We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top notch...”
Review of New Tavern Inn Qawra - CLOSED

New Tavern Inn Qawra
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Good honest food, friendly atmosphere, a place to come and meet with friends
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Our 5th visit to Malta...and countless visits to the new Inn tavern...faultless in every way..staff..value for money..quality of food..superb...Thank u jane & Trevor. .see u in Sept. ..

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank bacardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janeychef, chef at New Tavern Inn Qawra, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

Hi Jane, many thanks for your great review of The New Tavern Inn, it was lovely to meet all your family during your two week stay and thank you for eating with us most days. Yes our food represents great value for money and yes our quality is superb. We look forward to seeing you and Gareth again in September for more great food and happy times and also your son and new daughter in law. love Jane xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (132)
There are newer reviews for New Tavern Inn Qawra
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 50 of 132 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2014

I live in the north of Malta and have written a review before, and since discovering the New Tavern, have been there many times since.

Simply put, nothing changes, standards always remain high. Went back under water, diving after 11 years with Trevor and Jane, and their professionalism was ever present, the same way they run the Tavern, to the extent that I have chosen my clients Summer Party to be held there.

I know from a wedding held there a short while ago, it was a lovely affair, and you have to ask yourself this..... my business is expat financial services, where the keystone of service is trust........and I trust Trevor and Jane to deliver their usual high standards of hospitality, scrumptious buffet and live music. I know that my guests and their partners will leave happy, sated and in good spirits.

No restaurant or bar is perfect, but I say with hand on heart, this is a near to it as you will get. To underwrite that, my business will depend in a large part on our annual celebration, and I pass that responsibility to Trevor and Jane in trust, because I know.... they will not let us down.

Enough said.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank sunmaverick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janeychef, chef at New Tavern Inn Qawra, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Hi Tony thank you for having the confidence in the New Tavern Inn & its staff for allowing us to cater for your summer party next month. We always look forward to your visits and are extremely excited to hold such a prestigious event for you. Yes, our standards are very high and thank you for saying we "are as near perfect as you can get." Looking forward very much to your summer party and rest assured it will be a great success. xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Trevor, Jane, Maggie & Nigel made our wedding day something really special. They were so helpful, whatever we asked for - we got and more !!

The buffet that Jane laid on was absolutely fantastic, never seen so much food in all of my life and it was all laid out so nice !!!

We would recommend this bar to everyone for its brilliant staff and really friendly atmosphere. Thank you all again, so much for making our day xxx

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank CarolDyson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janeychef, chef at New Tavern Inn Qawra, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2014

Hi Carol many thanks for taking the time to review The New Tavern Inn. It was our absolute pleasure to have our restaurant as the venue for your wedding. Thank you for your kind remarks about the wedding food, i try my utmost to deliver the very best in fresh ingredients for your day. All of our team excelled themselves that day, decorating the restaurant for you and joining in with all the fun. Carol and Mick, On behalf of all the staff we wish you a long and happy marriage and see you again very soon xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Great service warm welcome ,ate a few places in this area and this one comes out top keep up good work see you all next year

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Dinky266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janeychef, chef at New Tavern Inn Qawra, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

Hi Dink,Iemelda and Josh. Many thanks for your great review of the New Tavern Inn. It was lovely to see you all again for your two week holiday and thank you for eating and drinking so many times with us during your stay. It's always great to see returning friends. Tell Josh there will be more gourmet burgers waiting for him for his next trip!!! see you all later in the year for more great food, dancing, singing and laughter. xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014

Just arrived back from malta this being my 9th visit. Great food fantastic staff jane and trevor are fantastic and not forgetting Maggie and nigel the atmosphere is amazing. we are planning to return in September - October time cant wait to see everyone again. thank you all for the wonderful food and company see you again soon

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank susan p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janeychef, chef at New Tavern Inn Qawra, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2014

Hi Susan. It was great to see you again and many thanks for your great review. We treat all our customers like family and friends which makes for a great atmosphere. We are so happy you ate and drank with us every day of your stay. We look forward to seeing you and your son in September and thank you once again. x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Tavern Inn Qawra also viewed

Qawra, Island of Malta
 
Qawra, Island of Malta
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing