We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“self catering at its worse”
Review of The Clover Court

The Clover Court
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Qawra
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Clover Court
Reviewed May 5, 2012

Many years back we went to this hotel as I have family in malta I thought it would be a good base.it was but hotel did not to me have that appeal.its very very basic.on arrival at luqa airport it was a shock on the transfer to hotel.a small mini bus and trailer.your luggage went on trailer. and on you went on mini bus.its a bit confusing as I alwasys have gone to hotels on a coach.it was very late getting to hotel.when we arrived the mini bus stopped at bottom of hill where you was asked to disembark you got your luggage and was told to walk up hill with your luggage no help at all.bad news if you are disabled or walking disabilitys.we checked in and shown our room.this hotel is self catering no t.v.radio did not work.a bit of a shock.in the morning we walked around to check place out.the bar is very small food dont bother.supplys you have a hard time to find.only place to go is around the dolman hotel to find anything be prepared to do a bit of leg work.to find any shops and very pricey as malta is.next to the dolman there is little cafes for natasha famous mini pastys cheese.or the meat veg.very cheap.and lovely get there very early as they sell out fast.night life well what can you say its very busy at night clubs bars restaurants across the road when you come down hill there is rocks and you can swim there not ideal for children.my advice go to a beach.the buses are cheap a bit out of date but an experience ride there is a lot going on in Qwara but I cant say its good for children other hotels might be suitable.clover court swimming pool is small and you have to line up before 9 that's when they open the doors.nothing to write home about.I've been to malta many times the only hotel I found with its own private beach is the golden sands but its isolated.but excellent.the clover court is not what I would call a great hotel the staff dont mingle no fun unless you make your own and be warned if in bar on sing a long night you might be asked to leave for fumigation I kid you not we could not believe it so we went with people we met and went around the dolman to georges bar he is a screen dont know if he is still alive.you have to look hard for entertainment .the bus terminal is by the square.this review is fact but I dont know if changes made do your home work before you go here.vip ben san an family

Room Tip: All the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vipben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (18)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 18 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2010

The Clover apartments at Qwara are very basic and dated. Our room was very clean and was serviced every day but Sunday. There was a cooker and all utensils but we ate out all the time. The bathroom was OK but the hand held shower was a bit feeble. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Very good and clean pool. During the day there is a sun deck bar and in the evenings there is an indoor bar. While we were there there was only one night of entertainment. There was no air con at all in any of the public areas! Our room had a paddle fan which we found just about adequate. We were given twin beds which could be pushed together. They were very hard! We were self catering so can't comment on the food. The Clover occupies an quiet location off the main seafront road about five minutes walk from the bus station and local bars and shops and about fifteen minutes from Bugibba square along the seafront were there are plenty of shops and bars. All the local beaches are rock and to find any sand you need to walk to Bugibba.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jewksmwk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2010

As far as the room went, it was clean, everything including the aircon worked, the cleaners went in every day and beds were comfortable. We had a partial sea view, and there was no noise from the street. It's wheelchair friendly, with lifts and ramps. All the local facilities are within 5 -10 minutes walk, and the local buses can get anywhere on the island for £1 GBP inside 30 minutes.
However, we had booked half board. The "restaurant" is not run by the hotel, but by a depressed gentleman who told us that he was only allowed a certain amount to provide us with food; basically the meals were "bought in" on contract. The amount was MUCH less than we paid per day on the voucher, and quite frankly you wouldn't gain much weight on the set breakfast or dinner. The restaurant doubled as the bar; although we drank in it very little. Very hot, and a distinct lack of atmosphere.

Go room-only, and eat at the numerous places within 2 minutes walk.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JackB50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2010

My husband and I spent the weekend at Clover Court for our first wedding anniversary in May 2010. We just wanted to spend the weekend somewhere hot and not spend loads of money, therefore chose Malta. While the staff were very friendly and helpful, the hotel itself definitely needs updating/modernising. We stayed in a self catering studio and I have to say that the single beds that we had to push together were the most uncomfortable thing I have ever slept on! There was no air-con in our room and no view from the balcony (other than a tree and the next apartment block), that coupled with an awful clingy shower curtain, made the room not the nicest place to stay. On the upside the food in the restaurant was what you’d expect at home, as the couple who did the catering were English (as are a lot of the people over there).
The shopping centre in Valetta is nice, and you can get to this via bus which was approx 3.50 euro’s for a day ticket. The Blue Lagoon is well worth a trip if you like sunbathing and was supposedly the place where some of the movie ‘Troy’ was filmed. You can get to it either by ferry or speedboat (but don’t sit at the front unless you like the thrill of nearly being thrown from the boat lol!). Take your own food and drink if you go as there is only one burger van and it is very expensive. I would also advise taking your own toilet roll as there was none in the loo’s. Just one more word of warning, although the water looks very enticing it is freezing and infested with jelly fish! They are only small brown jelly fish, however you are not warned about them and we only noticed them when my husband got stung on the arm! (he survived in case you’re wondering lol!). All in all we had a nice break in the sun however would probably not go back to Malta and definitely not go back to Clover Court.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrixieG24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2009

Booked here after reading good reviews. Booked a superior apartment, 2 bedroom. The 2 bedrooms had single beds in, which were only suitable for children. As we are not children, they were useless. The double bed available was a sof a bed in the living room, this was great unless you moved and then the whole thing squeeked it's head off, so that meant sleeping on the floor.
We had a booked a self catering apartment expecting to get a balcony. We got 3, 1 on each bedroom and one off the living room. View from bedrooms was of the street and the aprtments opposite, so close that you had to keep bedroom curtains closed permantly unless you wanted them to look in. Living room balacony was a view of a wall and a huge overgrown bush thing. So no good for sitting on and chilling out with a glass of vino. Only air conditioning is in the living room. Bedrooms just had fans.
We were very dissapointed with our apartment as we had paid alot of money for this so called superior apartment.
On our return we complained to Sun Hotels, it took them 2 months to reply. Supposedly we should have requested a double bed if we had wanted one in a bedroom?!!!! No where does it mention this.
So if you are booking an apartment here and are expecting a superior apartment to be something special then be aware it is not.
Swimming pool small and surrounded by groups of Germans drinking from early morning. Didn't use it.
Sun lounge area, ok if you get up very early to get a lounger as there are only a few and they are the plastic type with no cushions, so very uncomfortable.
Beach was the best place to go to get away from the depressing accomodation.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank emjauk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2009

we spent 11 days at the clover appartment and found the room very confortable and clean.It had a good air conditionning system and the main bed was very confortable.We was surprised to find an iron and a hairdryer at our disposal.The swimming pool, although not very big was very clean.As we went in september it was very quiet which suited us fine. We didnt use the restaurant as we ate mostly in town .There is so many places to eat with variation of prices .We were only 5 mins away from the bus stops and as you can travel anywhere on the island by bus we found it very easy to go places. The buses are very cheap and are a national institution !!!!!We found Malta to be a very beautiful island with some breathtaking scenaries .we will definately go back to carry on visiting the island

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wibble666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2009

This place was the most miserable we had ever stayed in, even worse than the Sunseekers and that's saying something! Brochure said welcome pack tv and hairdryer in every room but not one of these existed. So at 9.30 in the morning no water, cup of tea or anything. Fridge dirty, dented, chipped and stained, cooker small and inefficient, shower curtain moldy, floor tiles cracked and dirty, had to wash cutlery, drawers, crockery before we could use them, furniture old, sheets thin, had to buy dischcloth, kitchen cleaner and toilet cleaner - hadn't gone on holiday to clean!!!!!! This was what a 1950's Butlins camp must have been like ............ only saving grace was that the towels were changed 6 days a week but as these were like tea towels it was just as well !!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pswan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Qawra hotels
0.0 mi away
Seashells Resort at Suncrest
0.0 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
0.0 mi away
Sunny Coast Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Park Lane Aparthotel
0.0 mi away
Il Palazzin Hotel
Il Palazzin Hotel
#5 of 15 in Qawra
754 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sunflower Hotel
Sunflower Hotel
#6 of 15 in Qawra
789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clover Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clover Court

Address: Triq it-Tartarun | St. Paul's Bay, Qawra, Island of Malta SPB 05, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Qawra
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Qawra
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
The Clover Court Hotel Qawra
The Clover Court Malta/Qawra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing