We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great English breakfast!”
Review of Welcome inn - CLOSED

Welcome inn
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great English breakfast!”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Lovely little 'pub' that serves up a fantastic English breakfast at a great price. Lovely bacon! Also had an evening meal here. Personally prefer to eat more traditional Maltese food, however, this is great for a more homely English meal! Pleasant and welcoming staff - as the name might suggest!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Claudine126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    3
    4
    0
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant!”
Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

After coming back to England from a week in Malta, the one place that stood out the most was the Welcome Inn. The prices were reasonable and the good was brilliant.

The staff were extremely friendly, always smiling and we're very talkative, making me and my partner feeling really comfortable to sit and drink there.

Most places we'd been too wasn't showing the football game we wanted on the Saturday afternoon however without even asking, it was offered if we wanted the game on as we were wearing our football shirts which was a bonus.

Definitely one to remember, recommend and return too!

Helpful?
Thank Jasmin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qawra, Malta
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“brilliant atmosphere”
Reviewed February 11, 2014

the new owners Eddie and Jackie have made this bar extremely welcoming and it lives up to its name,the general atmosphere is great and the sunday dinners are excellent i have eaten sunday lunch on many occasions and been extremely satisfied with my food & service if we wanted more of something then it was no trouble, its very popular with repeat bookings every week, the food served at anytime comes with no complaints from the standard or service, would recommend this bar and restaurant to anyone.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank linda d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qawra, Malta
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Disgusting !”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

I went there for a Sunday roast today 09.02.14, as soon as i got there i asked myself what have i done ? the place is in a state and did not look very welcoming at all, I ordered beef and the meat was dry , only one Yorkshire pudding and asked for more and was told that i cant have any, the woman with long black hair was coming and going from the bar to the kitchen with a large glass of red wine in her hand trying to serve food which i think is professionsl, i had a long black hair in my food, i asked them if this could be changed and the answer was that there are no roast dinners left to replace it and you get what you pay for and i had to pay for it regardless of my complaint! I would not recommend this pub at all and i think that the health and safety people need to have a look at this as it does not look to any standards the kitchen staff do not wear their hair up or even cover it with a net, the table cloths are sticky where they have not been cleaned from previous diners! Terrible and Disgusting :/

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank IDontLie2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannah G, Owner at Welcome inn, responded to this review, April 29, 2015
Hi so first of all thank you for your review.

As of June 2014 I have been working at the welcome Inn and I'm now co-owner and I can assure the bar is not disgusting. I would ask you to come back and have a look for yourself. The bar has a friendly, warm atmosphere and we serve fresh pub food on a daily basis.

Please do come back and see for yourself.

Regards

Hannah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“FAB ...... A real must when in Malta”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

What can I say....... We stumbled across this little place by accident due to TOOOOOO much local Cisk beer and an ageing bladder, but Holy Smoke, once we got in there, we didn't wanna leave......so didn't.
You really do have to go to this place to feel the true warmth of its owners. Eddie and Jackie (the owners) are amongst the friendliest people that we have ever met and nothing is too much trouble.
Even the local folk who frequent the place are super friendly and love a natter with visitors. Hats off to: Pierre, Sarah and Larry........ to the very Mad Rodney who had came directly from Mars. And to Derek, who is the absolute host of all info needed to survive a week in Malta, a true new found friend that I will look forward to seeing again.

The food is way way beyond what you would expect from a little pub that's off the beaten track and much better than just about any other meal we had. Cooked to perfection and served with a smile every time. Jackie takes pride in her cooking and it show's. It's proper honest cooking that just makes you want to eat there again and again. Please make sure you let her know if you enjoy what you are served, she works incredibly hard and deserves praise between every mouthful. If you can get a table for Sunday roast........TAKE IT

Eddie is a true gent and made my wife and I feel at ease from the minute we walked through the door. Another new found friend and def on the Chrimbo card list.

We are already making plans to return...partly because we liked Malta, but mostly because we had a great time with these guys.

A Diamond in the sandstone !!!!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kendoit2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Welcome inn also viewed

Qawra, Island of Malta
Qawra, Island of Malta
 
Qawra, Island of Malta
Qawra, Island of Malta
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing