We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“3 star” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunflower Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sunflower Hotel
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Qawra
Sligo, Ireland
2 reviews
“3 star”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

Stayed there for 8 nights and as 3 star hotels go it was very good. The room was clean and there was plenty of space for two. There was air conditioning and a safe available for a small daily fee. It is within walking distance of shops, the seafront and bars and restaurants as well as the bus terminal. The breakfast buffet was well stocked although I would have preferred more fresh fruit rather than tinned. A full English was available for €3 but we didn’t bother. There seemed to be plenty of people staying but it was quiet at night. The staff were friendly and helpful. We spent one afternoon by the pool and we were happy enough but it would be too small if a number of families were up there.
If you’re looking for a clean, quiet and well situated hotel then this fits the bill.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tt O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunrouteSantana, Director of Sales at Sunflower Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Tto,

I was glad to read your review about Hotel Sunflower on TripAdvisor and note that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Thank you for sharing your experience, for your favourable comments and for recommending our hotel.

We do hope that you will soon have the opportunity to return to malta and our hotel and promise you our availability to help you with any future booking.

Best regards
Carmen
Carmen Zammit
Sales and Marketing Manager
Hotel Sunflower
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    276
    191
    64
    24
See reviews for
97
372
58
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Malta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

We spent very nice time in Malta. Generally was OK everything, except rent a car, but this is not hotel business.

Thank you. Thank you. Thank you. Thank you. Thank you. Thank you. Thank you. Thank you. Thank you. Thank you. Thank you. Thank you. Thank you. Thank you. Thank you. Thank you. Thank you. Thank you. Thank you. Thank you.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Klemen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunrouteSantana, Director of Sales at Sunflower Hotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Dear Klemen K.,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel on TripAdvisor and for your favourable comments. I am pleased to note that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and hope that you will soon be able to return to Malta and to our hotel.

Best regards
Carmen
Carmen Zammit
Sales and Marketing Manager
Hotel Sunflower
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

Stayed at the Sunflower for 7 nights in July 2013. The room was spacious and clean with a large bathroom with both a bath and powerful shower. Air conditioning and a balcony were also provided at no extra cost.The pool and sun terrace on the roof with poolside bar were an ideal place to relax, the pool was perhaps a little small but nobody is there for serious swimming, its more than enough for a relaxing holiday.The staff were all very helpful and friendly throughout. Nothing was too much trouble, wine coolers were provided to drink our own wine in the room and room service was daily. We were able to keep the room for longer on our last day for only 5 euros- a real bargain! The hotel is in a quiet area yet only a few minutes walk from the seafront and a number of bars and restaurants. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sarah894
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunrouteSantana, Director of Sales at Sunflower Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Sarah 894,

We are pleased to note that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Thank you for sharing your experience and for recommending Hotel Sunflower on TripAdvisor.

We hope to welcome you back to Malta and to our hotel soon and we are available to assist you with any future booking.

Best regards
Carmen
Carmen Zammit
Sales and Marketing Manager
Hotel Sunflower
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tewkesbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

We were welcomed to the hotel by a very helpful and friendly reception team who checked us in and showed us to our room, The Room and the rest of the hotel appeared to be very well looked after and kept clean at all times despite being very busy during the week we stayed there, The buffet breakfast couldn't of been any better - all food was fresh and of good quality, Staff were always very friendly and helpful. Having previously lived and worked in the hotel industry in Malta we knew what to look out for and honestly for a 3 star hotel it couldn't possibly be any better and would highly recommend to anyone. We will definately be returning to stay in the hotel in the near future!

Many thanks to all the team at the Sunflower hotel for the excellent service.

Room Tip: Our room was at the rear of the property, Never encountered any noise issues or other issues what so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank olliewickers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunrouteSantana, Director of Sales at Sunflower Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Olloewickers,

Thank you for reviewing Hotel Sunflower on Tripadvisor and for your most favourable comments. We are happy to note that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you will be returning to Malta and to our hotel in the near future. Do let us know if we can be of service with your booking.

Best regards
Carmen
Carmen Zammit
Sales and Marketing Manager
Hotel Sunflower
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Had an amazing trip in this hotel. There was a wide selection of delicious food for all three meals of the day. Staff were all very helpful and welcoming. The room was spacious and had a balcony. The hotel had 2 pools as well as a games room providing lots of entertainment on site.

Room Tip: They were all very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sophie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunrouteSantana, Director of Sales at Sunflower Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Sophie G.,

I was pleased to note that you enjoyed your recent stay with us at Hotel Sunflower. Thank you for sharing your experience by reviewing our hotel on TripAdvisor and for your most favourable comments regarding the food, our staff and the hotel itself.
We do hope that you will soon be able to return to Malta and to our hotel. Do let us know if you require any assistance with any future booking at our hotel.

In the meantime
Best regards
Carmen
Carmen Zammit
Sales and Marketing Manager
Hotel Sunflower
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

We had a very pleasant stay. Its an ideal base, out of the way but walking distance of anything you need. Its a 10 min walk to the bus terminal which will get you anywhere you want to go in Malta. Same distance to the sea front with plenty of shops, bars, restaurants on the way! Hotel was clean, friendly staff, good facilities. Only had the breakfast a few times which was basic but always ok. Wasn't in hotel much to use facilities, used rooftop pool once which was very nice. Room was spacious,good size bathroom. We were on 6th floor with good views of the bay from balcony. Only thing I would improve was the aircon which isn't great and theres no fridge in room so no way to keep cold drinks.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kate C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunrouteSantana, Director of Sales at Sunflower Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Kate C.,

Thank you for reviewing Hotel Sunflower on TripAdvisor and for your favourable comments.

I am pleased to note that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you will soon retun to our hotel. Do let me know if we can in any way assist you with a future booking.

Best regards
Carmen

Carmen Zammit
Sales and Marketing Manager
Hotel Sunflower
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke - on Trent
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

just got back from Malta, stayed at the sunflower for 10 nights. room was clean and spacious. Although the beds are a bit hard and noisy! We found the staff very friendly and always willing to help when asked. we only ate the breakfast which was the usual continental selection but was always fresh and well stocked. roof top pool was ideal, clean and not to busy. My only gripe was no fridge in the room, so no way to cool water or any other liquids!. we had a room on the 6th floor that was at the side so could see the med from our balcony. Overall I would recommend this hotel as a base when sight seeing around the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunrouteSantana, Director of Sales at Sunflower Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Markjan,

Thank you for reviewing Hotel Sunflower on TripAdvisor and for your favourable comments. I am please to note that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the staff friendly and helpful.
I will be sharing your comments with our management team in view of improving our product.

In the meantime we hope that you will soon return to Malta and our hotel. Should you require assistance with a future booking please do let us know and we will gladly help you.

Best regards
Carmen
Carmen Zammit
Sales and Marketing Manager
Hotel Sunflower
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Qawra
0.3 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,392 reviews
0.4 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
0.3 mi away
Soreda Hotel
Soreda Hotel
#4 of 16 in Qawra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Santana
Hotel Santana
#4 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,345 reviews
0.5 mi away
Park Lane Aparthotel
Park Lane Aparthotel
#1 of 16 in Qawra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 874 reviews
0.6 mi away
Relax Inn Hotel
Relax Inn Hotel
#3 of 13 in Bugibba
3.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunflower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunflower Hotel

Property: Sunflower Hotel
Address: 22 Triq Garcia de Toledo, Qawra, Island of Malta SPB 1061, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Qawra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Qawra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunflower Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3-star Sunflower Hotel is located in Qawra, within the resort of St. Paul's Bay, in the north of Malta. It is just 800 meters away from its sister hotel, the 4-star Hotel Santana, and only a ten minute walk away from the picturesque 2.5 km promenade, a small man made sandy beach, various rocky beaches, public transport, shops, bars, restaurants, a Casino, a multiplex cinema, the national aquarium and various other recreational facilities. Despite its modern exterior, the hotel's interior design reflects traditional Maltese architectural characteristics through the use of Maltese limestone. The Sunflower Hotel is tastefully designed and offers most of the facilities found in a 4-star hotel. Since the hotel opened its doors in 2003, it has gained a reputation for personalized attention and enjoys a strong base of repeat customers. The resort of St. Paul's Bay is made up of Qawra, Bugibba and the village of St. Paul's Bay. The resort is linked through a 2.5km promenade which affords it with stunning coastal walks and plenty of small bays in which one can swim. The resort has numerous restaurants, cafés, bars and shops. In Qawra one also finds a casino, the national aquarium, a man made sandy beach and a bus station offering regular bus service to all parts of the Maltese islands. Hotel facilities include a 24 hour reception, buffet restaurant and outdoor terrace, 24 hour bar, an attractively designed roof top pool (May to October) and sunbathing terrace, both enjoying open sea and country views, a swim-up pool bar (May to October), an indoor pool which is heated in winter, a treatments/massage room and also a games room. Free Wi-Fi is also available throughout the hotel. The hotel is centrally heated during winter and air-conditioned during summer. Hair dressing services are available in the privacy of the rooms. Laundry Services as well as Room Service are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, Travelocity, HostelWorld and Expedia so you can book your Sunflower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunflower Hotel Qawra
Sunflower Hotel Malta/Qawra
Sunflower Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing