We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and basic” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bella Vista Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bella Vista Hotel
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Qawra
Sheffiedl UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Clean and basic”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

We were half-board for two weeks. Not a very expensive hotel.
The staff were great, friendly and helpful.
The food was okay and catered mainly to the British market. Me and my husband are vegetarians and wanted to try some Maltese food, discussed this with the waiting staff. Who discussed with the chef and made us a special meal, this was really great. Thanks very much.
The hotel was very clean.
Wi-Fi was cheap.
Great park across the road. Bus stop just outside.
Overall the hotel is looking a bit tired and is dark in the public areas. Maybe the hotel needs to invest in some more lighting or decor to combat this.
We asked about tea/coffee facilitates in the room, we had to pay extra for this.
The hotel is classed as 4Star, but for the British I would suggest it is mediocre 3 star.
The evening entertainment needs to be upgraded for a younger clientele. We watched the Karaoke while we were there, there were some obvious helpers for the presenter, one was an ELvis Presley fan. It wouldn't have been so bad if the songs were cheerful, but they weren't. PLease note we are on holiday sing some happy songs.

Overall a basic hotel with very friendly staff.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MMMinx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaltaCorrection, Manager at Bella Vista Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
dear guest, thank you for your feedback.We appreciate your remarks about our staff and cleanliness of the hotel.The Salina park is situated exactly opposite the hotel , and guests can enjoy a walk or just sit in the sun in beautiful surroundings.Tea making facilities are free to some guests depending on contracts signed with tour operators.There are a lot of guests residing in other hotels who go from hotel to hotel to sing. We accept all guests as long as they we do not have problems.Thank you for choosing Malta, glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,695 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    442
    429
    309
    291
See reviews for
312
923
73
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (516)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
falkirk
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

we visited this hotel in may2013 rated four star but only three star quality hotel is clean and staff very friendly but pool area is in the shade for a lot of the day so not suitable for sunbathing tea and coffee were available in room but only replenished once a week so you have to buy your own when it runs out.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaltaCorrection, Manager at Bella Vista Hotel, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
dear guest, we thank you for your contribution.We appreciate your comments about our staff and cleanliness of the hotel.Guests normally use the roof terrace for sunbathing in the afternoon when the pool is in the shade.Some of the contracts we have with tour operators include
tea / coffee.We normally provide for a week and replenish if guests are staying for more than 7 days.Thank you for choosing Malta/
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

Just back from Malta and while we had a good holiday, the hotel did not help.
We have been in many 4 star hotels and this one does NOTE come close.
We walked into reception and were met with a very loud wall of sound which was the same most nights. Then we went upstairs and the room, while being clean was basic. The beds were OK but don't lie down too heavily on them! Not many coat hangers in the wardrobes and the smell in the toilets was 'interesting'.
They obviously don't trust their guests on half board to pay their drinks bill when checking out as we had to buy a 'Cash Card' in advance and pay for all drinks each evening with this card!
The food was OK but none too special, certainly not we've had from other 4 star hotels and as a buffet, it felt like being back in the school canteen. The staff in the 'restaurant' were good, but on several occasions served us with the wrong drinks.
Then we woke up one night to a strong smell of cigarette smoke which stayed for the rest of the week, despite phoning reception 3 times, nothing happened. Gave up calling in the end.

Room Tip: Superior rooms are ok but I'd hate to be in a normal room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeteJFraser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaltaCorrection, Manager at Bella Vista Hotel, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Dear guest, thank you for finding time to tell us where we are going wrong.We use a cash card system to reduce as much as possible cash handling in the bars.We used the room charge system for years, unfortunately you end up with a lot of guests refusing to pay drinks bills for some reason or other, or just leave without settling their bills.We allow a 4 or 5 % discount on purchases with the cash cards.We thank you for choosing Malta and we apologies for any shortcomings .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Qawra hotels

Rugby, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

Stayed at this hotel was greeted with rudeness and not even a hello and just shoved a form in front of us to fill out not a smile in sight. This seemed to be just the beginning of what became an unpleasant stay. Superior room 'yer right' all we got for our extra cost was a kettle brought to our room which the lead wasnt long enough to plug in stupidly underneath the dressing table (only socket by the way ) and a cooler box NOT a fridge as we were informed wen we asked. on the plus side we did get a better view than a standard room but even then that is still not a compliment as it just ment we didn't have one facing the dirty back ally instead a block of apartments which luckily didn't block the sun out. The photos of the hotel are false and all photoshopped the available views are a dump constuction site to the rear, a brick wall of other buildings and rooms to the sides, and then they forget to show the main road in front of the hotel with the public seeing directly into your room on a positive side there was countryside in the distance after the busy road. No sea views as descibed because its miles away and the hotel is facing in land. A good 15-20min walk before bars/resaurants or any sight of shops and things to do.The maids are brilliant though rooms always spotless. The resaurant was awful even though we wasn't expecting much only two choices of food and one vegetarian option that never changed soup but even though the food was bland, processed and swimming in grease ,its the staff that most offended us as there was obviously no respect for guest and any attempt of conversation or request for a drink responded with a arragont attitude and grunts excluding the exceptional very few. The snack bar staff prepared lovely food with a smile shame the resaurant wasn't the same.We later on learnt wen the conference room in the basement was hired out by the locals for a party the transformation from welcoming hospitality to fresh buffet was astonishing if only they showed guest the same treatment. Overall we did not feel welcome at this hotel and was sincerely disappointed with our stay. Sorry if this reveiw is a eye opener, wished we found out the reality of bella vista before we paid out for wat was suposed to be a nice quiet break.

Room Tip: Honestly Try somewhere else, if not at least pay superior to get a balcony not facing a wall or ally...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaltaCorrection, Manager at Bella Vista Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
dear guest, we thank you for your review.Iapologise if our front office staff were not very welcoming on your arrival.The wall plugs are behind the cooler and tv set, probably out of reach of young kids.I had a meeting this morning with our housekeeper and we agreed that the maid would plug the kettle when this is taken to the room.Our staff always tell guests that we have a cooler in the room and not a fridge , cannot understand why you were told otherwise.There is no dump construction site at the back but an unused farm.The rooms are on the first floor , so no one can look into the rooms from the road.We do not advertise sea views , the sea is 10 minutes away if you walk, or 3 minutes if you take the free shuttle bus from the hotel.Dinner time we serve 9 salads dishes, pasta, soup fish, and two meat dishes.The hall downstairs was hired by an English couple for their 40 th. wedding anniversary.They chose a very good menu , and they personally did most of the decoration in the hall.We only prepared the tables and food and the same waiters that serve in the restaurant were on duty downstairs.
Again my apologies if nothing was good enough.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here fully inclusive, the food was so bad we ate out, the meat was processed rubbish, the potatoes was either baked sliced or boiled. The bacon at breakfast was fat with small amount of meat. The service was bad, the hotel runs all inclusive and pay for your food. Every time you went for a meal or asked for a drink needed a card, it was a pain in the back side. We was right at the back of the hotel on the 2nd floor, it overlooked a street that we named dog poo alley, there were builders next door who started drilling and using a kango hammer at 8 o'clock am. Was not a nice place to walk around. Walking from hotel to the square was safe but dog a lot of dog mess. The pool was a joke so small. The bar was small and always a long que. snack time that was another joke, have sandwiches that come from a warm display cabinet. The receptionist needs to get some manners. Rude on more than 1 occasion. Bus shuttle service 1st we heard about that, was just reading a review. Beds are like sleeping on wood. Just don't go to this hotel. 4 star my backside. 2 at a push. And don't use the hotel shop use the pet shop next door half the price.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaltaCorrection, Manager at Bella Vista Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
dear guest, we thank you for your feedback.We are terribly sorry nothing seemed to be to your satisfaction.I have just had a meeting with our chef and he confirmed that the only processed meat we use are hams, luncheon meat and turkey.all our beef, chicken, pork, lamb are fresh.
I could not understand what you meant that the hotel runs allinclusive to pay for your food.Guests on allinclusive pay around EUR 6.00 a day more than half board guests.This gives AI guests lunch, drinks from 09.00 to 23.00 hours and snacks between 10.00 - 15.00 hours.Surely this is value for money.The card system is used for stock control purposes , iI think the hotel needs to control its expenses.We apologise we had some building work next door, we had agreed with the site manager that work was to start at 09.00, but unfortunately sometimes
they started earlier.The counter were we keep the sandwiches is a cooler and not a warm display cabinet.We have notices both in reception and the rooms about the free shuttle bus service. I have sent you a mail about our shop prices being double those next door.We would appreciate you name some items that are double the price.I can name too items that guests buy all the time,1. packet of 12 water our price EUR 2.90 next door EUR 4.50 , our crisps EUR 1.80 next door EUR 2.00 and EUR 2.20.I am still waiting for your reply to confirm that what you wrote in your review is the truth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

I read all of the reviews beforehand so my expectations were fairly low. After spending a week there, my experience did not change my expectations.

So a quick run down.

Location.
Poor. its a good 10 plus minutes to the local shoreline at Bugibba (which doesnt really have much of anything anyway including a beach)

Room
It was spacious and clean.... However, i paid for a "superior" room. I'm not entirely sure what that means.... i think it means i got a balcony overlooking the pool. The other views from other areas of the hotel are not great. I think the hotel name of Bella Vista is supposed to be ironic??

The bed was awful though and the bedding/pillows sub standard, The Ac did not chill air - rather just moved it around so i ended up sleeping with patio doors open. The TV - well i didnt bother to be honest. I was surprised that they still had 14 inch CRT TVs though.
The Shower was a dribbler.

They can stick you in a different hotel block just down the road which a few people in the hotel were complaining about. not ideal.

Food.
As Mick Dundee says in Crocodile Dundee... "you can survive on it but it tastes like S**t." A bit harsh maybe, but the selection was very limited and poor, and the quality low. its the worst half board i have ever had and has put me off of the idea in future.

Entertainment.
Well it was a bit like something out of butlins from the 1970's. A selection of cheesy live music. As the hotel is not close to any entertainment it still packs them in!

Poolside.
Terrible. The pool only has space for 40 deckchairs which go if you are not up before 7.30am!
in addition, it only gets the sun until 1PM then is in shade for the rest of the day. so you can go up to the 6th floor which as a sun deck. But again, limited sun loungers which is not ideal.

i can still hear the piped music in my dreams. Why do they feel teh need to pump out music over the PA all day? its not even good music. Michael bolton?? Violin versions of the Beatles? Gyspy singers doing Abba? All on repeat every day. My ears were in pain!

Shop.
i would use the shop next door. Too many times i stood there waiting to be served but no one was there. I asked reception and they tell me to wait. 5 mins later i use the store next door. Great for shoplifters not so good for shopping.

So overall its cheap but you get what you pay for. IT IS NOT A 4 STAR HOTEL that's for sure.

Malta however is a lovely island and well worth visiting.

Room Tip: if you really want to go here then pay the extra for a superior room as this may avoid you getting o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhillipsAndDaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

We booked this holiday aware of the bad reviews. We wanted somewhere that was cheap for a week in the sun, so we knew not to expect absolute luxury. We booked all inclusive.
We booked a superior room, it had a pool view. The room was well cleaned daily and suited us perfectly as a base.
On exploring the area around the hotel, there is nowhere (shops, bars, restaurants) under 10minutes walk away. Geographically the hotel is in an odd place, sitting nearer Bugibba, than Qawra.
After realising nothing was exactly on our door step we decided to rent a car for the week, we did this through the hotel reception, they were helpful and prompt.
I should mention there is a bus stop outside the hotel.
The hotel is ok, it is a little tired in places and could do with modernising. The pool was cleaned once during our stay, until then there had been a lot of dirt at the bottom of the pool.
Breakfast, lunch and dinner is included in the all inclusive option, as are Specific snacks during the day, but not everything. And drinks are available 'till 11pm after 11pm they are charged.
The food is all processed. Expect to have a standard british dish and a pasta dish for dinners. Iceland/farmfoods type thing. Apple and orange quarters are the only fruits available. This was extrememly disappointing as there are so many fruit and veg stalls every 5 mins along the roadside In Malta. We only ate breakfast after sampling dinner and lunch twice.
WiFi was included for us, this was unreliable. Spoke to reception about it several times, I was told "sometimes it comes, sometimes it goes" .
There were 2 power cuts while we were in the hotel.
I'd recommend this place if you plan to use it as a base for exploring the island by car/bus.
I'd not reccommend if you are looking for somewhere to stay most of the week and relax, you will be bored, with the food, decor.
I wouldn't advise this hotel for parents with kids, reckon the kids would be bored.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SarahKathryn2211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaltaCorrection, Manager at Bella Vista Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear guest, we thank you for sharing your experience with us with Tripadvisor review readers.
We are pleased you liked the room and we appreciate your remarks about our cleanliness.We have different nationalities in the hotel and surely it is not possible to do dishes by nationalities. I think it is nicer if we eat the food as prepared in the country we visit , rather than expect them to cook our food.As already explained in a previos review, all our meats are fresh and very few items we use for breakfast like ham, luncheon meat are processed.The fruit sold at this time is nearly all imported and expensive to include with the meals. Guests must keep in mind that the hotel gets around EUR 15.00 a day for half board and maybe EUR 21.00 for Allinclusive.When you consider that at least EUR 8.00 / 10.00 a day per guest go for Wages and water & electricity , there is not much left to cover all the other expenses.We apologise if some things were not up to your expectations, we do our best to give a good deal for the prices paid.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Qawra
0.4 mi away
Soreda Hotel
Soreda Hotel
#4 of 16 in Qawra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,897 reviews
0.0 mi away
Canifor Hotel
Canifor Hotel
#14 of 16 in Qawra
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,660 reviews
0.4 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Qawra Palace Hotel
Qawra Palace Hotel
#6 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,495 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Santana
Hotel Santana
#4 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,345 reviews
0.9 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bella Vista Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Vista Hotel

Property: Bella Vista Hotel
Address: Qawra Coast Road, Qawra, Island of Malta SPB 1908, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Qawra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Qawra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bella Vista Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bella Vista Hotel is a modern 4 Star Hotel consisting of 157 rooms with a turnover of 300 guests per week. All rooms are well appointed with balcony and a bathroom en-suite with most of the rooms having picturesque country views and pool views. Room facilities include Air Conditioning, Central Heating, Satellite TV, Radio, Ceiling Fan, Hair Drier and a Direct Dialing Telephone. The following are available at an extra charge: Safe, Frigo Bar and Tea & Coffee making facilities. The Highlands Restaurant serves an exciting choice of Mediterranean cuisine. Our Outdoor Swimming pool is serviced from the Pool Bar while the Roof Top Terrace has a swim spa with bar facilities during the summer period. The Mondrian Café serves snacks throughout the day. Live music is held 6 times weekly at D` Tate Lounge Bar. The Hotel is also equipped with 3 Conference Rooms, Indoor Pool, Gym, Sauna, Jacuzzi, Massage Service, Internet Café, Games Room and Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Bella Vista Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bella Vista Hotel Malta/Qawra
Bella Vista Qawra
Hotel Bella Vista Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing