We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sunday roast and freshly made sandwiches”
Review of The Whole Hog - CLOSED

The Whole Hog
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Hand carved roast meat sandwiches using the finest ingredients in our bespoke daily baked bread rolls. Delicious vegetarian and chilled options also available. Daily specials, carvery and Sunday roasts all home made. Wine bar playing background music with No karaoke, a nice place to reflect on your days adventures in a happy, quiet environment.
Reviewed July 16, 2014

the food was homemade was hot and a good portion and the staff / owners are really friendly the only problem there is no wheel chair access into the restraunt but there are tables and chairs on the pavement outside xx

Thank lynn422014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay A, Owner at The Whole Hog, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Dear Lynne, thank you for the lovely review it was a pleasure meeting and serving you.

The wheelchair/ disabled access is a problem that we are looking into, unfortunately at present the best options are a little out of our budget for the time being. Hopefully we can look at this in the near future. Although as you say there is seating with shade outside the restaurant and so we hope our less able friends can eat or visit outside ( weather permitting)

Looking forwards to your return now you have found us and best wishes from all of us at "The Hog"
Mary and Jay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (237)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

197 - 201 of 237 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

We ate here several times on our holiday and were not disappointed. You may have to wait a little longer than some other establishments for your food to come but it was well worth the wait knowing that your food was being cooked fresh to order and not being reheated. Meal was fabulous at a very very reasonable price. Service was excellent and very accommodating, the chocolate cake is to die for if you can squeeze it in after. Ordered sandwiches to take to the airport on our way home for lunch and yet again we were not disappointed. Very highly recommended probably the best meal we had on our holiday, well worth a visit or two!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Michfleming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay A, Owner at The Whole Hog, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Dear Mich.

Thanks so much for the review and taking the time to write such a nice one.

We will miss you guys and it was always a pleasure to see you.

So glad you enjoyed "The Hog" and our food so much. We find lots of people taking one of our sandwiches to the airport for the flight home and it's becoming known as the "last supper".

Always sad when friends leave but we hope to see you again soon.

Jay n M x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Went for a real good Sunday lunch, the food was tasty, nice portion size, probably the best your gonna find in Malta, a lovely meal in a nice clean environment served with a smile.
Cannot wait to return for another visit, truly good place for a roast or a super sized sandwich with all the trimmings, keep up the good work just what Qawra needed .

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mikeWestYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay A, Owner at The Whole Hog, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2014

Hey you two!

Thanks for visiting us and enjoying the food it's been a real pleasure meeting you and frequent malta visitors too.

It's great when we find other people who love Malta as much as we do and enjoy swapping notes about the Island.

Were still finding hidden corners we've never seen before way off the beaten track and there's always more surprises.

Hope you will return soon, kindest regards Jay and Mary.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014

We found this place on the second night of our holiday as we were looking for somewhere with free Wifi as in the hotel you paid! Mary and Jay are so friendly and David too so we then went for a drink most nights and a chat! Sorry we didn't try your food after reading all the reviews! Next time! Have a good summer! Mary ,Miriam and hubby xxx

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mary08Venice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay A, Owner at The Whole Hog, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2014

Gracie cari amici!

Mary, Miriam, and Hubby.

Hope you had a great flight back and Venice hadn't sunk! ;)

It was lovely meeting you all and spending many evenings with you.

It's pretty awful in this day and age when you are charged for Wifi but everyone is welcome to use ours and meet new friends!

Next time you visit you must try the food, or just come into the bar if you only fancy a drink and a chat, we really don't mind.

Take care guys, have a fantastic summer and we look forwards to your next visit ( or we may come over to Venice to see you) :)

Jay , Mary and David.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

Went tonight for first time the reviews were brilliant why because their true had a take away and all good great food great service great staff make you feel at home you will never go once

Thank steveo05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay A, Owner at The Whole Hog, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2014

Dear Steve.

So, so pleased you enjoyed the roast dinner in a box!

Thank you for your kind words.

People said to us that trip advisor would be a good promotional tool for our little restaurant and yes it can be but you know, it's also and I think more importantly a very personal app for us as well.

You see this morning I started roasting the meats, and preparing the vegetables and sat there in a pile of potato peel and felt somewhat tired and a little forlorn so I went outside for a red bull and espresso ( separate cups! after a 19 hour, very quiet day yesterday) then your review popped up.

That's what keeps us motivated, the kindness people show us in their reviews and feedback in the restaurant.

It will be great to see you again before your trip is over and we hope you are having another fantastic break in Malta.

Jay and Mary.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Whole Hog also viewed

Qawra, Island of Malta
Qawra, Island of Malta
 
Qawra, Island of Malta
Qawra, Island of Malta
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing