We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget Hotel”
Review of Bella Vista Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bella Vista Hotel
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Qawra
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Was booked into this hotel recently by Thomas Cook that sold the hotel to us as a 4 star hotel. That it definitely wasn't. Staff and management were very friendly but the hotel is 3 star budget at best. No heating till 9pm at night even though it was only 5oC. If you arrive after 7.30 at night don't expect to get fed more than a couple of slices of ham or cheese whether your on full or half board because thats all you will get offered. Moved after two days to a proper 4 star hotel in the same resort The Dolman.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rewNorthernIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaltaCorrection, Manager at Bella Vista Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2013

We thank you for your contribution.Glad you taught our staff was friendly.Heating in the public areas is on at least 10 hours during the day and over 14 hours a day in the rooms.Our restaurant serves breakfast between 07.30 --09.30, lunch 12.30 -- 13.30 and dinner 17.45 -- 20.00 hours.
we prepare either a cold platter or packed lunch for guests arriving after 20.00 hours.I do not know were you got the couple of slices of ham or cheese, surely this is not the truth.You were moved to another hotel because you paid twice what you had originally paid to stay here.
Glad you had a good stay in Malta.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,834)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

901 - 907 of 1,834 reviews

Reviewed February 22, 2013

Just back from Bella Vista.The room was clean and the food was hot and plentiful.People were moaning but you could always find something to eat on the buffet.The staff were lovely very pleasant and helpful.I don't know what people expect, as in all things you get what you pay for and this hotel is cheap.I felt sorry for the staff having to put up with some of the obnoxious clientele. Some groups on an all inclusive basis sat around drinking all day and it's not difficult to imagine their behaviour.This is not the hotels fault!However,if you go to explore the island and get out and about this hotel is a good cheap base to do so.Most sensible couples we talked to said the same as us, at these prices don't expect too much and you won't be disappointed.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
5  Thank buck221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaltaCorrection, Manager at Bella Vista Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2013

We thank you for your review, and your remarks about the cleanliness of the hotel and the food.
Unfortunately It is true that some guests abuse our staff because they expect a lot more than they pay for and these guests take it on our staff.It is natural that with around 350 guests per week you get a few guests who end up drinking too much , ending up with disturbing other guests..Guests should take up your advice and explore some beautiful sights Malta has to offer
insread of sitting at the bar from 9.00 in the morning to make sure they get their money's worth.
We are pleased that other guests you talked to were happy we gave value for money.Thank you for choosing Malta.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Hi,

We stayed at Bella Vista hotel at the beginning of September 2012. Upon our arrival at our room we found many black, disgusting hairs on the balcony which were not swiped!! The room itself didn't look bad at the first sight but there was many stains on the walls.

The choice of food at the restaurant was very poor. Eggs, ham (very poor quality) and lots of lettuce and tomato (from previous day) was the only choice for breakfast. Same for lunch and dinner: poor quality meat like beef or chicken without any taste.

The pool is situated between buildings which means that there's no much sun during the day. Not many people were present there for swimming or sunbathing.

Although we had all inclusive option we had to pay extra for most of cocktails!! Same applies to wifi, as it's stated on their website that it's free of charge but on our arrival we were informed that we had to pay for internet access.

The good thing is that there is a bus stop almost of front of the hotel where you can catch the bus to Valletta or most of the beaches in Malta. There's also a short walk from the hotel to Bugibba center.

Overall our experience there wasn't that bad as most of the time we spent outside of the hotel.I also need to say that the staff there was very friendly and always happy to help you.

We fell in love with Malta and definitely will be back there one day :)

Ewelina & Marcin

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EwelinaJakuszko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaltaCorrection, Manager at Bella Vista Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2013

Dear guest we thank you for your review.We are sorry you found some hairs in your balcony, but to be honest the balcony is outside and the hair could have been blown in your balcony from outside, maybe from rooms next to yours.You remarked that our eggs and ham were of poor quality , all that I know is the eggs we buy are layed by hens just like the ones you buy back home.The website does not say the wifi is free.We are pleased you taught the staff were friendly and we apologise that some things were not up to your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Just back from Bella Vista,Qwara. The hotel is not ideally placed facing the salt flats no matter what room you get,we were all inclusive in a superior room,.our room was not superior in fact i would say our view was inferior.The room it self was clean and bright,the bathroom was very very tired with paint spilled into bath and allowed to go hard,damp patches on ceiling and running out of hot water at times,the sheets were not changed during our week stay,however the towels were changed daily.The staff were very pleasent and helpful.The food was a very mediocre affair at meal times although the morning and afternoon snacks were the best i've had.The hotel is well placed for public transport with a bus stop opposite,.the bus service runs on time, with a bus every ten minutes very good and cheap you can travel all day for 2.60 eu there is a nice park opposite hotel with cafe great for sitting in the sun.there is a 3 times weekly grand buffet which is for the locals and boy do they love it,it seems to be the highlight of their week because they come to the hotel in there droves and swallow up all the amenity's.All in all just about an adequate experience. I would not return.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank johnnyhonda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaltaCorrection, Manager at Bella Vista Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2013

We thank you for your review. Glad you taught the room was clean and we apologise you found some paint in the bath.We are presently re painting all the rooms including general maintenance.
The sheets are changed two to three times per week , while towels are changed every day.Our grand buffet is open for outsiders but hotel guests can book a table for either Saturday dinner or Sunday lunch , paying a suppliment of EUR 8.00 each .Our Buffet is very popular with local guests , that is why we get hundreds per week.They are in the public area only until we prepare the restaurant , and this does not hinder guests from enjoying their evening.We are sorry you taught the All IN was just about an adequate experience.One has to keep in mind what I it costs for guests to go AI, probably the cost of a couple of beers. We know guests get their money's worth but still complain.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

I stayed here with my boyfriend on an all inclusive basis. We were booked in for 7 nights, but we left and went to another hotel after 4 nights because it was so unpleasant. Our "double room" consisted of two single beds pushed together. The beds were hard and incredibly uncomfortable- I've never experienced anything like it- both my boyfriend had pains in our necks and back every morning. The room was overlooking the road and it was very noisy, with beeping and cars ramming into pot holes from very early in the morning. We were also woken up every morning by an extremely loud cleaning lady who would talk and shout from about 8am until around 1pm- very annoying, Every morning there seemed to be alot of furniture being moved around in the rooms upstairs (obviously pushing more single beds together to masquerade as a double bed!)- very noisy. I complained about the above points the first day to reception- the receptionist said the hotel was fully booked (baffling) but to come back Tuesday to see if they could get us another room, but we were out of there by Tues! She also said she would pass on the complaint about the noisy cleaner but it remained as noisy as ever after that.There was also no hot water for two of the four days we were there.

The food seemed ok at first but after two days of it we started to feel quite ill, and some of the meats were just plain disgusting- my boyfriend got lamb one day and it was inedible. We also got burgers one day as part of the snacks offered with all-inclusive- they were burnt on the outside and sort of raw inside- I will upload a picture shortly! Shocking. When I requested a sandwich instead, I was told very rudely by the bar girl that the kitchen was closing in 5 minutes, before rolling her eyes and sighing while swiping my card. All inclusive in terms of alcohol also only applies to very cheap spirits and local beer.
Very elderly population- definitely not a suitable getaway for anyone under 60. Located pretty much in the middle of nowhere but with a bus stop just outside. Outside pool in TINY- the weather wasn't great when we were there but I couldn't imagine how more than 5 people would swim or even move around comfortably in it if it was. Indoor pool was fine but located in this cold, frankly quiet creepy, basement, with a chilly jacuzzi, and a sauna you have to pay for (3.50 per hour- who stays in a sauna for an hour?!).
The wifi is 10euro for three days- it disconnects constantly.
This was a horrible place to stay. We were uncomfortable and constantly woken up at night, the food was unbearable after a while and drowning our sorrows with the horrible cheapest of the cheap alcohol could only help for a few days! It's in the middle of nowhere,with little to no choice for alternative eateries. I realise you get what you pay for, but I've stayed in budget hostels that were 10 times better than this, and how this hotel is even still going is beyond me, let alone maintaining a 4 star rating. When we checked out, we asked to speak to the manager to voice our complaints as the receptionist was nice and didn't deserve abuse, but were told the manager was in a meeting. We requested the manager give us a call when out of her meeting and were told she would- over a week later and they have not contacted us. I have never in my life left any holiday accomodation but we just couldn't stay any longer.
DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY- AVOID!!!!

Room Tip: Don't get one overlooking the road- ridiculously noisy. Also make sure double room MEANS double...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cara535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaltaCorrection, Manager at Bella Vista Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2013

We apologise nothing seems to have been good enough for you.The front rooms like the one you had face the Salina Park with a view of Mosta and Mdina + countryside.The maids normally start cleaning the rooms around 8.30 / 09.00 when guests are at breakfast.Most of our rooms are twin bedded and when we get requests for more double beds we put the beds together with double sheets and quilt.The maids need to move beds to wash the floor properly and not as you said to move more single beds to masquerade as double beds.The girl at reception was correct
when she said the hotel was fully booked , cannot see why you found this baffling.It is normal for our hotel to be very busy all year round.Again you claim you were ill after you ate a few times, could it be you were ill because of excessive drinking .One last thing you chose to speak to the manager when you checked out, why not before if everything was so bad. Guests are always welcome to discuss problems with us but not to ABUSE our hospitality.Glad you enjoyed the rest of your holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Just returned from a week all inclusive and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The room was clean and spacious, with clean towels every day. The room was cleaned every day. The staff were friendly and helpful. On arrival in our room we couldn't work out how to open the patio door. When we told reception they sent someone to assist within 15 minutes. (It turned out we were trying to open the door at the wrong end) duh!! We paid 5 euro deposit for the television remote which was returned to us at the end of our stay. There was true movies and world news. The food was plentiful and varied. We never had one cold meal or a meal that we didn't enjoy. If we didn't fancy a full meal there was burgers, chips or sandwiches that we could get, up till 3pm. Sometimes we got a sandwich and kept it to eat in our room in case we wanted supper. There was live music every night, with a mixture of Tom Jones, Elvis, Country and music from the 60's and 70's. The bar staff were friendly and efficient. If a queue formed it didn't take long before we were served. The coke mixer tasted like the real thing, which was a bonus, as I have had to purchase 'proper' Coke/Pepsi at other hotels. We were in room 218 which overlooked a main road. Some people had complained that they couldn't sleep for the noise from the road, but we slept quite contented with the patio doors open. The noise that could be heard was from a manhole cover in the road which clanged when driven over. We got used to that after the first night. We had a lovely view of the countryside from our balcony. There are complimentary free buses all day from the Hotel to Buggiba where the bus station is situated. 2 euro 60 cents bought a day bus ticket which allowed us to get on and off the buses anywhere around Malta. We never walked to Buggiba, but plenty did. The distance ranged from 10 minutes to 40 minutes on foot! so we decided the free bus was the easiest way to go. The weather wasn't very good for the week we were there, so we were very happy to use the indoor pool and jacuzzi. We ventured to the roof terrace, which would have been brilliant on a good weather day, (unfortunately it was high winds and clouds for us) there were plenty of sun beds and a jacuzzi. We spoke to some of the younger people who stayed. They weren't impressed that the hotel was some distance from the night life, but we were very happy with the entertainment in the hotel. The live music stopped at 11 pm, as did the all inclusive bar, but we would sit and party on till 1 or 2 am. We met and made some lovely friends. We would definitely return. Big thank you to all at the Bella Vista, and a special thank you to the manager who cared and looked after us when we had a medical emergency.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Snackpot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaltaCorrection, Manager at Bella Vista Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Dear guest we thank you for a nice review.You gave a very good account of the things we offer.We appreciated your remarks about our food and friendliness of our staff.It is not very easy to please all guests, but once guests keep in mind what they are paying things cannot go wrong.
We take great care what guests tell us and when possible we do everything p[ossible to improve.
It is true some guests find the front rooms a bit noisy with traffic going past, but the view of the Salina park compensates for the little extra noise.Nice to hear you made friends with other guests while staying in our hotel.Guests are advised to seek help from the hotel managers when the need comes.We are here all day and nothing is a problem for us.We thank you for choosing Malta.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We have just returned on 1st Feb, and can thoroughly recommend the hotel. Although we would say it's more a 3* rating, it was excellent value for money. We were on a half board basis, and put to an apartment in the annexe, which was spacious and comfortable. Floors were mopped every day,clean towels daily, and bedding changed 3 times over the week. Temperatures outside were cooler than we had anticipated,(sunny every day though) but used the blankets provided, and the air conditioning unit doubled as our heating. The food was delicious and offered a decent variety, plus a large selection of salads with cold meats, savouy rice and pasta, etc. Staff were efficient, polite. helpful and often quite jolly, which created a happy friendly environment. This is our second trip to Malta and it was wonderful to be back again, the hotel was well situated for sight seeing and the bus stop was across the road, where you could travel all over the island..There are so many beauiful places to see, and when the bus returns to Buggiba bus station, a good tip is to stay on the bus as it will pass the hotel on it's way out again. (unless you want the walk which only takes 10-15 mins). We are a couple in our 50's, and like to go out in the evenings. the hotel is ideally situated to go to a large variety of bars in either Buggiba or neighbouring Qwara. If you like live music, we'd recommend Fat Harry's Bar just up from Buggiba Square, where there is live music every night from 9.30pm., especially on Saturdays when an amazing Maltese Band called 'Colour Blind' perform. Excellent holiday and hotel, and lovely people. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank sandrajt_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaltaCorrection, Manager at Bella Vista Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

We thank you for your review.It is nice when guests feel we give excellent value for money.Our managment team is around the guests all day , so we know what guests are expecting from us.
We discuss guests reviews and questionaires very regularly and impliment any changes needed when this is possible. Guests are welcome to discuss any problems with us , rather than leave it too late to rectify.Glad you liked the food including our pastas and soups.The hotel is not far from rthe centre of Bugibba, 10 minutes from the back door or you can use the free shuttle bus service if you do not want to walk.Glad you enjoyed your holiday, hope you will visit our beautiful island again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Qawra
0.4 mi away
Soreda Hotel
Soreda Hotel
#4 of 15 in Qawra
2,102 reviews
0.6 mi away
Canifor Hotel
Canifor Hotel
#13 of 15 in Qawra
1,858 reviews
0.7 mi away
Qawra Palace Hotel
Qawra Palace Hotel
#6 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sunflower Hotel
Sunflower Hotel
#6 of 15 in Qawra
818 reviews
0.5 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
0.6 mi away
Park Lane Aparthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bella Vista Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Vista Hotel

Address: Qawra Coast Road, Qawra, Island of Malta SPB 1908, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Qawra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Qawra
Price Range: $34 - $621 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bella Vista Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bella Vista Hotel is a modern 4 Star Hotel consisting of 157 rooms with a turnover of 300 guests per week. All rooms are well appointed with balcony and a bathroom en-suite with most of the rooms having picturesque country views and pool views. Room facilities include Air Conditioning, Central Heating, Satellite TV, Radio, Ceiling Fan, Hair Drier and a Direct Dialing Telephone. The following are available at an extra charge: Safe, Frigo Bar and Tea & Coffee making facilities. The Highlands Restaurant serves an exciting choice of Mediterranean cuisine. Our Outdoor Swimming pool is serviced from the Pool Bar while the Roof Top Terrace has a swim spa with bar facilities during the summer period. The Mondrian Café serves snacks throughout the day. Live music is held 6 times weekly at D` Tate Lounge Bar. The Hotel is also equipped with 3 Conference Rooms, Indoor Pool, Gym, Sauna, Jacuzzi, Massage Service, Internet Café, Games Room and Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bella Vista Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bella Vista Hotel Malta/Qawra
Bella Vista Qawra
Hotel Bella Vista Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing