We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A proper steak at last!”
Review of New Tavern Inn Qawra - CLOSED

New Tavern Inn Qawra
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Good honest food, friendly atmosphere, a place to come and meet with friends
Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

Food at the Tavern is always amazing so when we were told we could pre-order a steak, we didn't hesitate. Suffice to say, the steak arrived and wow it was huge! We both like our steak medium/rare but have found it near impossible in Malta so far to get what we ask for. Usually it will arrive overdone and we are disappointed. ...well not at the tavern. The steak was cooked perfectly and was great quality too. It looked fantastic on the super sized plate with its accompanying mushrooms, onion rings, salad,coleslaw and chips. A true feast and every mouthful scrumptious. You will not find this quality of food at these prices anywhere else. WELL DONE to the tavern once again :-) x

    • Food
1  Thank DawnandDaveLunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janeychef, chef at New Tavern Inn Qawra, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2014

Hi Dawn, many thanks for your glowing review of the New Tavern Inn. Yes you are right, steaks can be pre ordered to ensure freshness and quality. We refuse to buy in frozen steak to defrost and cook on order like some restaurants locally, we only cook fresh steaks as this is the only way a steak should be treated. All our steaks come with the traditional accompaniments and any sauce requested and we refuse to over charge you for a steak too,the New Tavern Inn is synonymous with value for money.
Once again thank you so much for your kind words and looking forward to more great times with the "Tavern Family."xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (132)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

53 - 57 of 132 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2014

We have just returned from a week in Malta and stumbled across this place whilst waiting for a table at a nearby restaurant (Wish we had eaten here coz the Overflow was a complete let down!)

From the moment we entered, we both felt at home (Even though we are a quiet couple, travelling with my parents)

We visited here every day after as it was so friendly and CHEAP!!! (Just 2euro for large Vodka/Lemonade!)

We promise guys, we shall eat here next time we are over but we had pre-planned our meals out before we came.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
1  Thank Whitewizard666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janeychef, chef at New Tavern Inn Qawra, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to review The New tavern Inn and especially calling us a "gem" We are so happy you felt at home with us, we treat all our customers like friends and family and look forward to their return. Thankyou also for visiting us every day of your holiday, yes our bar prices are exceptionally good value for money as too are our food prices where our only criticism is we give too big a portion!! Hopefully you will be able to sample our food next time you visit us. Thank you once again for your kind words xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Came back here, as we enjoyed it so much on our last visit, in September. Staff are very friendly, food is very good. But be warned - portion sizes are huge! Bar opens around 2pm I think & food served from 5pm. Sometimes live music or sporting events shown on TV.
It was my husband's 50th birthday whilst we were in Malta. They arranged for the live singer to sing happy birthday, put banners & flags on the wall & made a fabulous cake for my husband. They really made his birthday special! Nothing was too much trouble! Look forward to going back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank ForestRose1881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janeychef, chef at New Tavern Inn Qawra, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2014

Hi Sarah, many thanks for your fantastic review of The new Tavern Inn. We are so happy you enjoyed all your meals with us whilst on your holiday, yes our portions are huge but we would rather you ate as much as you wanted than go home hungry!!! It was our pleasure to make Andy's motorbike birthday cake as per your instructions/ communications with us before your holiday. We can design and make any cake for our valued customers and we always decorate our restaurant for the occasion required. It's the little touches together with the friendliness of our staff which has customers coming back time and time again, we treat everyone like our family. Thank you once again Sarah and looking forward to seeing you both again soon xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2014

Bit late putting this review on here but once again a terrific place to eat and drink. You are always made welcome at the Tavern. Sean and Nigel and Trevor and Jayne make it feel like home. Myself and fiance ate here most nights and I'm not a big eater but the portions are enormous. Drink prices are the best in the resort and the place is spotless. Not back until February next year at the moment but you never know. Thanks to everyone. PS Trev wor lass misses the cuddles Cheers

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank thefatcon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janeychef, chef at New Tavern Inn Qawra, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2014

Hi Ivan and Wendy. Lovely to see you back again and we are so pleased you ate with us nearly everyday of your holiday in Malta. Thankyou so much for your kind review of the New Tavern Inn. Shaun sends a big hello to you and thanks again for bringing the Easter eggs for us all, such a kind touch. Have a great summer and see you next February Ian on your boys holiday. Love Jane x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2014

Just back from 2 weeks in lovely Malta & found this great restaurant/bar. A must to visit. Made very welcome by Trevor & Jane & the fresh food cooked by Jane was superb. Generous portions & probably the best Lasagne I have ever tasted. Food & drinks at very reasonable prices. If you fancy a Dawn Dive, then speak to Trevor, who owns the Dawn Diving Training Academy situated next door. Will certainly visit again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank andrea1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janeychef, chef at New Tavern Inn Qawra, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2014

Hi Andrea
many thanks for your lovely review of the New Tavern Inn, we are so happy you enjoyed your time you spent with us during your holiday. Thank you so much for your kind words regarding the food, especially the freshly cooked homemade Lasagne which i pride my self on. It is our second best seller after beer battered fish which everyone enjoys. Yes our portions are huge, but we would rather people left what they couldn't eat rather than go home hungry because there wasn't enough on their plates. We look forward to seeing you again in Malta soon for more great food, and entertainment. x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Tavern Inn Qawra also viewed

Qawra, Island of Malta
 
Qawra, Island of Malta
 
Qawra, Island of Malta
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing