We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great lunch at Lovage”
Review of Lovage Bistro

Lovage Bistro
Ranked #4 of 100 Restaurants in Qawra
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed May 19, 2014

Lunch at Lovage was a wonderful experience.When you find the location, you forget about location being on a beaten path,with of course the parking challenges. The restaurant has eye appealing décor.There is a large parking lot a few corners away,just a short walk.
The tables are modern and chairs comfortable.We were three people who enjoyed a wonderful bottle of wine ,not expensive around Euro 25 ,decanted by a well informed sommelier.
We enjoyed three meals from their special of the day menu.A wonderful plate of beef fillet, a lamb dish ,and a wonderful fresh fish plate.The food ,wine and service was excellent
The menu has a many wonderful items which I will try on my next visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew S, Owner at Lovage Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

Thanks for visiting Lovage bistro and thanks for the beautiful comments. It's great that our passion is seen from our guests.thanks and see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (385)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

294 - 298 of 385 reviews

Reviewed May 11, 2014

The food at Lovage was divine. The home made panciotti are to die for and the Vahlrona chocolate was an amazing finish to a very special lunch! Service is very good with excellent advice from the sommelier! Definitely deserves another visit... or two.. or three.. or.....

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Valerie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew S, Owner at Lovage Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

Thanks for visiting Lovage bistro and thanks for the beautiful comments. It's great that our passion is seen from our guests.thanks and see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

This more or less recently launched restaurant will surely gain popularity. Food was excellent as was the service. We were a party of 10 and everyone had the same comments. I had wanted to try out the pork belly and it was lovely. I tasted the duck and the tuna and both were mouthwatering. Well done.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank KenAbela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew S, Owner at Lovage Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

Thanks for visiting Lovage bistro and thanks for the beautiful comments. It's great that our passion is seen from our guests.thanks and see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Went to this restaurant two weeks ago the food was lovely really recommend the steaks amazing it's a little hard to find I live in the area and it took us awhile to find it, it was such a pity we were the only two people there the attention we got from the owners was great beautiful restaurant decor really nice you need to find this little gem

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank sheila g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew S, Owner at Lovage Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

Thanks for visiting Lovage bistro and thanks for the beautiful comments. It's great that our passion is seen from our guests.thanks and see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

Visited this place on a weekday evening with my wife for our anniversary. The restaurant was practically empty for most of the evening and we were alone during the last few minutes as well. However, do not see this as a bad sign. On the contrary, it made for an even more relaxing evening. I could see why some customers complained that the place was too noisy but it's nothing that a few sound-absorbing curtains, and a rug wouldn't fix. We find the ambience very original with a hotel-like reception, an overall modern setting and a cosy environment that isn't harsh at all. The tables are well spaced out allowing for privacy and space to navigate pushchair a, wheelchairs and what have you. Not much to say about the service except that it is just right: professional and not over-friendly. One gets the impression that they know their stuff here. On to the food (and drink). First we were presented with a raviolo al tartufo each compliments of the chef. This was simply divine and definitely made with the real stuff as the sensation was out of this world. For starters I had chicken liver vol au vent while she had champagne-battered-prawns with Parma ham. These are highly original and very tasty. For mains I had rolled pork belly, which was very nicely cooked, while she had the king prawns: not just one or two but a whole row of them staring right back at her. These were also very good. We had original home-made desserts. Mine was good except that it could have been a little less crispy. Indeed, this is my only qualm. The wine list is comprehensive and some half-bottles are available as well. Is this place expensive? If you want cheap volumes of food, go to a generic buffet dinner that is served in many hotel restaurants in the area! However, if you want to go for something special or treat your loved one, this is definitely your place. The food is moderately priced but if you go the whole way with a 3 or 4 course experience and a pricey bottle of wine, expect the bill to reflect this but congratulate yourself for having dined in such a fine restaurant!

1  Thank krowm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew S, Owner at Lovage Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

Thanks for visiting Lovage bistro and thanks for the beautiful comments. It's great that our passion is seen from our guests.thanks and see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lovage Bistro also viewed

Qawra, Island of Malta
 
Bugibba, Island of Malta
Qawra, Island of Malta
 

Been to Lovage Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing