We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid like the plague!!!!”
Review of Euroclub Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Euroclub Hotel
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Qawra
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Just finished a 4 night stay at this hotel. Never again!!! After overlooking the dark dingy decor and the dated feel of the place, my friend and I got used to the drab eerie ambience and even tried to ignore the multiple signs stating that hotel management was not responsible for your belongings that go missing. We ignored the sign at reception, in the lift, on the walls etc. Needless to say..we were a tad paranoid about our valuables and kept them in the safe at reception most of the time. There's no wifi available in the rooms, only at reception. When showering, we found our eyes stung and the water tasted salty. We addressed this to the lady at reception who informed us that the water was from "the sea" and that we weren't used to the Maltese water yet. However, I highly doubt other hotels had their guests showering in salty water.
The icing on the cake was on our last night. My friend was brushing her teeth and ran out of the bathroom screaming. Turns out a massive orange cockroach had crawled out of the sink out of nowhere!!!!! We got the hotelier on duty to come and remove it and he attempted to flush it down the toilet which could not flush properly so the thing was there in our toilet for the foreseeable. I cannot begin to express how bad this place was. I wasn't bothered beforehand and didn't expect luxury as I've booked budget holidays at 3* hotels before but this has got to be the worst hotel I've ever stayed at. Its 1* if that!! The only good thing is the location but there are plentyyy of other hotels around that area so just DON'T BOOK THIS ONE!!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amelia2210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simonkts, General Manager at Euroclub Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

We appreciate all feedback from our guests, good or bad, as it allows us to constantly monitor our performance in each of our business areas.
I would appreciate if Mr A Melia to be fair with us and with people read his comments to give us his dates and booking Ref so I can reply to his comments about our hotel .
As I can see Mr A Melia have only 1 review on the Trip adviser and he send it Via Mobile.
I will consider his comments completely untrue if he did not give me the further information I need so I can take corrective action if necessary
Sincerely
Sayed Akl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (565)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

247 - 253 of 565 reviews

Reviewed September 7, 2013

just spent a week at this shabby old outdated hellhole food was disgusting the bathroom had cracked tiles everywhere shower curtain was old and full of mould rooms where cleaned every day not to my standard bathroom sink was never cleaned toilet brush was filthy we only slept in the place the two day recepitionist were lovely

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 526elizabeth1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simonkts, General Manager at Euroclub Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to tell us your experience in our hotel, we really appreciate it
I extremely surprised with your comments with regard. I always receive good feedback You simply said a broad statement which we consider to be completely untrue, without giving any further information so we can take corrective action if necessary
While I believe that almost every review has some truth to it I feel that your review is unduly critical and perhaps unfair in light of the efforts we give to our guests in food /cleaning/ services/ prices.
I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us and I very surprised by your comments as I feel that they do not reflect the reality at Euroclub hotel. I also do not understand how you could unhappy with so many aspects of your stay but never voiced your concerns to management team
The facts are !!! you can see that the vast majority of our guests enjoy their stays with us and the small minority who do have problems need only tell us to have those problems corrected.
I think your comments regarding all it just to try to confusing people take advise from Trip advisor to book the hotel
I know there many people they will not be very happy to see our hotel have been almost fully booked all year around .this what I call the price of the Success
General Manager
Sayed Akl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

just spent a week at euroclub hotel with my husband. Hotel is very shabby and very outdated. in much need of a complete overhaul to bring it into 21st century. there was just no atmosphere in the place so didnt really spend much time there. Never used the pool as it didnt look very inviting and was awkward to get to it. in saying that, this was a last minute cheap holiday and we got what we paid for. we went half board. the dining room was not very inviting and the food wasnt great and not a great deal of choice, very repetative but we never went hungry. Very strange that you had to supply your own drinks with dinner, couldnt even get a coffee. The staff were very friendly and pleasant and nothing was too much trouble for them. Our room was cleaned every day and towels changed every day so no complaints there. The towels for the first 3 days were shabby, grey and rough, however on the fourth day we got what looked like new towels for the remainder of our stay. If you are looking for a cheap getaway then i would recommend it as a base. If you want 5 star then pay 5 star prices. Tea and coffee making facilities would be nice in the rooms. All in all enjoyed our stay

Room Tip: we were in room 427 on 4th floor and had no problems sleeping although it was noisy from other bars...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nanny_Mooro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simonkts, General Manager at Euroclub Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Thank you for your comments and your rating of 3* from 5*. Frankly speaking I find it a little amusing it certainly took a while to highlight your views regarding your stay with us,
I certainly read all customers comments and I care about what all they say about us
This is my job to make sure our valued guests are taken care of. We all here to give service and full fill our guest needs
But to be honest I stayed in resorts in various destinations, England, Dubai, Thailand. Russia , Italy etc, I’m not trying to make excuses, these are facts. you paid £20 more or less each per night for half board I think you agree with me not a lot in 21st century in the high season. I start my service with full English and continental breakfast help yourself 10 or more coffee or tea as much as you can as juices if you go outside and try to have this breakfast somewhere .let say you pay £5 or £6 ,you go out for day and when you come back your room cleaned every day& you have 2 clean towels per day per person. You have shower then come for the dinner buffet style dinner and as you say you never went hungry non guest in the hotel paid as £12.50 per person for this dinner. Very strange you asked for free drinks to, as here in Malta in all hotel you have to pay for your drinks in the dining room if you do not know now you know .so your food cost us let say £17.50 per day so your nice room 427,cost £2.50 per day per person so I get paid like 21st century .Dear guest no point paying peanuts then complaining because its basic .I would say the hotel was fit for purpose.
Some customers they think they paid money for us so they have breakfast to full free sandwich for lunch with them for the day out + they want dinner with softer lighting like in Hilton . The math is then simple to be done comparing same product at home
Honestly I do not agree with your comments about the pool and the dining room, I would say isn’t everyone’s cup of tea to be fair
All in all you enjoyed your stay !!! and You get more then you pay for
General Manager
Sayed Akl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Me and my family visited from 14th - 21st August this year and wasn't expecting too much as we had read the reviews on the place, they weren't fantastic but at the end of the day you get what you pay for.. You're not paying over the odds for this place.. We had a lovely time, the rooms were nice and tidy, the pool was nice, and you don't have to wake up at 5am to get yourself a sun lounger which is brilliant. The bar next to the pool, I can't remember what it was called but the people who run it, Joyce and mario are so lovely! They really made our holiday! Kept us smiling all week.. Entertainment isn't fantastic, you have a transvestite doing cabaret, which personally isn't my thing but who am I to judge, everyone found it absolutely hilarious! Food wasn't nice at all, my 6 year old brother didnt eat anything but cucumber sandwiches for 2 days, but I spoke to the manager there, and he had no problem with sorting him out some chicken nuggets and chips (very pleased little boy) location is good, right in the middle of everything, less than 5 minute walk to the 'beach', the people are lovely and friendly, and over the road to incognito bar and restaurant the pizzas are delicious and really worth the money and the entertainment is pretty cool.
If you're looking to be fussy and expecting 5 star food and service, don't bother..
But if you're just looking for somewhere to lay your head.. This is the one.
DON'T BE PUT OFF BY WHAT EVERYONE PUTS ON HERE, YOU CAN'T PLEASE EVERYBODY!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TiffanyFaye1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simonkts, General Manager at Euroclub Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your comments on our food and our staff
I are giving guests reviews my top priority. I try to give our guests what they have paid for and sometimes more than they paid for. but Some guests are not easy to please, and when things go wrong they take it on the staff or food
I know Guests are not all the same, some are not easy to please and complain about small things , while others come on holiday to relax and are happy if they get what they have paid for
(£50 per night for family of 2 + 2 children one of them is free of charge and 1 pay only 50% from adult price is not that much in the high season ) without expecting 7 STAR hotel food and service . Our hotel is classified 3 star by the Tourist board.
When guests compare our 3 star hotels to UK 3 STAR HOTELS they should keep in mind
that in UK guests pay about 5 times what they pay in MALTA.
As I have looked to others a previous guests commented about our food and service I found your answer there in guests commented .as I understood from your review your 6 years old brother he is fussy eating like all children so when you talk to me I had no problem to sorting him out with what he like to tea & free drinks to and I did make sure every night he have something to eat so this what I call it very good service , here I will ask you did you get this service somewhere else ? I think it is not really fair for the hotel and the staff. When you say about our hotel if you just looking for somewhere to lay your head.
Then you say you have lovely time your room were nice and tidy the pool was nice and staff was lovely +you know are not paying odds for the place .
Now I ask you ? what can I do with fussy eating guests ?
I apologies that our food and service failed to meet with your expectations. Our aim is of course to please our guests and to keep up to their expectations if we can
General Manager
Sayed Akl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

family run hotel, very friendly staff, we had a fabtime, no faults from us, poolside room we were very happy, fresh towels daily beds changed weekly, food good and different everyday, we enjoyed our time at the euroclub and watsons bar fun, malta very busy yet quiet, great sleep everynight, we will go back to the euroclub as great base and happy folks, thanks to all whom looked after us esp harry and Neville aka my new son.

Room Tip: poolside a good location but overall quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank michelle e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

The Euroclub hotel is one I have visited several times. I have read both complimentary and adverse reviews. Let me start by saying I do not expect 5 star service at A 3 star rated hotel.
Location : Central and close to all the the shops & bars. The hotel is not two minutes from the main bus station.
Rooms : Though basic I found all of the rooms that have been allocated to be comfortable.
Cleanliness : All my rooms were cleaned every day and fresh clean towels were provided.
Staff : I found all the staff to be most helpful and friendly. I must say that the manager Sayad could not do enough to ensure that my stay was enjoyable.
Food : Perhaps this is one area that their may me room for some improvement. The breakfast typical English was acceptable. T he evening meal was uninspiring, however I must say it was always hot and well presented.
Entertainment : I am not a bingo fan but bingo is offered each evening for those who wish a more sedate and social evening. Attached to the hotel is a night style club which serves an array of beers, wines and spirits at a comparable price to the other bars in the location.
Pool : There are two pools an indoor one and another outside. Both pools are small but are large enough to cater for the number of customers. There are plenty of sun loungers around the pool and tables with umberellas. There is a bar alongside the pool where drinks and snacks can be purchased.
In conclusion I intend to return to the hotel in October 2013.

Room Tip: Try to obtain a room overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank 8presley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

booked this despite being a little hesitant about some of the reviews. Hotel itself is fine, clean and the staff are friendly and despite the reviews saying about the noise from the street we found it wasn't anything excessive especially with the patio doors shut. Main gripe was the pool-thought it might be a nice spot as some reviews said it was under used. That wasn't the case when we were there. The times we went down it was quite busy although we normally still got a sun lounger. However what spoiled it for me was that for starters the woman who ran the pool bars kid was normally in the pool and he was far from quiet and oblivious to others diving in and out with normally some friends. Then on the final day of our holiday we went to the pool to find it completely taken over by kids-they charge to let non-residents in which I think is disgraceful-if you pick a hotel with a pool you expect to be able to use it without having to put up with local kids playing in it. This for me along with the stale smell in the pool bar has put me off coming back to this hotel. We didn't eat at the hotel so can't comment on the food but the dining room was a horrible dingy room so am glad we didn't. Also we discovered the patio door didn't lock and when my boyfriend went to complain the response was 'its not a problem you have nothing to worry about here'. When my boyfriend pressed the point and said that I wasn't happy leaving the room without it locking all he said was 'you need to see manager in morning nothing happen tonight'. We couldn't even get a safe sorted that night either. We didn't bother in the end as nothing did happen but the complacent attitude about it annoyed me. We didn't pay for air con as the ceiling fan was adequate but if you like a cool night then it would probably be worth paying for-we stayed in August and it was hot on a night sometimes. Aside from this the hotel is in a great location with bars and restaurants a short walk away-recommend walking to bugibba square as this is where there is a bit more life-we found a lot of the restaurants serve pretty much the same dishes though. Would def return to Malta though probably a resort with a bit more going on

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank littleminxter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Qawra
0.5 mi away
Sunflower Hotel
Sunflower Hotel
#6 of 15 in Qawra
839 reviews
0.1 mi away
Canifor Hotel
Canifor Hotel
#12 of 15 in Qawra
1,875 reviews
0.1 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
San Pawl Hotel
San Pawl Hotel
#10 of 13 in St. Paul's Bay
1,653 reviews
0 mi away
Park Lane Aparthotel
0.2 mi away
Soreda Hotel
Soreda Hotel
#4 of 15 in Qawra
2,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Euroclub Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Euroclub Hotel

Address: Fliegu Street, Qawra, Island of Malta, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Qawra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Qawra
Price Range: $25 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Euroclub Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Euroclub Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Euroclub Hotel Qawra
Euroclub Hotel Malta/Qawra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing