We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“THIS ACCOMMODATION IS AWFUL”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cardor Holiday Complex
Ranked #15 of 15 Hotels in Qawra
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“THIS ACCOMMODATION IS AWFUL”
Reviewed November 28, 2011

This was our first visit to Malta. The area is excellent and less than 10 minutes from an excellent bus terminus & the daily bus ticket is excellent value for money, even cheaper if you're there for a week or longer. We were on a short break, 5 days over 4 nights and to be perfectly honest could not have stayed in the accommodation another night. Basically the only time we spent in the apartment was to sleep and neither of us got much due to the severe damp. We had rm 102. Complaining made no difference & was met with a not my problem attitude and "there are no other rooms". Copious use of perfume, air freshner and fresh air (we left the bedroom and bathroom windows open most of the time even when out) made not an iota of difference. All inclusive was very good value and the food was good if very English. The bar service @ Cardor was atrocious with one particular bar person vacating the bar everyone time he saw someone coming! Canifor bar was better but only open at night. Restarant service was hit and miss and as with the bar staff not exactly welcoming. accommodation aside the holiday was excellent. An independent rep told us the complex is part of an upgrade to EU 4 star standard in 2012 & I really hope this happens so as put a dampner on other peoples holidays.

Room Tip: Don't book Cardor in the first place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mags R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    38
    68
    36
    79
See reviews for
70
101
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
luton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2011

We went to malta in oct 2011 for the first time,and although the location is fab and there is a local bus station nearby and plenty of restaurants in buggibba square this hotel should be avoided!
We wanted a bargain holiday and although we have stayed in grotty student accommendation before plenty of times this place really sucked!
It was really run down in the cardor complex athough i imagine if you stayed in the canifor it would be better.
We spent three nights in a room 102 with no windows(unless you count the tiny one in the bedroom which faced a wall and some guttering!)and an awful stench of damp.When i pulled the bed out there was loads of mould behind the bed and on the wall.The bed linen even smelt of it and felt damp.I woke up with really tight chest on two occasions and had a blocked nose everyday we were there.
When we politely complained the staff were very cross and rude.Even though I offered to show them the damp.They said we would have to put up with it until another room became available.We did eventually get moved and the room dated from the 60s with holey bedlinen and towels but was slightly better(I was relieved not to have damp anywhere to be honest!)
I would still not recommend staying there,even if you really want a bargain.It honestly put a bit of stress and spoilt the first part of the holiday.

Room Tip: stay somewhere else!or try the canifor next door.You have been WARNED.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank caz12355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Qawra hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

We were not able to check in for several hours (until about 3pm) as the room was not ready. Our room was very dark with no natural light - a view only into an internal atrium. One of the two bathroom lights didn't work and the shower head was faulty, spraying water directly into the bathroom shaving socket (although this was promptly fixed when we reported it). The beds were extremely creaky and the sheets didn't fit so slid off during the night. There was no balcony in the room as we had been promised when booking which made the room rather gloomy. There was rarely anyone on reception so no-one to help out if you need advice on booking trips etc. The pool area seemed to be in the shade for most of the day so not good for sun bathing. There was a lot of noise from fellow guests at night. On the positive side the room was clean and the cleaners/receptionist were pleasant enough.

Room Tip: We had no choice of room. Pay a bit more to stay at a better hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Just retured from a good holiday in the self catering appartments. Our flat was clean ,spacious enough for three people and the staff were excellent and very frendly . our shower was reported as leaking and within ten minutes it was repaired. the house keeper was vbery helpful in every respect . our grandaughter swam in the indoor pool at the Canifor every day , Very satisfied customers

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank margaret t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ampthill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2011

I'll start with the bad point. Having stayed here a couple of times before, I was aware that some of the apartments have an extremely limited view. Mine was one such apartment (205). My own fault though, as I dare say I could have paid a little more for a view when booking, which I neglected to do. However, for a solo traveller who just wanted a place to sleep, shower etc, it was pretty spacious and for about 17 Euros/night, I reckon it was all right. The apartment was assidously cleaned every day by pleasant, cheerful maids, although they did appear at rather random times of the morning to do this. I wouldn't call the place disgusting, a mite shabby and dated perhaps. Amenities are provided at the Canifor (where a friend of mine stayed) and I'll put a bit on their entry presently. Just for the record, a couple of the reviews below are the sort of thing that is giving this site a bit of a poor reputation.

Room Tip: If you wish to spend time other than sleep, shower etc, DON'T take an apartment labelled as Inla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paradise_alley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2011

Booked a low cost holiday, but never thought the accomodation could be this bad, In agreement with Fudud, and there at about the same time.

Again the staff were so unhelpful, it took us 2 days to move as our original accomodation despite being booked 10 months earlier, was not adjacent rooms as requested, one room was a box with very litlle natural light and a horrible stench of damp, and this wasted our holiday time, as this had to be done at a specific time to suit them. We had 2 apartments next to each other finally, and then had 3 days of either no water or floods from the bathroom.

Staff did not want to be bothered with our problems, and could not even get them to book a taxi for return to the airport, I had to use a payphone.

A WARNING STAY CLEAR OF THIS ACCOMODATION.

Room Tip: Don't come here
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bedford_Travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
Reviewed October 6, 2011

We arrived the hotel about 11 am. We had to wait 3 hours before checkin! We were very exited about getting the apartment. We have travelled a lot both specified and unspecified, but we have never seen any apartment or hotel with this poor standards. Lots of people have written here about these apartments and they are correct. The apartment looks like it's from 1940 and beds from the second world war. A broken sofa from the 80's. Some of the kitchen is newer than the rest and the stove is standing on 3 legs. The view from the windows: the same small open space as the other comments. Bathroom: black mould, and problem with the water faucets. The apartment smelled terrible. We got a new apartment the second day and it's a little better, balcony towards the road, no mould and brighter.

We have nothing to complaign about the service. That was very good.

Now in October in Qawra there is mostly elderly people between 50 and 85. Quiet in the streets around midnight.

We don't recomend this apartmenthotel to other people. The pictures on the internet looks better than the reality.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Solfaktor

Helpful?
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Qawra
0.3 mi away
Canifor Hotel
Canifor Hotel
#14 of 15 in Qawra
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,700 reviews
1.1 mi away
San Pawl Hotel
San Pawl Hotel
#11 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,436 reviews
0.6 mi away
Soreda Hotel
Soreda Hotel
#4 of 15 in Qawra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
0.3 mi away
Qawra Palace Hotel
Qawra Palace Hotel
#6 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,574 reviews
1.1 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cardor Holiday Complex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cardor Holiday Complex

Property: Cardor Holiday Complex
Address: Tourist Street, Qawra, Island of Malta SPB 1015, Malta (Formerly Dorirose Aparthotel)
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Qawra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 15 Hotels in Qawra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cardor Holiday Complex 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Cardor Holiday Complex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cardor Holiday Complex Qawra
Cardor Holiday Complex Hotel Qawra
Cardor Holiday Complex Malta/Qawra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing