own (on Friday morning).
One minor point: the entrance of the hotel does not look very inviting. However, the inside of the hotel is really beautful, personnel is friendly and helpful, towels were changed every day; garbage cans emptied every day; studio cleaned and linen change every 3 days. In short, we had a very good time at this resort and we absolutely recommend it to others! Regards from the Netherlands: Bruno and Erna

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bamkeijzers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunnycoastadmin, Front Office Manager at Sunny Coast Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 17, 2011
Dear Guest
Thank you for your positive reviews about the resort and staff. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed food at the Malibu restaurant. Please note that your positive comments have been forwarded to the respective department. Your comment about the reception area has been forwarded to the Hotel Management team. We look forward to host you again at the Sunny Coast.Yours sincerely The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands
Level Contributor
68 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2011

Just back from a week at the Sunny Coast.
We booked very last minute. Ryan Air flight from Edinburgh.
Found the Sunny Coast on Barhead travel hotel search and booked on basis of Trip Advisor reviews.
We contacted Hotel by email to advise of our arrival time and inquired about airport transfer.
They organized a taxi for us for 45 Euros return. The flight was on time and we had as much if not better leg room as we had with Thomas Cook and Thomson last year. When we arrived our driver was waiting for us. One of our most relaxed and stress free travelling experiences for a while.
The check in was effortless and our one bed room apartment was on the 7th floor in the middle with a great sea view. It was of a decent standard and clean enough. It had a separate bed room and bath room with a large living dining and kitchen area. The kitchen had every thing you would need with the exception of a microwave. There was a large balcony with stunning views. One slightly quirky feature was the bedroom, bathroom and kitchen windows opened on to a service shaft shared with some other apartments it also acted as a light shaft, for us on the 7th floor this worked well not sure how effective it would have been further down. Given the view we had from the living area this didn't bother us.
The maid visits every day to change the towels and empty the bins , you get a full service every three days.
There is a well stocked small shop on the 1st floor which had most of what we wanted.
The restaurant in the hotel itself was shut as it was still very early season but the one by the pool area was open and we enjoyed a nice meal there.
The hotel had a board from a company called Nova travel which offered sightseeing trips throughout Malta and Gozo. We booked one to Gozo through the hotel which cost us 23 Euros plus about 5 Euros return for the ferry each. For this we got return transfer to the ferry and on Gozo itself a minibus with driver guide for the day. We thoroughly enjoyed our day and found it to be excellent value for money.
We also used the open top buses from sightseeing Malta the deal is for you choose the South or North tour and you can hop on and off as often as you like its 15 Euros per person for the day. We did both and enjoyed them both.
From the Sunny Coast you can walk around the promenade all the way round to St Paul s bay which makes for a pleasant walk you can also cross straight through the resort which is much quicker to get from one side to the other.
There are many excellent places to eat check out the restaurant section.
Weather wise it was around 16C or so and we didn't really have any rain but it was windy at times and that took the edge off things especially if you were on an open top bus!
I have to say that we found the staff couldn't do enough for you. If you had a question about a tour or such like they phoned the relevant organisation and found out for you. Excellent service. And a great base to Discover Malta.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lewisgHighlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunnycoastadmin, Front Office Manager at Sunny Coast Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 17, 2011
Dear Guest
Thank you for the positive comment about our friendly staff. We are pleased they were help to you. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay here at the Sunny Coast. Our guest comments are very important to us.
We looked forward to host you again at the Sunny Coast.
Yours sincerely
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2011

We were a bit disappionted by Malta as a whole, mainly because one town just seemed to roll in to another and another and ... (you get the idea). There was very little open space. With that in mind, our accomodation was not bad:

Location : By the sea was great. Just a shame there were so many other buildings around. We were glad we went for a sea view, as looking out across the water was great. There were several good restaurants near by, with good quality food and excellent service.

Cleanliness : The appartment was not particularly clean. Not really dirty, but lacking attention to detail to get it really clean.

Appartment : The layout of the appartment was great. There was ample space in the living room, with reasonably comfortable chairs and a sofa. There was a TV, although viewing choice was limited. The bedrooms were of a good size, with comfortable beds and the two showers were warm and powerful.

Service : Nothing to write home about, but that seemed standard for Malta. The Brits who live there (running pubs, shops, etc.) were really friendly and chearful. However, I'm not sure we found a single Malteese who was friendly or cheerful.

Would I recommend to a friend? I probably would not recommend Malta to anyone, but if someone insisted on going and wanted an OK hotel then, yes, I would recommend this one. However, I would set their expectation by saying "It's OK, nothing special, but not that bad."

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PMJ66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunnycoastadmin, Front Office Manager at Sunny Coast Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 17, 2011
Dear Guest
We would like to thank you for taking your time to give us your constructive comments on our resort. Please note that your comments have been forwarded to the Hotel Management team in order to address the issues you have raised so that we can keep improving. On behalf of the management and staff at the Sunny Coast Resort, we would like to thank you once again for your comments and suggestions.
Yours sincerely
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington Cheshire U.K.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 21, 2011

We have stayed at Sunny Coast regularly for the past 14 years and have never had a bad experience. The staff from Top Management downward are most courteous and friendly to all. The Malibu Bar is a pleasant bar situated at the poolside. Prices are reasonable and quality of food and drink first class. Portions served are generous.
There are many good resteraunts and bars within walking distance so nobody should have cause for complaint.
The bus station is about ten minutes walk away and from here you can travel to all parts of the island.
For those who wish to remain local The promenade from Sunny Coast round to St Pauls Bay is a pleasure to take a stroll along with seating along most of the way for those unable to walk far. Also lots of places for refreshments..along the way.
The apartments in the hotel itself are comfortable and well equipped. Should you require anything further a simple request at reception usually provides the answer.
cleanliness is excellent, rubbish collected daily and towels changed daily..
In short you would have to travel far to find better quality.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TomHoughton82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunnycoastadmin, Front Office Manager at Sunny Coast Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 17, 2011
Dear Guest
Thank you for your positive review about our hotel, our friendly and helpful staff that make your stay a great one. Your positive comments will be forwarded to the respective departments. We look forward to host you agian at the Sunny Coast.
Yours sincerely The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Qawra
0.3 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
0.4 mi away
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Dolmen Resort Hotel
#2 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
2,614 reviews
4.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Park Lane Aparthotel
Park Lane Aparthotel
#1 of 16 in Qawra
880 reviews
0.8 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
1,421 reviews
0.3 mi away
Salini Resort
Salini Resort
#1 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunny Coast Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunny Coast Resort & Spa

Property: Sunny Coast Resort & Spa
Address: Triq Il-Qawra | St. Paul's Bay, Qawra, Island of Malta SPB 1905, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Qawra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Qawra
#6 Luxury Hotel in Qawra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunny Coast Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sunny Coast Resort and Spa is ideally located in one of Malta's most beautiful bays. The Resort offers an easy and relaxing experience and has its own Leisure Centre, situated in a separate area across the hotel by the water's edge together with its private beach, large outdoor swimming pool together with a children's pool, three jacuzzis, a heated indoor pool, sauna and massage rooms, squash court, games room and a fully air-conditioned gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunny Coast Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunny Coast Hotel Qawra
Sunny Coast Resort And Spa
Sunny Coast Resort & Spa Malta/Qawra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing