We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel and location but poor facilities”
Review of Sunflower Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sunflower Hotel
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Qawra
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed in Sunflower hotel in June 2013. The hotel had great location as it is on the side from most tourist places so it is nice and quiet. I found most staff nice and friendly although there are some exceptions. Housekeeping girls are non-English speaking. Therefore, it is hard to communicate if you need anything. We just had to get in touch with reception. Reception girls look tired and overloaded with work and luck simple smile on their faces. We managed to have dinner in the restaurant and it was very nice. On the other side, breakfast disappointed me. There is no free hot breakfast, except coffee and toast. There is a charge for cooked breakfast. Lastly, but most importantly the air conditioning is a nightmare. it is only switched on for short periods of time during the day. One day at 7am we woke up in 32C. We complained but nothing was done as the management realises that it is the overall problem for the hotel.

I would come back to Sunflower Hotel but not in the summer months.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rafaelmos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunrouteSantana, Director of Sales at Sunflower Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Dear Rafaelmos,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel on TripAdvisor. I have noted your remarks and will be sharing your review with my colleagues on the management team in view of improving our product.
In the eantime we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel. Please do write to me so that I will personally look after your booking.

Best regards
Carmen
Carmen Zammit
Sales and Marketing manager
Hotel Santana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (820)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

299 - 305 of 820 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2013

We arrived at this hotel in the early hours of the morning only to be told our booking had not been confirmed by Low cost holidays !!!! not the hotels fault but they quickly found us a temporary room for the night in the hotel.The next morning we were allocated a superior room with wonderful air con (the previous rooms did not work) We really could not fault the hotel, and the staff,especially reception ,Thank you for your help. The hotel is a bit of a walk to the main areas but not really a problem for us.The hotel is very clean and well maintained the pool area is great too.Malta isn't for everyone but we love it and will return again,just not with Low cost holidays or Ryanair (another nightmare)

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anniebla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunrouteSantana, Director of Sales at Sunflower Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Dear Lesley T.,

Having read your recent review on TripAdvisor I was so happy to note that you enjoyed your recent stay with us at Hotel Sunflower. Thanks you for your most favourable comments.

I also note with pleasure that you wil be returning to Malta and our hotel in the coming future. Do let us know if you need any assistance with your booking.

In the meantime
Best regards
Carmen
Carmen Zammit
Sales and Marketing manager
Hotel Sunflower

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Great hotel, helpful staff, good choice of lovely food and very friendly restaurant staff. The pool is brilliant and was not packed with people fighting for sunbeds. Would recommend. Very clean rooms.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank taramac57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunrouteSantana, Director of Sales at Sunflower Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2013

Dear Taramac 57,

I am so happy to note that you enjoyed your recent stay at the Sunflower Hotel. Many thanks for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor, for your most favorable comments and for recommending our hotel.
We hope that you will soon be able to return to Malta and to our hotel and are available to assist you with any future booking.

In the meantime
Best regards
Carmen Zammit
sales and Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

My husband and I recently returned from a holiday in Malta. We stayed at the Sunflower Hotel which is in between Qawra and Bugibba.
The hotel was very clean and the staff were very helpful and friendly from our arrival until we left to return home.
Breakfast is buffet style with plenty of choice from cereals, various breads, cake, meats, cheese and fruit. There is also yoghurts, jam, marmalade, honey and chocolate spread. Teas, coffee and juices were also available.
As we were staying just B&B, we were offered a deal for having evening meals there, we chose to have 3 evening meals there. These again were buffet style with starter, mains and dessert. The starters were a choice of various salads, soup and usually a pasta dish. Mains were a choice of something from the carvery, a fish and at least 2 other dishes along with potatoes and seasonal veg. There were also the salads and pasta dish from the starters to add as well.
Desserts were usually a choice of melon, ice cream and various cakes.
You could have as much or little of things as you wished.

The hotel has 2 pools: 1 on the roof terrace with a bar for drinks and snacks and 1 on the ground floor in the hotel, my husband and I only briefly visited these and they both seemed okay.

The rooms are serviced daily and always left clean and tidy. They have air-conditioning which is very good especially if you have one of the rooms at the front of hotel as these get the sun in the afternoon until it goes down. A safe in the room can be hired and also a kettle and cups can be hired, both from reception.

Also available from reception are postcards of the hotel, stamps and bus tickets (the 7 day ones are very good value if you want to travel around the island).

I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to be near enough to pubs, bars, restaurants, cafes and the sea but not on top of them - they are all about 10 mins walk away.

We will be staying here again when we visit Malta, this hotel and the staff helped make our holiday more enjoyable.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front get sun for most of the afternoon and evening so can be very warm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Siobain N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunrouteSantana, Director of Sales at Sunflower Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2013

Dear Siobahn N.,

I was so happy to read your detailed review and note that you really enjoyed your most recent stay at the Sunflower Hotel. Many thanks for sharing your experience, for your most favourable comments and for recommending our hotel.

Do let us know if you plan to return to Malta and our hotel. We will most gladly assist you with your future booking.

In the meantime
Best regards from Malta
Carmen
Carmen Zammit
Sales and Marketing manager
Hotel Sunflower

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Stayed there for 8 nights and as 3 star hotels go it was very good. The room was clean and there was plenty of space for two. There was air conditioning and a safe available for a small daily fee. It is within walking distance of shops, the seafront and bars and restaurants as well as the bus terminal. The breakfast buffet was well stocked although I would have preferred more fresh fruit rather than tinned. A full English was available for €3 but we didn’t bother. There seemed to be plenty of people staying but it was quiet at night. The staff were friendly and helpful. We spent one afternoon by the pool and we were happy enough but it would be too small if a number of families were up there.
If you’re looking for a clean, quiet and well situated hotel then this fits the bill.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tt O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunrouteSantana, Director of Sales at Sunflower Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Dear Tto,

I was glad to read your review about Hotel Sunflower on TripAdvisor and note that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Thank you for sharing your experience, for your favourable comments and for recommending our hotel.

We do hope that you will soon have the opportunity to return to malta and our hotel and promise you our availability to help you with any future booking.

Best regards
Carmen
Carmen Zammit
Sales and Marketing Manager
Hotel Sunflower

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We spent very nice time in Malta. Generally was OK everything, except rent a car, but this is not hotel business.

Thank you. Thank you. Thank you. Thank you. Thank you. Thank you. Thank you. Thank you. Thank you. Thank you. Thank you. Thank you. Thank you. Thank you. Thank you. Thank you. Thank you. Thank you. Thank you. Thank you.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com
1  Thank Klemen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunrouteSantana, Director of Sales at Sunflower Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2013

Dear Klemen K.,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel on TripAdvisor and for your favourable comments. I am pleased to note that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and hope that you will soon be able to return to Malta and to our hotel.

Best regards
Carmen
Carmen Zammit
Sales and Marketing Manager
Hotel Sunflower

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Stayed at the Sunflower for 7 nights in July 2013. The room was spacious and clean with a large bathroom with both a bath and powerful shower. Air conditioning and a balcony were also provided at no extra cost.The pool and sun terrace on the roof with poolside bar were an ideal place to relax, the pool was perhaps a little small but nobody is there for serious swimming, its more than enough for a relaxing holiday.The staff were all very helpful and friendly throughout. Nothing was too much trouble, wine coolers were provided to drink our own wine in the room and room service was daily. We were able to keep the room for longer on our last day for only 5 euros- a real bargain! The hotel is in a quiet area yet only a few minutes walk from the seafront and a number of bars and restaurants. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sarah894
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunrouteSantana, Director of Sales at Sunflower Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Dear Sarah 894,

We are pleased to note that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Thank you for sharing your experience and for recommending Hotel Sunflower on TripAdvisor.

We hope to welcome you back to Malta and to our hotel soon and we are available to assist you with any future booking.

Best regards
Carmen
Carmen Zammit
Sales and Marketing Manager
Hotel Sunflower

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Qawra
0.3 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,692 reviews
0.3 mi away
Relax Inn Hotel
Relax Inn Hotel
#5 of 13 in Bugibba
497 reviews
0.4 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Soreda Hotel
Soreda Hotel
#4 of 15 in Qawra
2,102 reviews
3.1 mi away
Pergola Hotel & Spa
Pergola Hotel & Spa
#4 of 12 in Mellieha
1,791 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Santana
Hotel Santana
#4 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunflower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunflower Hotel

Address: 22 Triq Garcia de Toledo, Qawra, Island of Malta SPB 1061, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Qawra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Qawra
Price Range: $26 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunflower Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3-star Sunflower Hotel is located in Qawra, within the resort of St. Paul's Bay, in the north of Malta. It is just 800 meters away from its sister hotel, the 4-star Hotel Santana, and only a ten minute walk away from the picturesque 2.5 km promenade, a small man made sandy beach, various rocky beaches, public transport, shops, bars, restaurants, a Casino, a multiplex cinema, the national aquarium and various other recreational facilities. Despite its modern exterior, the hotel's interior design reflects traditional Maltese architectural characteristics through the use of Maltese limestone. The Sunflower Hotel is tastefully designed and offers most of the facilities found in a 4-star hotel. Since the hotel opened its doors in 2003, it has gained a reputation for personalized attention and enjoys a strong base of repeat customers. The resort of St. Paul's Bay is made up of Qawra, Bugibba and the village of St. Paul's Bay. The resort is linked through a 2.5km promenade which affords it with stunning coastal walks and plenty of small bays in which one can swim. The resort has numerous restaurants, cafés, bars and shops. In Qawra one also finds a casino, the national aquarium, a man made sandy beach and a bus station offering regular bus service to all parts of the Maltese islands. Hotel facilities include a 24 hour reception, buffet restaurant and outdoor terrace, 24 hour bar, an attractively designed roof top pool (May to October) and sunbathing terrace, both enjoying open sea and country views, a swim-up pool bar (May to October), an indoor pool which is heated in winter, a treatments/massage room and also a games room. Free Wi-Fi is also available throughout the hotel. The hotel is centrally heated during winter and air-conditioned during summer. Hair dressing services are available in the privacy of the rooms. Laundry Services as well as Room Service are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sunflower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunflower Hotel Qawra
Sunflower Hotel Malta/Qawra
Sunflower Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing