We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not very good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cardor Holiday Complex
Ranked #15 of 15 Hotels in Qawra
Reviewed October 31, 2011

We were not able to check in for several hours (until about 3pm) as the room was not ready. Our room was very dark with no natural light - a view only into an internal atrium. One of the two bathroom lights didn't work and the shower head was faulty, spraying water directly into the bathroom shaving socket (although this was promptly fixed when we reported it). The beds were extremely creaky and the sheets didn't fit so slid off during the night. There was no balcony in the room as we had been promised when booking which made the room rather gloomy. There was rarely anyone on reception so no-one to help out if you need advice on booking trips etc. The pool area seemed to be in the shade for most of the day so not good for sun bathing. There was a lot of noise from fellow guests at night. On the positive side the room was clean and the cleaners/receptionist were pleasant enough.

Room Tip: We had no choice of room. Pay a bit more to stay at a better hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Liz291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (273)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

171 - 177 of 273 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2011

Just retured from a good holiday in the self catering appartments. Our flat was clean ,spacious enough for three people and the staff were excellent and very frendly . our shower was reported as leaking and within ten minutes it was repaired. the house keeper was vbery helpful in every respect . our grandaughter swam in the indoor pool at the Canifor every day , Very satisfied customers

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank margaret t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2011

I'll start with the bad point. Having stayed here a couple of times before, I was aware that some of the apartments have an extremely limited view. Mine was one such apartment (205). My own fault though, as I dare say I could have paid a little more for a view when booking, which I neglected to do. However, for a solo traveller who just wanted a place to sleep, shower etc, it was pretty spacious and for about 17 Euros/night, I reckon it was all right. The apartment was assidously cleaned every day by pleasant, cheerful maids, although they did appear at rather random times of the morning to do this. I wouldn't call the place disgusting, a mite shabby and dated perhaps. Amenities are provided at the Canifor (where a friend of mine stayed) and I'll put a bit on their entry presently. Just for the record, a couple of the reviews below are the sort of thing that is giving this site a bit of a poor reputation.

Room Tip: If you wish to spend time other than sleep, shower etc, DON'T take an apartment labelled as Inla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paradise_alley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2011

Booked a low cost holiday, but never thought the accomodation could be this bad, In agreement with Fudud, and there at about the same time.

Again the staff were so unhelpful, it took us 2 days to move as our original accomodation despite being booked 10 months earlier, was not adjacent rooms as requested, one room was a box with very litlle natural light and a horrible stench of damp, and this wasted our holiday time, as this had to be done at a specific time to suit them. We had 2 apartments next to each other finally, and then had 3 days of either no water or floods from the bathroom.

Staff did not want to be bothered with our problems, and could not even get them to book a taxi for return to the airport, I had to use a payphone.

A WARNING STAY CLEAR OF THIS ACCOMODATION.

Room Tip: Don't come here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nic_and_Jen_Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2011

We arrived the hotel about 11 am. We had to wait 3 hours before checkin! We were very exited about getting the apartment. We have travelled a lot both specified and unspecified, but we have never seen any apartment or hotel with this poor standards. Lots of people have written here about these apartments and they are correct. The apartment looks like it's from 1940 and beds from the second world war. A broken sofa from the 80's. Some of the kitchen is newer than the rest and the stove is standing on 3 legs. The view from the windows: the same small open space as the other comments. Bathroom: black mould, and problem with the water faucets. The apartment smelled terrible. We got a new apartment the second day and it's a little better, balcony towards the road, no mould and brighter.

We have nothing to complaign about the service. That was very good.

Now in October in Qawra there is mostly elderly people between 50 and 85. Quiet in the streets around midnight.

We don't recomend this apartmenthotel to other people. The pictures on the internet looks better than the reality.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Solfaktor
1  Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2011

Absolutely discusting would not put a dog in one of these cannot understand why they are being used on arrival rude and unhelpful staff had to stay for 2 nights before we could b moved so waisted 2 days of our holiday do not on any account stay here cannot stress enough discusting discusting discusting

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Fudud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2011

Cardor apartments are depressing dirty dismal and dated.
The agents who sell holidays to these apartments should be ashamed.
After 2 nights and many complaints we were moved to Coral hotel which was acceptable.
Please do not book to stay in the Cardor apartments.
You have been warned.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Udfud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Qawra
0.3 mi away
Canifor Hotel
Canifor Hotel
#12 of 15 in Qawra
1,873 reviews
2.5 mi away
Porto Azzurro
Porto Azzurro
#5 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,405 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sunflower Hotel
Sunflower Hotel
#6 of 15 in Qawra
837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
San Pawl Hotel
San Pawl Hotel
#11 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,651 reviews
0.4 mi away
Park Lane Aparthotel
0.6 mi away
Soreda Hotel
Soreda Hotel
#4 of 15 in Qawra
2,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cardor Holiday Complex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cardor Holiday Complex

Address: Tourist Street, Qawra, Island of Malta SPB 1015, Malta (Formerly Dorirose Aparthotel)
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Qawra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 15 Hotels in Qawra
Price Range: $17 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cardor Holiday Complex 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Cardor Holiday Complex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cardor Holiday Complex Qawra
Cardor Holiday Complex Hotel Qawra
Cardor Holiday Complex Malta/Qawra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing