We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem.”
Review of Lovage Bistro

Lovage Bistro
Ranked #2 of 100 Restaurants in Qawra
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Found this little gem whilst walking up a side street and was very glad we took the detour. Very clean and fresh, young but polite and attentive staff. Food was just as I like it (for a change). It was not to expensive and deserved a descent tip. Would certainly recommend.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank George-D-C-05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew S, Owner at Lovage Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

Thanks for visiting Lovage bistro and thanks for the beautiful comments. It's great that our passion is seen from our guests.thanks and see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (378)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

303 - 307 of 378 reviews

Reviewed November 24, 2013

Whilst holidaying in Malta we took the time to visit Lovage Bistro and we were so happy that we did. The restaurant opened July 2013 so everything was very new and very modern. A lot of thought and attention to detail has gone into developing this restaurant from the decor, to design, to ambience and much more. My partner and I ordered two courses each and struggled to finish our mains because the serving sizes were rather large. The wines being offered were quiet extensive and I would like to compliment the owners on their selections. We found the food and wine to be very reasonably priced and would recommend this restaurant to anyone wanting first class cuisine in Malta.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Maria T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew S, Owner at Lovage Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

Thanks for visiting Lovage bistro and thanks for the beautiful comments. It's great that our passion is seen from our guests.thanks and see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We had a pleasant evening in this very nice restaurant . Excellent food and wine. Friendly helpful staff. Well worth a visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jeanette187441
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew S, Owner at Lovage Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

Thanks for visiting Lovage bistro and thanks for the beautiful comments. It's great that our passion is seen from our guests.thanks and see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

we went there twice in a week but that was partly because an offer they had if you bought a bottle of local wine, the next time you go you get one free. which we did! the food was excellent and the staff warm and friendly. The salmon was wonderful good size portion and also the risotto.
the wine excellent. the only thing we didn't like was they had a large TV on with the sound turned down. spoilt the ambiance somewhat but well worth a visit!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank john b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew S, Owner at Lovage Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

Thanks for visiting Lovage bistro and thanks for the beautiful comments. It's great that our passion is seen from our guests.thanks and see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

What a shame! Almost the perfect restaurant but with one major Achilles heel. I cannot really find much to fault with the menu, wine list, service, quality or presentation but the ambiance is just awful. The hard surfaces all around make it incredibly noisy and canteen-like so any noise is magnified dramatically. It wasn't helped on this occasion by our coinciding with a large party who were terribly noisy and distracting. I had the salmon and my dinner companion had the rack of lamb. Both were nicely presented and delicious. We both chose the cheesecake for dessert and unfortunately this was baked and rather heavy; cheesecake is much better for being light and fluffy.

Thank Nina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew S, Owner at Lovage Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

Thanks for visiting Lovage bistro and thanks for the beautiful comments. It's great that our passion is seen from our guests.thanks and see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lovage Bistro also viewed

Qawra, Island of Malta
 
Bugibba, Island of Malta
 
Bugibba, Island of Malta
Bugibba, Island of Malta
 

Been to Lovage Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing