We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value Hotel”
Review of Bella Vista Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bella Vista Hotel
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Qawra
berkshire uk
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great Value Hotel”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Stayed at the Bella Vista from 25th Feb to 2nd March
On reading earlier reviews went with open mind and can only say that i cannot understand what some people are moaning about.For what you pay i can only say that the hotel is great value.To summarise
Rooms good size and cleaned daily
Food good quality and varied
All inclusive package great value with local drinks and all meals including afternoon snacks included.
Free shuttle bus provided from hotel to resort centre.
Good size indoor basement pool
Friendly staff
Evening entertainment provided every night.

A couple of issues however

The hotel is a good 10 minute walk from the main square albeit shuttle bus service is provided.
Outdoor pool very small and would not be large enough to cater for a full hotel in warmer months.
Told by several people that they were initially given rooms in the suites located adjacent to the hotel which were sub standard.They were however given alternatives at the hotel.

To conclude if you want a good base to explore the island offering great value for money i would strongly recommend this hotel.

Top tip
When you arrive at the airport arrivals head for the arriva desk where weekly bus tickets can be purchased for 12 euro.Take the X3 bus from the airport which stops directly outside the hotel so you airport transfers are covered as well.We used the bus services extensively to tour the island and found them to be regular and plentiful in number.

Room Tip: higher floors have better views looking out to medina
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mattwill69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaltaCorrection, Manager at Bella Vista Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear guest, we thank you for a nice review.We always advise guests to see for themselves what we offer for the prices we charge. No one can please all guests all the time as we all have different expectations.We always promise to give value for money and can honestly say we give a good deal.We are glad you liked the food and the cleanliness of our hotel .Most of the rooms at the suites face the Salina Park , with a view of the country side, Mosta and Mdina .A good number of repeat guests request rooms in the suites , so I cannot understand how some guests can classify them as sub standard.Glad you had a good holiday and hope to have you back in our beautiful island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,763 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    461
    446
    323
    303
See reviews for
320
955
76
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (532)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We found this hotel did nothing for us It was not in a good position. there was nothing to do there
and when you where in the hotel you too far from anywhere to go out to. The food was not good for a four star. We where all found the drinks where restricted and you had to queue for drinks . the best thing about this hotel was the staff, very peasant

Room Tip: find a hotel in more populated area
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mr C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaltaCorrection, Manager at Bella Vista Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam, thank you for your revue. You are one guest of the 350 guests that visit us every week and as they say you cannot please everybody. Our hotel is always fully booked so there are many happy guests that stayed with us.
In your revue you said the hotel is not in a good position. We are 10 minutes from the bus terminus, with a bus stop in front of the hotel , the beautiful Salina Park with views of Mdina,
Mosta and the country side.Guests can easily find parking for hired cars very close to the hotel.
The bars are always busy, because the hotel is always full of guests , and it is natural that guests need to wait a little to get served.We have all travelled and everywere we go we need to wait a little in cofffee shops and bars.We are pleased you taught the staff are pleasant . We apologise if some things were not perfect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Qawra hotels

PORTRUSH NORTHERN IRELAND
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

After a bad time last year my sisters and Niece and friends decided we all needed a well earned break ,so we decided we would all take a week in Malta and what a great island it is people are so friendly
Anyway we choose to go to the Bella Vista and it was the best choice we could have made rooms were spotless and staff were great jonny the barman was ace as was jonny the night man on reception
Food was good and we all found something to our liking as for the entertainment it was great and we all had a brilliant time i am sure the mananger and the staff at the bella vista will remember us as we will them a big thanks to you all and to the girl who cleaned our room and if i ever get a chance i will be back at the bella vista thanks guys from one of the seven woman from northern ireland xxx

Room Tip: we were on the fifth floor and it was great so ask for the fifth floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank COOKIEAVX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaltaCorrection, Manager at Bella Vista Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear guest we thank you for telling our future guests about your wonderful stay at Bella Vista.
I have passed on your comments to our staff members, they appreciated and said thanks.Glad you liked the food , it is not easy to please 7 ladies in everything. We thank you for bringing the
lounge bar to life in the evenings.You proved that you do not need to be very young to have a good night , you brought smiles to a lot of our older guests.Thank you all again for choosing Malta , we hope to have more IRISH guests who come to enjoy themselves .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coalville, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Just spent a week at the Bella Vista and looking around Malta. I went on a last minute budget break with a friend just to recharge our batteries after a hard run a work. The reviews were mixed, and we were a little cautious.
The hotel was absolutely fine. It is budget, and does look a little dated, but it was clean and comfortable and provided everything you could need. The staff were fabulous, they all seemed to work terrible hours, but they were excellent. We had a really nice room when we got there on the first day, but it overlooked a small interior courtyard on the second floor. The first morning we realised the kitchens were underneath, and it was very noisy early in the morning. The staff were really helpful and moved us to a new room on the 6th floor, slightly smaller than the first, but really nice with lovely views over the park and a larger balcony. Pauline on reception worked very hard to sort out a suitable move for us, we were being fussy, wanting a new room but as nice as the old one, so we rejected one she offered, but she managed to find us one that suited in the end. The room was clean and the beds were comfortable. They cleaned it daily and did keep it very nice for us.
The food was fine. There was always a good choice and it was always hot. It was not cordon bleu, but neither was our budget, and we found something we enjoyed every day. Its all buffet style and you can have as much as you like. The pasta choices were particularly well done. They will give you a packed lunch if you go out, and its absolutely huge!! It is always the same, which can get a bit boring, but it was so big we ate different bits each day to get over the boring bit.
The place was well run, the dining room was full of people, but tables were cleared very efficiently, your drinks arrived quickly and food was constantly replenished. There were no big queues at the bar or coffee shops, and the rooms were kept lovely and clean. The bar area was not cluttered with empty glasses, all of which adds to the feeling of a well run place.
People were moaning about the fact there were a lot of elderly visitors in the hotel, and the weather was not great. Given it was February, peak time for retired peoples breaks, and not known for high summer temperatures, I dont quite how the hotel was to blame for that. It is probably a fact that Malta caters for older visitors in winter, so the hotels must all have a significant number of these. We are both aged 50, but not sure I would have taken my kids to Malta in Feb in their younger day, but it was fantastic for us now. A bit of research was perhaps needed by people - imagine summer is different when you can go to the beach and the festivals happen - better for young kids then.
Malta had loads to do. The first impression is it is a bit run down, and the planners who put the holiday complexes up in the 1060s need shooting!! However there was heaps of things to do, and they were lovely. There are plenty of ancient cities, pretty bays and historic attractions. We visited Valletta, Gozo, Popeye Village (great fun), Meliha Bay, Marsaxlox Market, Mdina and Rabat, Tarxian Temples, Mosta Rotunda and the craft village. Dont pay for expensive trips, or even the hop on hop off bus, simply go to Bugibba bus station and buy a £12 week pass. The bus stop is over the road from the hotel, and the buses are excellent (although the 221 is a little unreliable!!!!) The signs are really clear, telling you where each bus is going, and they give you a map with all the routes on so you can work it out. There are loads of buses, the hop on hop off you have to wait 45 minutes for the next if you hop off, the service buses are usually more often. The drivers, and all the Maltese people are really helpful, you really cannot get lost, and even if you do, the island is so small, and the people so helpful, you will soon find your way back. Bugibba is very central for buses, if you go north you can get everwhere direct, going south you usually need to change at Valletta, but its really simple.
The all inclusive wine was very drinkable, and the sangria was lovely too.The coffee shop did nice cappaccino, teas etc. and plenty of choice of soft drinks, I dont like spirits so cannot comment on those. We both took 100 Euros each, expecting to draw out more, but with the bus ticket being so cheap, we went everywhere we wanted, admissions were very reasonable, had a treat cake or pastry and posh coffee out each day, At the end of the week we had not needed any more money - which was amazing.
So we thoroughly recommend the Bella Vista and Malta for a budget break, I can see us returning there in the future.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhonda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaltaCorrection, Manager at Bella Vista Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear guest we thank you for a lovely detailed review.You gave future visotors to Malta a detailed
explanation were to go at the cheapest cost possible.We are glad you liked our food and the cleanliness of the hotel.It is nice when guests appreciate what we offer for the prices we are charging.One cannot expect miracles when paying a few Eurros but we honestly give value for money, and your review has proved this.Ihave passed on your praise to Pauline and the restaurant staff.Malta is very popular with elderly British guests in the Winter months.It is probably cheaper to stay here rather than staying at home.You have visited a lot of our nice villages and towns.Mdina, Marsaxlokk , Valletta are a must for all visitors.We are glad you had a good holiday and hope to have you back in Malta soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Firstly we have stayed in Malta 10 times over the last 23 years so I can give an opinion based on fact comparing it to other 4 star hotels on the island
The staff are very over worked due to lack of them. The food is varied so you can always find something to eat however it is of a poor a quality. The hotel is clean and the towels changed when needed.
All inclusive maybe not true as its extra for the fridge,safe, wifi,(walk over to the park its free) hot snacks not available after 3.00pm. the pillows are very poor but you can pay extra for one with filling in it. extra for the gym and sauna The fruit juice from the machine in a morning may benifit from having some fruit taste in the water. The heating rationed as is the hot water. and breaks down? on a regular basis
Superior Room upgrade LOL you get a tray with a kettle 2 cups 7 teas and 7 coffees 7 milks per week per person any extra you pay for. According to staff all rooms are superior. so take a kettle and your own dont pay the upgrade.
On asking for a local brewed cisk beer told this was not in the all inclusive as it was not a local beer oh it was founded in the late 1800's in malta. However löwenbräu is.
The bar is poorly laid out lots of room could be available but due to the way its laid out not enough seating. Lots of guests wanting to change rooms one couple we met had been moved 5 times once because the ceiling fell in due to a flood.
So is it value for money yes it probably is but would recommend paying a litle more for a better standard if you look around you will see other 4 star hotels charge more money so remmeber you get what you pay for,

Room Tip: Ask for a high room looking out to land .
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaltaCorrection, Manager at Bella Vista Hotel, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Dear guest, we thank you for your review.Our Allinclusive is according to contracts with all tour operators.There are hotels who might serve food after 3.00 pm but yiou cannot compare what you pay there and what you pay in our hotel.The gym is free of charge, We only had a evening without AC in the last month and that was because of a burst pipe.OUR Maintenance were here until 01.00 in the morning to make the repairs neccesssary. We do not use all the rooms as superior but only front rooms and rooms with an open view. We do not have a contract with the brewery you refered to , all hotels and restaurants try to get the best deals from supply agents.
Iam sorry but you have included a lot of half truthts or LI... in your review. It is not true we had a guest changing rooms 5 times , and no ceiling fell because of floods. We hardly had any rain for the last month least of all FLOODS.We apologise if things were not perfect .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coalville, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

we stayed on a all inclusive board basis, my parents (late 60's early 70's) and my son (13yrs), in our package we received free wifi, this kept my son happy in the evenings as we could access it in our room, so us oldies could enjoy a chat over the local spirits wines or beers, the entertainment was as someone had previously commented "a different man with a different keyboard every night" and people seemed to enjoy them, someone moaned that there wasn't bacon for breakfast every morning, the simple way to solve this was to wait until the hot snacks started (10am so bonus lay in too) then order a egg and bacon ciabatta or as a 13yr old would do....cheese burger! (well he was on holiday) the rooms where cleaned and our beds made everyday, the beds had a little give in them so leading to a comfy nights rest, the shower/over bath was awesome and they provided shower caps, a block of soap and wall dispenser shower cream/shampoo that smelt quite nice and fresh towels everyday if needed. the coffees served at the cafe and bar were really yummy, In my opinion this hotel has done everything right, the staff are lovely.
Yes there is the odd guest trying to drink themselves silly, but most people are there using the hotel as a base to explore the island and all Malta has to offer.
We had a lovely time and coming back to Bella Vista each day was no hard ship, We could not fault this hotel, it's real value for money, the food was really nice, compliments to the chefs, they didn't mind us taking a drink to our rooms and the sandwiches came nicely packed so just before we left to explore the island we'd ask for sandwiches then popped them in our bags incase we got peckish whilst out. So from us, THUMBS UP! Bella Vista is more than value for money, please don't take negative feed back too seriously, look at all the positive, enjoy Malta!

Room Tip: higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Janine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Im glad we ignored bad reviews on this hotel we found it to be very friendly the food was really GOOD always HOT and if you went hungry at mealtimes that would be ones own fault.We enjoyed our stay only a couple of moans really check in was not informative enough and we were surprised that no-one helped us with our luggage or offered to show us to our rooms.the room was clean and beds were comfortable we had several things not working when we arrived but were put right straight away.Staff very Friendly but hotel could do with brightening up a bit.Not a Hotel for Children.

Room Tip: My Brother had a room at the front which had lovely views but the traffic could be a little noisy w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maryelaine605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaltaCorrection, Manager at Bella Vista Hotel, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
We thank you for a nice honest review.Glad you liked the food , we try our best to provide the best meals possible, keeping in mind our expenses. We apologise if our check in staff did not give enough information.Our staff are always ready to help all you need to do is ask.We appreciate your remarks about our staff and our rooms .We are pleased you had a good holiday
and hope to welcome you again in our beautiful island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Qawra
0.4 mi away
Soreda Hotel
Soreda Hotel
#4 of 15 in Qawra
2,007 reviews
0.7 mi away
Qawra Palace Hotel
Qawra Palace Hotel
#6 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,735 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Santana
Hotel Santana
#4 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
0.3 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,583 reviews
0.4 mi away
The San Anton Hotel
The San Anton Hotel
#7 of 13 in Bugibba
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bella Vista Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Vista Hotel

Property: Bella Vista Hotel
Address: Qawra Coast Road, Qawra, Island of Malta SPB 1908, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Qawra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Qawra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bella Vista Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bella Vista Hotel is a modern 4 Star Hotel consisting of 157 rooms with a turnover of 300 guests per week. All rooms are well appointed with balcony and a bathroom en-suite with most of the rooms having picturesque country views and pool views. Room facilities include Air Conditioning, Central Heating, Satellite TV, Radio, Ceiling Fan, Hair Drier and a Direct Dialing Telephone. The following are available at an extra charge: Safe, Frigo Bar and Tea & Coffee making facilities. The Highlands Restaurant serves an exciting choice of Mediterranean cuisine. Our Outdoor Swimming pool is serviced from the Pool Bar while the Roof Top Terrace has a swim spa with bar facilities during the summer period. The Mondrian Café serves snacks throughout the day. Live music is held 6 times weekly at D` Tate Lounge Bar. The Hotel is also equipped with 3 Conference Rooms, Indoor Pool, Gym, Sauna, Jacuzzi, Massage Service, Internet Café, Games Room and Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bella Vista Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bella Vista Hotel Malta/Qawra
Bella Vista Qawra
Hotel Bella Vista Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing