We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good food”
Review of Wee Five

Wee Five
Ranked #26 of 100 Restaurants in Qawra
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“good food”
Reviewed July 12, 2014

Ate several times at the wee 5,great food, great atmosphere recommend the spare ribs and rabbit, the five brothers make you feel very welcome. looking forward to goin back next year. sue geordie and peter

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    29
    8
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Millom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise”
Reviewed July 9, 2014

There were 8 of us eating,ranging from 11 to over 70, we'd just called in on spec and it was no problem 3 tables pushed together and we settled in.
For a change we all decided to eat from the set menu and what a pleasant surprise.
Every meal was cooked perfectly, served smoothly and bill didn't leave us gasping breath.
We'll be back next year.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ProfAkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsingborg, Sweden
Level Contributor
179 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Good meal but nothing special....”
Reviewed July 9, 2014

My husband and I, not wanting to venture too far from the hotel our first night in Qawra, came upon this restaurant. He was hungry for shrimp and I for octopus, so it was a quick choice.

The service was fast and the proprietors very friendly. The menu has very many choices and both the usual entrées as well as some Maltese specialties.We were brought bread and butter while our food was being prepared. I had ordered a glas of the special home-made cherry wine and even though it was a bit too sweet for me, I enjoyed it as an aperitif.

Our first reaction when the food came was that the portions were very large. The second reaction was that my octopus was cooked properly, but cold. The third was that the king prawns that my husband ordered were still in the shell with lots of garlic sauce on top of them which made the peeling of the shells messy and difficult. The steamed veggies that were served with the meals were bland and flavorless. You could say that we had loads to eat, but the food was not up to standards flavorwise and the shrimp, whose shells were extremely soft, were difficult to eat.

When on vacation by the sea, my husband and I both enjoy sitting outside in the warm fresh air and being seated in the cellar dining room was not something we wanted to do again. The restaurant is OK, especially if you are hungry and can't find anywhere else, but we will not be going there again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MissDRM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Try local dishes.”
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Once again we've had fabulous meals at the we5 a great family atmosphere.Try the local dishes,Rabbit is not to be missed best on Malta.Great value however more than that are the five brothers who make your visit very welcoming thank you to you all.See all soon.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank LesandCarole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“lovely place ,lovely owners.”
Reviewed July 2, 2014

I can't speak highly enough of this place,its a true hidden gem,the food never lets us down. The owners are great and very friendly.Can't wait to go back.We bought a bottle of thier home made wine to bring home....it got back safely and is very potent...and very good.We'll be back soon.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Anniebla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wee Five also viewed

Qawra, Island of Malta
Qawra, Island of Malta
 
St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta
Qawra, Island of Malta
 

Been to Wee Five? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing