We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Place was let down by the students”
Review of Bella Vista Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bella Vista Hotel
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Qawra
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“The Place was let down by the students”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Just got back from a seven night stay and although the hotel and staff were great a LOT of peoples holiday were ruined by some very unruly French students. These teenagers thought it very amusing to stand on there balconies and spit on guests who were enjoying a drink outside. They took over the swimming pool when they went in it forcing other guests with little children to get out for fear of getting pushed about. They also found it great fun to run up and down the corridors at 4am waking everyone up.
It was a nightmare having to share a hotel with them !! The entertainment was geared up for them in the form of MTV on the tv. Not really my choice of evening entertainment on holiday although to be fair one night there was a singer and one night Karoke. The hotel even provided a disco for the students one night , with mini buses full of 15/ 16 year olds turning up from other hotels .Would have been nice if they had provided a disco for the rest of us guest some of whom had saved all year for a holiday.
Overall the hotel is ok , nice and clean, good food, not too bad location and mostly great polite staff, and I'm sure if you visited outside August it would be lovely ..

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tracey-Marcin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaltaCorrection, Manager at Bella Vista Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
dear guest, we thank you for your feedback.We appreciate your remarks about our hotel and the staff.We apologise about the behaviour of a few of the students. We do our best to ensure they behave all the time , but unfortunately you get those few who enjoy being funny.We take severe action against these misbehaved youngsters and a number of them were sent home early, with extra exenses for their parents. We never organised discos for the students.Some evenings the schools organised activities in the hall for the students, that way they were kept away from the lounge area.We only have our students in the hall and twice a week the hall was used by students from our holiday complex in bugibba, and students were brought over in our van , and not in mini buses.We thank you for your nice comments and again apologise if some things were not perfect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,753 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    460
    442
    322
    299
See reviews for
319
950
76
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (531)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Just back from a 7 day stay at this lovely hotel. After staying in another hotel for the first three days of our holiday with no sleep due to noise and no air conditioning, this hotel was a very welcome sight. We had a really nice relaxing holiday and I would definitely stay here again if I go back to Malta.

We had a lovely room with a pool view, which was cleaned every day and fresh towels provided. The room was lovely and cool with hairdryer and fridge provided. It was in a great location, quite near to Bugibba with courtesy bus provided, and also very near to bus stops to take you to any other part of the island for only €2.60 for a day ticket.

The breakfast was lovely and the snack bar had lots to choose from during the day and the staff were all very pleasant and helpful. We ate dinner on one night, which was lovely and very reasonable priced.

I have to say at times the students could be quite noisy, but it didn't really disturb us too much.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank linoc25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaltaCorrection, Manager at Bella Vista Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
dear guest, we thank you for your comments.We appreciate your comments about our staff and the food.Guests on BB can have dinner for as little as € 9.00 pp, I do not think you will find any cheaper in Bugibba / Qawra area.We apologise if sometimes some of the students were noisy.
Glad you enjoyed your stay and hope we can welcome you again to our beautiful island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

If you have never been in a decent 3 star hotel you might think it's ok (don't even mention 4 star ones...), however anyone who has at least minimal experience with hotels arround the Mediterranean knows that this is a very poor place to stay.
The room is avarage, but there are some rude flaws here as well. First of all the A/C is weak, so you have to keep it running 7/24 to achieve a temperature suitable for human stay. However, the management turns off the A/C every day for few hours to save some money. First I thought it's a malfunction of the system, but the receptionist admited that this is a policy here. Amazing! Never saw such thing before, not even in cheap 2 star places.
There's a ceeling fan in the room, but the cover was broken, and few electric cables were hanging arround it so we decided rather not to use that thing at all.
The bathroom is very mouldy, and the fixed showerhead is very uncomfortable.
The food is about a poor avarage (we had breakfast only). For example you can choose only from two types of cold cuts, and cheese, and those are not very tasty neither.
If you say you can live with all these until you can get a decent night sleep, you won't get what you want. The place is full of teenagers (large groups come and go day by day). Which means that you won't get much sleep at nigth (door slamming competition all night long, shouting, drunk singing, you name it...). And there's a very busy main road in front of the hotel, so you must expect some road traffic noise even with closed doors (the door of the balcony is another sad story, but I'm tired to write down every piece of the whole disappointment).

All in all. This is a poor 3 star place, I'll never visit it again that is for sure.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Dudi N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaltaCorrection, Manager at Bella Vista Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
dear guest, we thank you for your feedback.The AC is only switched off for a few hours a day
when guests are normally downstairs for breakfast.The AC is not weak but it switches itself off
authomatically when the guests are not in the room ( sensor).The ceining fans are regularly checked and perfectly safe.The students are not allowed any alcohol in the rooms.The leaders check the student rooms very regularly, and our staff are advised to bring to our attention if they come across alcohol bottles in student rooms.Honestly I do not know were you heard the drunk singing as we did not have one single complaint of students getting drunk in rooms.Probably you exagerated a bit like the rest of your review.We apologise if nothing was good enough for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Qawra hotels

Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

This isn't an hotel for a break it is lodgings for various schools from different country's who appear keen to keep you awake all hours banging on doors, ringing wrong rooms, slamming doors, shouting and playing football in the corridors. You can ring security, as I did at 3am don't do anything. Manager was very understanding. I had been woken for 4 nights on the trot, they managed to keep the noise down until 5am when they were busy making there way back to their own rooms again. Thank goodness that was on my last night
This could be a great hotel, reasonable location, very clean rooms but avoid student season.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank brian b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaltaCorrection, Manager at Bella Vista Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
dear guest, we thank you for your comments.We do our best to keep the students under control, unfortunately you get a few of them who do not have any consideration for other guests.We are now nearing the end of the English school season and all the students would be gone by the end of August.We have a number of leaders living in the hotel and they do their best to ensure the students are well behaved.We apologise if some things were not up to your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRESTON
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Just back from malta great holiday
stayed at the bella vista (didnt know our 4 star was different from their 4 star) the first room was like a prison cell so we asked and got a better room overlooking the pool, great! the food was good and no complaints on that score, you get what you paid for, the staff were really superb and polite and easy to get along with,the short walk into town was delightful,the only thing that spoiled the holiday was the students,banging doors ,shouting at each other (not talking as normal people do ) 3/4 to a room,the supervisors not much older than the kids they were meant to be looking after, we were not the only guests to complain, i can understand the owner wanting to make a quick buck (not in the interest of the economy ) but not at the expense of holidaymakers having a holiday! we would go back to malta but think twice about the bella vista

Room Tip: try for the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BEE D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaltaCorrection, Manager at Bella Vista Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
dear guest, we thank you for your feedback. Guests know what they are paying to stay in hotels in Malta and it is not fair to compare with UK hotels as the prices in Malta are about 60 % cheaper .We are pleased with your remarks about our staff and the food served. We do our best
to keep the students occupied and the schools organise cultural activities and beach activities everyday.Some of the students unfortunately think they can get away with anything, only to find themselves on the flight home midway through their holiday.Nearly all the big hotels in our area
accomodate students, not to make a quick buck , but we cannot loose money also during the summer months.Guests who regularly come to Malta in winter know that what they pay does not even cover the cost of wages & food. We apologise if some things were not perfect, we hope we can welcome you again to our beautiful island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Food fab, huge room cleaned every day, staff friendly all that spoilt it was people moaning not 4 star, what do they expect for what they paid? Those ones that moaned about the walk to town should have done their research we did and expected it and did they know about the back way, probably not because too busy moaning rather than asking for help, as for the notices there are two notice boards, one by reception and one by dining room, one has general hotel info and other is daily menu and entertainment, we are planning to return and only thing would change was room location as ours was right above the outdoor tv screen so no chance of an early night, not that we wanted one but you never know, thank you to all the staff who work all the hours god sends.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Berry1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaltaCorrection, Manager at Bella Vista Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
dear guest, we thank you for a very nice review.Iagree with you that some guests expect too much for what they pay and spend their holiday moaning about one thing or other.Your remarks about the friendliness of our staff is appreciated . Guests need not walk to town as we have a free shuttle bus that goes to the centre of Qawra / Bugibba at least 8 times a day.We thank you
for choosing Malta .note : you can request a particular room by emailing to reservations@bellavista.com.mt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

I had read the mixed reviews but went with an open mind. I have to say I was very pleasantly surprised. Although our room was very small, it was clean and perfectly adequate. It was cleaned and the towels changer every day. Although we did try to get a larger room, the hotel was full so a move was not possible. We were staying on a bed and breakfast basis as we intended to eat at different places every night. However the hotel's restaurant was so good and very reasonably priced indeed, we ended up eating there for the 14 days of our stay. The staff were friendly, especially Michelle who made sure our bedroom was cleaned to a high standard. We would definitely stay here again, although would try to book a larger room well in advance.
If you are looking for a decent Maltese holiday on a budget, you can not do much better than Bella Vista.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank pottydotty_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaltaCorrection, Manager at Bella Vista Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
dear guest, we thank you for a nice review. We appreciate your remarks about the cleanliness of our hotel and the food.Michelle will be pleased with your review.Feel free to send an email to our reservations department if you prefer pool or front rooms next time you are coming.Thank you for choosing Malta.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Qawra
0.4 mi away
Soreda Hotel
Soreda Hotel
#4 of 15 in Qawra
1,981 reviews
0.7 mi away
Qawra Palace Hotel
Qawra Palace Hotel
#6 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,684 reviews
0.6 mi away
Canifor Hotel
Canifor Hotel
#14 of 15 in Qawra
1,744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
0.3 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,536 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Santana
Hotel Santana
#4 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bella Vista Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Vista Hotel

Property: Bella Vista Hotel
Address: Qawra Coast Road, Qawra, Island of Malta SPB 1908, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Qawra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Qawra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bella Vista Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bella Vista Hotel is a modern 4 Star Hotel consisting of 157 rooms with a turnover of 300 guests per week. All rooms are well appointed with balcony and a bathroom en-suite with most of the rooms having picturesque country views and pool views. Room facilities include Air Conditioning, Central Heating, Satellite TV, Radio, Ceiling Fan, Hair Drier and a Direct Dialing Telephone. The following are available at an extra charge: Safe, Frigo Bar and Tea & Coffee making facilities. The Highlands Restaurant serves an exciting choice of Mediterranean cuisine. Our Outdoor Swimming pool is serviced from the Pool Bar while the Roof Top Terrace has a swim spa with bar facilities during the summer period. The Mondrian Café serves snacks throughout the day. Live music is held 6 times weekly at D` Tate Lounge Bar. The Hotel is also equipped with 3 Conference Rooms, Indoor Pool, Gym, Sauna, Jacuzzi, Massage Service, Internet Café, Games Room and Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bella Vista Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bella Vista Hotel Malta/Qawra
Bella Vista Qawra
Hotel Bella Vista Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing