We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ON ITS WAY OUT”
Review of Bella Vista Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bella Vista Hotel
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Qawra
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“ON ITS WAY OUT”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

The hotel rooms were not clean, we had 2 days of only cold water, sheets were grey, as were the towels and the pillows were like bags of old rags. The cover on the bed was unclean. The shower was dirty, the toilet stained. The Reception staff unhelpful. I have never been to a hotel before where there were queues to complain most days. The food was OK, much the same each day, but OK and the restaurant staff were helpful and very accommodating. It felt like a hotel that once was a 4 star but had seen (lots of) better days. They seem to be fire fighting all the time. Fortunately we did not let it spoil our holiday as Malta is beautiful. Just give this place a miss.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mdj820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaltaCorrection, Manager at Bella Vista Hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
thank you for your contribution.Unfortunately guest expect a lot more than they pay for and end up disappointed.We are sorry you were unhappy with everything.We always tell our guests when we answer reviews that the hotel managers are here all day,and when something is not to your liking tell us about it. Many times minor complaints can be rectified in a minute, unfortunately nothing can be done for this guest after departure.We thank you for your remarks about the food and restaurant staff.We are pleased you enjoyed your holiday in Malta.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,744 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    458
    439
    320
    297
See reviews for
317
948
75
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (525)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here in July 2012 as a friend was getting married in Malta. Had never been to Malta before, stumbled across this hotel at a reasonable price for myself and the other members of our party, we statues all inclusive. For the price this hotel was great!

There was a good selection of food and drink, the service was good and staff friendly. The outside pool struggles for sunshine due to its location but there is a large roof terrace with a cooling jacuzzi which is gorgeous, with beautiful views.

The rooms are to a reasonable standard and are clean.

The only downside, which did dampen our holiday, was that there were lots of European students at summer school. (about 100 in total) they were not supervised and were totally unruly and very bad mannered! Two of the boys burst my young nephews rubber ring on purpose which upset him greatly! The staff who were meant to be monitoring these children could not be found....once they were located they made the boys buy my nephew another rubber ring, but if you want a quiet holiday please check before that the majority of the hotel will not be inundated with children at summer school!

Aside from this, we had a great holiday

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katielou28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaltaCorrection, Manager at Bella Vista Hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
we thank you for a nice review.Glad your party had a good stay with us and they enjoyed the food
and the frienliness of our staff.The roof terrace is a beautiful place to get a sun tan during the summer months and any other sunny day in Autumn/ winter.We are sorry about the incident of your child , I hope this did not hinder you from enjoying your stay.Thank you for choosing Malta, and hope to have you with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed at the Bella Vista in October 2012. Overall it was a good stay and we were well looked after by the staff servicing the rooms and the restaurant staff. The rooms were kept clean with fresh towels provided as required. The food was varied and well prepared and as it was buffet service it was plentiful. However the holiday was sadly marred by an incident on the last day, We had been advised by our holiday rep that since we arrived at the hotel at 1.30 a.m. and were not leaving the hotel until after lunch we could have lunch on the last day. The hotel initially disputed this on the grounds that we had been offered a "cold platter" on arrival and refused it - technically true but who wants to eat at 1.30 a.m. especially after an in-flight meal? The hotel did condede this and allowed us to have lunch.

The location is pleasant being opposite the Salini National Park (beware if you get insect bites easily and wear insect repellant!). The bus stop is almost opposite the hotel but coming back it goes into Bugibba first so we got off at the roundabout and walked the 5 or so minutes to the hotel.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the pool and since the bar was open until 1.00 a.m. there was sometimes some ext...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bertie65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaltaCorrection, Manager at Bella Vista Hotel, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
we appreciate your remarks about our housekeeping and restaurant staff.We are pleased you liked the food .We apologise about the incident of the lunch, but the holiday rep was not correct when he advised you could go in for lunch.The hotel does not have guests arrival times , so we prepare dinner also for arriving guests. Guests who do not come in by 20.00 are given a cold platter. IF a guest refuses the platter we have no choice but to throw it away the following morning.So the hotel would have prepared a dinner and a cold platter for these guests. We agreed to offer a complimentary lunch to these guests for good relations sake.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

My wife and I have been going to the Bella Vista since 2003 and can honestly say that it is good value. Sadly my wife passed away last year and my last visit was as a solo traveller, so I have experienced two of the categories listed and have enjoyed both. Some of the reviews I have read are valid e.g. the towels were not sparkling white but the food is good.The restaurant supervisors and staff and the chefs are a credit to the hotel. The house-keeping staff are very pleasant and do a great job. It is a nice size hotel - not too big, but big enough to support regular entertainment which is quite good. The night reception staff were very helpful and friendly and check in very easy. It is a bit of a walk into town but the hotel offers free transport or you can use the local bus service. A bus rover ticket cost me 12 euros for seven days unlimited travel all over Malta and the bus stop is very close to the hotel.There is a shop in the hotel and vending machines available at all times which I found very handy. Overall this hotel has everything you need for a memorable holiday and I look forward to going back for many years to come. Chris Barradale. Southampton.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking pool get most sun but higher floors also get nice views of countryside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaltaCorrection, Manager at Bella Vista Hotel, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
We thank you for another good review. We agree that our staff are a credit to our hotel, they make our guests feel welcome , and nothing is a problem for them.We offer free shuttle bus service during the day till 23.00 hours to the centre of BUGIBBA/ QAWRA.The hotel shop is more like a village shop where you can buy neccesities like shampoo, sovenirs, newspapers and a lot more at very good prices.Glad you enjoy your stay with us, it is nice when guests return to their second home.We thank you for choosing Malta .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ballater
Level Contributor
175 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Many guests are ignorant of the Q.A. system and the criterion used to set the star rating of an accommodation provider.For the price paid on our all inclusive six night stay you could not fault the variety and quality of food and all staff were very helpful and friendly and always came quickly to show your to your table to order your drinks before your meals.The rooms were a good size with quality bedding,protectors etc.In October the sun is lower and in places round the pool it is shaded but there is always the roof terrace.If a higher quality of four star is required there is a Hotel in Mellieha at 200 euros p.p.p.n.

Room Tip: Inland view on a wing off the main corridor(not the internal rooms)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank theo15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaltaCorrection, Manager at Bella Vista Hotel, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
thank you for a realistic review.We appreciate this review enen more as it is coming from a guest
who has travelled all over and knows when a hotel is good value or not.We thank you for your remarks about our staff and food.The guests get a good deal whether on BB, HB and allinclusive.
Ithink guests have to keep in mind what they are paying for accomodation before expecting the impossible.We know there are allinclusive hotels who give their guests cocktails and other things, but the rates charged are twice sometimes four times what we charge.Thanks again for your review and we hope to have you back in Malta soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Lucky for us we read the sign that said the bar on the roof terrace was shut in October - but the terrace was open so no need to sneak towels up and place on the beds during the night.

Great hotel and only down side to hotel no large pool with direct sunlight.

Food good but would of liked more choice of salad as not a big meat eater.

Staff friendly and helpful.

Hotel offer a free shuttle bus into local town which is great.

Would highly recommend the south open bus tour of the island which included an hour boat trip around the harbour, for only 15 euros.

Room Tip: do not go for an internal facing room unless you want to look directly at your neighbour!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarah c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaltaCorrection, Manager at Bella Vista Hotel, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
We thank you for telling our future guests about your stay with us.Glad you enjoyed the food and you taught the staff was friendly and helpful.The open top bus is a must to see the best places on the island, among them, Marsaxlokk, Mdina, Rabat and a lot more.Thank you for choosing Malta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

no way is this a 4 star hotel.it might have the facilities but not the class.the outdoor pool was dirty and is built up all round so gets no sun and is therefore freezing.the indoor pool is tiny.the food is monotonous with very little choice.(there was 3 nights out of a week we walked out without eating)and as for being all inclusive thats a joke.apart from the drinks(which you have to pay for after 11 pm)the meal times were 07-30/0930 breakfast 12-30/1-30 lunch and 17-45/20-00 dinner. snacks 10-00/12-30 and 13-30/15-00!!there was nothing like icecreams for kids which was a disappointment for some families.you have to pay for tv remote,kettle safe (thats ok cos thats usual)but you also had to pay to use the fridge in your room (1st time in over 15 years of traveling abroad).we were left only 2 bath towels one day (no mat or hand towels)the hairdryer blew cold hair and was only fixed 2 days before we left and the lifts kept breaking down.oh and the best of it we went out one day and came back to find they had changed the lock on the door for a swipe card but didnt inform us so after trailing up two flights of stairs with the key(yes they gave me the key)I had to go back down and tell them.ps it also happened to other people.if you can get this cheap on b&b its ok but dont expect what you pay for.read all the reviews and youll find theres plenty more like mine.

Room Tip: difficult because rooms on the front are noisy(busy road)some rooms on side overlooking pool get no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dav1d49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaltaCorrection, Manager at Bella Vista Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
thank you for your review.We still have guests swimming daily in the outdoor pool in October,
don't forget this is not August and it is normal that the water is cooler than in summer.I think
you could have spoken to our managers if things were not what you expected.The allinclusive
package is offered as per contracts signed with all tour operators including time we serve drinks and food.One day the maid forgot to give you a hand towel, is this a very big problem.If you called reception we would have sent one in a few minutes..The lock system are being changed to a card system, probably the receptionist was not yet advised by our contractor.We apologise if there was some shortcomings from our staff .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Qawra
0.4 mi away
Soreda Hotel
Soreda Hotel
#4 of 15 in Qawra
1,960 reviews
0.7 mi away
Qawra Palace Hotel
Qawra Palace Hotel
#6 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,633 reviews
0.6 mi away
Canifor Hotel
Canifor Hotel
#14 of 15 in Qawra
1,722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
0.3 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,494 reviews
0.4 mi away
San Pawl Hotel
San Pawl Hotel
#11 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bella Vista Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Vista Hotel

Property: Bella Vista Hotel
Address: Qawra Coast Road, Qawra, Island of Malta SPB 1908, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Qawra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Qawra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bella Vista Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bella Vista Hotel is a modern 4 Star Hotel consisting of 157 rooms with a turnover of 300 guests per week. All rooms are well appointed with balcony and a bathroom en-suite with most of the rooms having picturesque country views and pool views. Room facilities include Air Conditioning, Central Heating, Satellite TV, Radio, Ceiling Fan, Hair Drier and a Direct Dialing Telephone. The following are available at an extra charge: Safe, Frigo Bar and Tea & Coffee making facilities. The Highlands Restaurant serves an exciting choice of Mediterranean cuisine. Our Outdoor Swimming pool is serviced from the Pool Bar while the Roof Top Terrace has a swim spa with bar facilities during the summer period. The Mondrian Café serves snacks throughout the day. Live music is held 6 times weekly at D` Tate Lounge Bar. The Hotel is also equipped with 3 Conference Rooms, Indoor Pool, Gym, Sauna, Jacuzzi, Massage Service, Internet Café, Games Room and Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Bella Vista Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bella Vista Hotel Malta/Qawra
Bella Vista Qawra
Hotel Bella Vista Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing