We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, atmosphere and service!”

The Flora - Asian Fusion Restaurant
Ranked #32 of 100 Restaurants in Qawra
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $20
Cuisines: Sushi, Asian, Chinese, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Flora is a recently opened, family-run Asian Fusion restaurant the only one of its kind in Malta, allowing you to savour cuisine from different Asian country- China,Thailand and Japan. We serve the finest Roast Pork Cantonese Style (Cha Siu) in the Maltese Islands. For those who are into spicy food, Red or Green Curry Thai Style will definitely leave your taste buds satisfied. At “The Flora” we also serve a diversity of sushi dishes,Japanese food epitomizing healthy eating and great taste. All dishes are cooked from the finest and freshest ingredients by our dedicated and highly experienced chefs. We are passionate about what we do and committed to put a smile on each and every one of our clients. Visit us at our modern and spacious restaurant “The Flora”.Great food at great prices. Our innovative FLORA TEA will leave you mesmerized. It comes in a small compressed jasmine/green tea ball and once it is put into hot water , in a matter of few minutes it will open and blossom into a flower!! Don’t believe? Come and see with your own eyes! The tea is not just about the look but also its taste is refreshing and its benefits for your system. Menus can be e-mailed upon request. [To find us- we are opposite the DIVING shop next to the SAN ANTONIO HOTEL]
Naxxar, Malta
2 reviews
“Great food, atmosphere and service!”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Loved the decor, quite a nice change from the usual red, stuffy chinese places. The food was amazing and the staff very helpful! Would not hesitate to visit again!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank Clare_C_92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XiXi H, Manager at The Flora - Asian Fusion Restaurant, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Hi Clare, Thank you for writing feedback on our restaurant! We appreciate that very much!
Yes, its true we are different from the usual red chinese restaurant [we do get that quite often]
it adds the value of today's modern concept dining experience.
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed it and hope to see you more in the future!
Bring your friends/family along with you and share your experience with them.

Thank you
James.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    57
    13
    11
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“The best chinese restaurant on the island and hope it stays that way”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

I have been multiple times to this restaurant, and the food is spectacular. I know this may sound like on of those reviews but really its not. The duck is cooked to perfection, all the Chinese dishes are Amazing ( it is a fusion restaurant and I will dissect it cuisine by cuisine).

The service is spectacular as well, at times, the main patrons are keen to serve and provide excellent service. However I did go once when the patrons were not available and two waitresses did an atrocious job at the start but later picked up ground. I did complain and it appeared they were new so fair enough.

The sushi used to be mediocre, I also complained ( your probably not surprised by now), new sushi chef, new sushi which is amazing. So now I have my Chinese and sushi down.

Moving on to the Thai, the Thai dishes are also spectacular but quite out of the ordinary from what you would expect from Thai dishes. Furthermore they do not have Thai rice which is a shame. The Thai dishes do leave a bit to be desired but I take them and love them, the presentation can be improved.

To be fair this is my bi weekly Sinful dining spot, I cannot recommend this enough and other restaurant in Malta should take a page out of this restaurant. So If you are looking for chinese, and lets say your in Gozo or sicily, it is definatley worth the drive.

Prices are reasonable, I have recommended this to at least 50 people, and they have all highly recommended it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
1 Thank Markfm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarxien, Malta
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very Good Food, excellent service!”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Very Good food, in an enjoyable and relaxing atmosphere. Serving staff were very nice and helpful. Reason why I have only given 4 stars is the lack of toilet paper in the restrooms. Otherwise, dining experience was excellent. Ask for VIP card so you can get good dsicounts on your next visits.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin K F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XiXi H, Manager at The Flora - Asian Fusion Restaurant, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Hi Kevin。Thank you for your time writing this review and giving us your feedback.
I am happy to hear your first time experience with us was good and made your anniversary night running smooth.
However, I am deeply sorry and I apologize for any inconvenience about lack of toilet paper in the restrooms. We usually check the toilets' cleanliness and toilet paper before opening hours, but unfortunately some clients they like to use BIG amounts on drying up their hands hence finishing the roll very quickly and the staff does not check inside the toilets. Now, that you mentioned it , we will find a solution for it. Such as leaving a spare roll inside or something better. But I thank you for bringing up this issue.
Thank you again and hope to see you again soon!

Thank You
James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bugibba, null, Malta
1 review
“superb food”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

a beautiful experience where the decor is very chic, d staff really well friendly, d food wellll mmmmmm are there words to describe it......lovely, mouthwatering, highly recommend it. if u want to impress this is the place to go.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leacars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XiXi H, Manager at The Flora - Asian Fusion Restaurant, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam.

Thank you for your time spent on writing this wonderful review!! We really appreciated that =]
We will always keep our standards high and also keeping clients like you satisfied and happy whenever they come in again and again.. :D

Hope to see you again soon and bring friends along to impress them too! :D

Thank you
James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“AMAZING”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

OK this place is just amazing the food the service the decor all amazing! You must go there.

The staff:
Gracious and kind and attentive without being intrusive also with good suggestions for us weary travelers

Decor/ Ambiance:
Very chic and comfortable would be a great place for an intimate couples dinner or a party of 20 this place has it all for the different parties

Food:

Pad thai- very good but the portion could have been slightly larger, peanut sauce was very delicious

Platter A - a great dish to get if you want a little of everything. the satays were perfectly cooked and the shrimp crackers were not at all too salty

The BEST dish the duck-

ok it was so good we went back two nights later to buy a whole duck. ok so the duck was cooked perfectly not too oily and not to dry the duck sauce was a good mix of savory and sweet and the wrappers and cucumber slices that it came with made the little duck wraps we made just amazing!

Tea-
We also got the mayflower flowering tea so good and made us all feel relaxed


Price- VERY AFFORDABLE

SO GO GO GO GO GO!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank numero u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Flora - Asian Fusion Restaurant also viewed

Qawra, Island of Malta
Qawra, Island of Malta
 
Qawra, Island of Malta
Bugibba, Island of Malta
 
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 

Been to The Flora - Asian Fusion Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing