We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic and clean.”
Review of Seaview Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Seaview Hotel
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Qawra
Reviewed May 4, 2013

We stayed here for two weeks during April 2013. Wonderful sea view from our balcony. The apartment was small, just a bedroom and bathroom, - as we were bed and breakfast this was fine. The towels were changed daily and the beds every three or four days. At breakfast you are asked if you want anything cooked, e.g. full english, there was a choice of three cereals, bread rolls, cheese, ham, jam etc., tea, coffee and juices. Some mornings there was cake and one morning a bowl of strawberries!
If you walk up the slight hill either side of the hotel you will find plenty of bars and restaurants, If you leave the hotel and turn left down the road you come to a pedestrianised area full of bars, restaurants, cafes and shops. If you walk past this area and continue up the little hill there are lovely restaurants overlooking the sea. The food was good in all the restaurants we tried, The Ty Pawli and La Stalla we thought were exceptionally good.
Although our balcony was in the shade until late afternoon, the pool area was a little sun-trap. The pool was small, but as it was not yet high season this was not a problem.
Would definitely recommend this hotel if you're looking for a base that is basic, clean and close to plenty of amenities. The staff were friendly, pleasant and helpful.

Room Tip: We specifically asked for a sea view apartment, the view is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (234)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 234 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2013

The staff were very helpful but the hotel was very sparse and lacked items you consider as basic .
Went with sister in law and booked two seperate rooms. On arrival was informed only one room available that first night. Promised Upgrade on rooms for rest of stay. True we moved to a sea view but in doing so the very small double rooms we moved to were missing items we had in the first room!!!!
Both showers in upgraded rooms were hand held showers whilst the initial room had fixed shower. Neither room containing hand held shower heads had shower curtains or facilities to fix one. The baths are stained No light over the dressing table mirror.
One of the shower heads was so blocked little water came out.
One of the televisions did not work and despite informing reception on second day of arrival nothing was done. Only one channel available on any of the televisions but at least it was BBC world news (repeated hourly)
One room had no bedside lamps at all and the other had just one movable lamp which could be moved to centre of the beds only be trailing wire over other bed so had I been sharing this room could not have used it. (both classed as double rooms) Our origional room had fixed bedside lights with switches on walls.
There was no toilet paper in one room so had to go to reception twice before I was handed just one roll over the reception desk to take up to my room. Oh and there is only one key for each room so no room service if you happen to take your key with you instead of handing it into reception.(look at the door locks...looks very iffy most of them) Door bottoms warped and split.
No hairdryer/ironing board or kettle was available to hire and no fridge unless you paid 3 euros per day.
Beds were basic and the mattress's slid about the base The sheets are clean but paper thin and I had to go and fetch my pillow cases and towels from reception as my *upgraded* room had not been properly prepared.
Food is basic and very small portions. The full cooked breakfast consisted of sausage/bacon/egg and beans with toast. Being vegetarian I asked for beans on toast. Two small slices of toast (very lightly done) not buttered and I could count the nos of beans on each slice. Approx 20 on either side.
Evening meal soup was tasty but the main meal a disaster. There were three choices of main meal but the vegetarian choice was always omlette or fish and I eat neither. I was offered a mushroom pie one day then told it was not available. A vegetable pie the following day and when the plate came there was just rice and chips added to the potatoes and vegetables. No word or sign of a pie. One day I was given just three boiled potatoes and two cauliflower florets!!!
There is a buffet of very basic salad but you need to get there early as it all goes within the first five minutes
A *choice* of desert means at most 3 choices but generally it was one or two choices and the slices were only about an inch wide at the thickest end!!!
No comfortable lounge should you wish to escape the tiny room. There is a library but the chairs are assorted and not very comfortable though there are lovely chairs dotted along the corridors which are wasted.
For a little extra expense this hotel could have been so much better but it scraped on everything and spoilt the visit.
However the staff were very helpful when they could be and its such a shame they have such mean facilities to offer.
About 3 doors along there is a fabulous tea/coffee place Small but cosy with the most amazing cakes and you are served very generous servings Comfortable seats and very clean.
Bus's are cheap but the journeys between places are long and tedious as the landscape varies very little.
If you go to Valetta go to the Garden Cafe on your left as you go down the main street. Go upstairs where there are comfortable seats and lovely drink and food. Again good value.

Room Tip: Unfortunately the rooms are all very small and the facilities vary from room to room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 305JENCHRIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

WWe have just returned from a week bed and breakfast at the seaview covered in some sort of bites which I suspect came from fleas off the hotel cat.
Ok let me say about the good points about the hotel which are that the hotel is in a great location and has great views from the seaview rooms.
The rooms were very small although clean but there was a terrible smell from the toilet which was leaking where it was fixed to the floor there was no air-con not a problem in april but bear in mind if going in summer months,beds rock hard and shower a bit hit and miss.
The breakfast was truly terrible eat out if you can.
The bar was ok and had sky sports and evening entertainment was more for the older generation,we are in our 50,s and were the youngest there.
In coinclusion if you have booked this hotel you can expect to get what you paid for which I hope is not very much.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adrian b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We spotted this little gem on the front at Qawra when we in Malta last year, it looked in such a perfect position we thought if we could we would book for this year. We booked for 3 weeks in April and paid the extra for a Sea View room. We arrived about midday and were surprised our room was already ready so no wait till official book in time, which was nice. We had a room on the first floor overlooking the Bay. The rooms are not huge, but big enough when you don't plan to spend much time in them except to sleep, the furniture is a bit dated, but again that don't really matter. The beds were comfortable and the rooms very clean and kept that way throughout our visit.

The meals were basic, but well cooked and always hot, always a choice of 3 starters, 3 mains and 2 sweets, so you ain't going to starve. When the Hotel was full the staff did struggle a bit to get everyone served, but meals are over a 2 hour period so if everyone did not appear the time the meals started and spread it out over the 2 hours there would not be a problem. A cooked or Continental Breakfast was available each day and got each day off to a good start. For what we paid for the meals we were more than happy with what we received and like the previous reviewer liked the Buffet Meal night, the Swordfish Steaks were great.

Again like all Malta Hotels Kettles not provided in rooms, but we always check before we go and if necessary pack the travel kettle, which is a must for a Coffee first thing in the morning on the balcony overlooking the Bay.

Over our stay I only found one minor irritation and that was when having a shower I had to hold the shower as no where to clip it up, and as I took a shower most days it did get to be a pain, how much money and time would it cost to put some clips up to hold the shower head in position, very little.

Location when on holiday is everything and this Hotel certainly has the right location, with some great, helpful staff, over the 3 weeks I could not fault one and the owner is very hands on as well.

All the Hotel public areas were very clean including, reception, bar area, pool area and restaurant, would we go again, why yes and soon if we have our way. It speaks volumes for the Hotel that most clients are return visits year after year.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pete M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Just had 16 day's again at the Seaview Hotel. As usual all the staff were very helpful and welcoming. We especialy liked the Buffet tea for one night only,would like to see more buffet teas. Hint Hint. It got very busy towards the end,and the staff were starting to struggle,but They managed. Will be booking again for next year. Love the Sea Views.

Room Tip: purchase a sea view room.Beautiful views over St Pauls Island. and cooler as it faces North.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank matthiasyorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

We have just spent a very enjoyable month at the Seaview. The location of the hotel was ideal situated on the seafront. The bus station, post office, shops and restuarants were a short step away. We had stayed at a larger hotel the previous year and wanted a smaller one this time. ALL the staff were friendly helpful and courteous throughout our stay. The room although basic had all the ameneties needed.It was clean light and airey. The linen was changed regularly and room was cleaned daily .The tv only had one channel but we rarely had time for it anyway. The ensuite had a bath and shower which worked perfectly (sometimes we got caught out as the water is switched off at times throughout the day) We had two balconys and as our room faced the pool had the sun all day luckily it also had a seaview. The meals were served in a clean and pleasant dining room overlooking the promonade and sea. Breakfast was a full english cooked individually ie: eggs, scrambled, poached or boiled and there is also a self serve continental. (the only thing that let it down a bit was the orange juice, as it tasted like watery squash) Dinner was a 4 course meal with 3 choices of each. If we didn't like what was on the menu we were always asked if we wanted something else. Don't know how they managed all this on such a small budget. The cosy bar has an open fire which is very welcoming on cool winter evenings.Entertainment was offered most evenings and we spent many happy times there. If luxury is what is required there are several of the bigger hotels offering it close by but they don't come cheap! Seaview is a clean friendly hotel offering a great deal for a small budget We hope to return with our friends next year. Cannot believe some of the petty complaints raised by some of the reviews they seem to want 5star with a 1star budget.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank ordinarycouple14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

I have now been three times to this hotel and still cant find fault with it. The hotel management are trying to update the accommodation. I stayed in the same room this time as i had the previous year and upon walking in the room I had a pleasant surprise. The bathroom had been completely been refurbished including a new bath, shower, sink and toilet and there did not seem much wrong with the old bathroom. All I can say is MAKE UP YOUR OWN MIND. I will certainly be going back, hopefully next year

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank SparkieStockportr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Qawra
0.1 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
0.2 mi away
Park Lane Aparthotel
0.2 mi away
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Dolmen Resort Hotel
#2 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Qawra Palace Hotel
Qawra Palace Hotel
#7 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,815 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sunflower Hotel
Sunflower Hotel
#6 of 15 in Qawra
795 reviews
0.3 mi away
Canifor Hotel
Canifor Hotel
#13 of 15 in Qawra
1,813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaview Hotel

Address: Qawra Road, Qawra, Island of Malta SPB04, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Qawra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Qawra
Hotel Class:3 star — Seaview Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Seaview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea View Qawra
Seaview Hotel Malta/Qawra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing