We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely hotel spoiled by some guests” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bella Vista Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bella Vista Hotel
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Qawra
Dollar, Scotland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A lovely hotel spoiled by some guests”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2011

We have just returned from a glorious week at the Bella Vista, Qawra, Malta. Although described as 4 star we did feel that 3 star would have been more accurate. Notwithstanding the room was comfortable, clean and well maintained and the food was excellent.
The meals were buffet style - offering, for breakfast - a choice of cereal with milk or yoghurt and delicious fresh fruit, continental meats, cheeses and breads, cooked breakfast of bacon, sausage, eggs, beans, tomatoes, fried bread, continental cakes and buns, toast, fruit juice, tea and coffee. Dinner consisted of antipasti, either soup or a pasta dish, a choice of 3 meat/fish dishes and a variety of sweets or biscuits and cheese. The wine was very reasonably priced at 4.50e for a litre of house red. Other drinks were equally reasonable.
The roof terrace was a definite plus as was the outdoor pool. The staff were all helpful and friendly.
We used City Sightseeing open top bus tours both the north and the south route. We either caught the bus outside or were picked up by minibus outside the hotel. ( in Buggiba beware of touts for bus tours and time shares) The free harbour cruise from Sliema to Valetta was excellent. In Marsaxlokk avoid the Cafe de Paris - maybe we just hit a bad day.
In Mdina we ate at the panoramic Fontanella tea house and beer garden - fantastic.
We also travelled to Gozo by local bus and ferry - a grand day out . Victoria is a must see with its breathtaking citadel.
The big downside of the holiday was the presence in the hotel of 70 Italian schoolchildren who were noisy and totally inconsiderate towards other guests. For example, they used the indoor swimming pool in the basement then got into the lift without bothering to dry themselves meaning everyone else was treated to puddles on the lift floor. Fortunately they took their meals in a separate area but congregated outside smoking afterwards, then ran out and in the hotel shouting to each other. They also shouted from balcony to balcony on 3 levels. Although there were a few teachers with the students they did not appear to control them in any way and the hotel staff did not seem to be able to do much either. Some guests who had adjoining rooms had to be moved to other accomodation because of the noise at night. When I complained I was told that these ones were mild compared to the French ones the previous week. They were under the auspices of NSTS School Euro and I would strongly advise anyone to check before booking whether the hotel was likely to take such school parties along with normal paying guests. Certainly this will be my policy in the future. I would only recommend this hotel with the proviso that there were no school parties.

Room Tip: William's taxis are good value and reliable
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dollarite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,695 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    442
    429
    309
    291
See reviews for
312
923
73
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (516)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2011

Thoroughly enjoyed our week here, was slightly disappointed initially that we were not in the main hotel as booked, but the spaciousness of the suite we were in up the road more than made up for it. the food was always good and you could have as much as you wanted and the waiting staff were very attentive.
If you are looking for a high class hotel maybe this is not for you, but if you want a good bed, good food and very reasonable prices and prefer to enjoy your time in Malta rather than sit about and whinge all week, then i recommend you give it a try

Room Tip: A bit out of town,free transfers to bus station,
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kenny054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaltaCorrection, Manager at Bella Vista Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2011
It gives us great pleasure when guests enjoy themselves at Bella Vista.The suites have a really nice country views, including Salina salt pans, Mosta Dome and Mdina. Our young staff in the restaurant are mostly students at college or sitting for their A levels, They enjoy their job
and are always there when the guests need anything. Guests should follow your advice and
enjoy the beautiful sites and museums all over Malta.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2011

Stayed in Bella Vista Suite for 3 nights cost €11 per night for half board by booking with fresh holidays.com -hb roulette. Had four single beds, kitchen, seating area and ensuite.-EXTREMELY GOOD VALUE! Food was mediterian, fine for me and friend. Always plenty of choice, fresh salad and nice bread a fish and meat dish. Tip if going for more than 3 days hire a car - you can rent for as little as £8 daily. Transport is okay until about 9 p.m. then you are stuck in the resort. Very satisfied customer, happy with the standard and definitely the cost.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BESTIE059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaltaCorrection, Manager at Bella Vista Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2011
Your review is appreciated. You got yourself a very good deal, with the money you paid you hardly a burger and drink in the UK.Guests can hire a car at the hotel for a very good price. It is not difficult to go round, and if you haver problems everyone will help you.Glad we had another satisfied customer, mind you most of them are not very easy to please.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goole
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2011

I stayed at the bella vista for a second time the last week in March as an independant traveller. The hotel offers v good value for all incusive.food is good and allways hot.Drinks are good quality.The only 2 points i would agree with are that 1. corridoors do require extra light on a night and 2.the lift has a mind of its own. I will return one day thats if the rumours that the hotel is closing are not correct, I believe in good value the bella vista gives you that staff are helpful and polite.Made some good friends and had some good laughs...

Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank booyabox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaltaCorrection, Manager at Bella Vista Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2011
thanks for a realistic revue.We honestly try our best to give the customers value for the money they pay.We will soon be looking into the problem of extra lighting in the corridors, and other areas. It is also true one of the lifts has given us a lot of problems lately, and we had to replace
a lot of its mechanism. The Bella Vista Hotel is not closing down, we are nearly fully booked all summer, some people say a lot of things, the truth is we are full all year round, while other hotels around us open for only 6 / 8 months a year.Thank you for choosing Malta, see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
149 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2011

We have recently returned from a two week break at the Bella Vista and unfortunately agree with all the previous negative reviews. As soon as you walk into the hotel you are greeted with a stale, greasy odour. The check-in was speedy and efficient (50 euro returnable deposit required). We were initially given a four bedded room (later told this was one of the better rooms) for the two of us. Although the room was spacious, the balcony was extremely small and as it was an end room there was a wall to the left hand side of the balcony which meant the room had very little natural light. We asked to be moved and changed rooms the following morning. Unfortunately this room smelt strongly of smoke and we mentioned this to the maid who gave us an air freshener. We actually went through two to try and clear the smell but to no avail. We couldn't even escape the smell of smoke sat on the balcony. The room was terribly noisy throughout the night with the hotel aircon coming on and off so if you are a light sleeper, as I am, be warned you will not go home feeling refreshed.

The indoor pool area in the basement had no natural light or ventilation and was poorly lit, dreary and damp and the pool was very cold. We gave up after two visits.

We thought the food was quite good, well cooked and hot but the salad selection was virtually the same each evening as were the desserts. The dining area lacked atmosphere and was rather dingy and not the place you'd want to linger over your meal.

Qawra, as our guide book said was 'full of tawdry bars and uninspiring restaurants' and we totally agreed. Fortunately the bus station was the saving grace so there was no problem getting out and about the beautiful island which we did on a daily basis.

We have done a lot of travelling round the world and have to say this is one of the worst hotels we have stayed in. Unfortunately star ratings are given on amenities (whether good or bad) and this hotel certainly lacks all the qualities of a four star.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angieManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaltaCorrection, Manager at Bella Vista Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2011
thank you for your negative comments. Unfortunately some guests smoke in rooms , the law forbids smoking in public areas only.We changed your room within a few hours.The indoor pool like in many other hotels is in level - 1.The water temperature of the pool is checked everyday .The restaurant overlooks the pool area, and far from dingy.You took a negative attitude at everything. I suggest next time you are in Malta, look for the Malta Hilton or the Corinthia hotels maybe these 5 star hotels would be perfect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Qawra hotels

carnforth
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2011

We went to Malta for the first time,after going to Greece for the last 40 years.After reading the mixed reviews on here we decided to give it a chance.The room was comfortable,Michelle the maid was one of only two of the staff who were friendly,the rest were the most miserable lot we have ever encountered
The downstairs pool is so murky,that if you get past the smell of chemicals,you certainly would not want to use it,you would need a shower afterwards if you did.The roof terrace is reasonably pleasant,but the so called spa is full of dirt and no water.
For a "supposed" four star,it should not rate even a two.The black hole of Calcutta would be a better description,it's so gloomy in the corridors.
Now for the food ,the salads are excellent,the rest apart from two edible meals in the two weeks we stayed were absolutely AWFUL,we accept it may be maltese cuisine but it should be at least edible,I love my food but I left more than iI ate Weight watchers would love this place,OK it's reasonably priced and we didn't expect the Ritz,but this is THE worst "hotel" we have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hedonist39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaltaCorrection, Manager at Bella Vista Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2011
thank you for your feedback. Most of our staff are young students who enjoy working with people,surely they are not a miserable lot. Unfortunately some guests take it on the staff even if the they do not like the room , or the weather is not good.We have to treat the indoor pool everyday , and beacause it is a closed area , there could sometimes be a smell of chemicals.
The SPA on the roof is used in the summer months , we will fill it with water around May.Since you are such a negative guest I suggest you should choose 5 star hotels when you travel, and not pay the cost of a pint and a pie in your local and expect the Hilton.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2011

just had two great weeks at the bella vista, rooms are ample in size, cleaned every day, maids and cleaners very good, food was great at times but always plenty of choice, restaurant staff very good would definately tell freinds to go to this hotel, a great park over the road to sit in etc, and the weather in the past weeks has been great. the recesptionist was extremely helpful and is a treasure to the hotel. there is a free bus service outside the hotel. so don't be put of go and enjoy malta.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jakeandjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaltaCorrection, Manager at Bella Vista Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2011
thanks for a lovely review.I do not know why some guests can be so negative. we appreciate your remarks about about our restaurant staff evern though a guest called them " a miserable lot. i think you have a saying that goes "it takes one to know one" We try our best , surely we are not perfect but we give an honest deal to our customers, and that is why they come back.
Thank you for choosing Malta.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Qawra
0.4 mi away
Soreda Hotel
Soreda Hotel
#4 of 16 in Qawra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,898 reviews
0.0 mi away
Canifor Hotel
Canifor Hotel
#14 of 16 in Qawra
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,660 reviews
0.4 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Qawra Palace Hotel
Qawra Palace Hotel
#6 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,495 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Santana
Hotel Santana
#4 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,345 reviews
0.9 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bella Vista Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Vista Hotel

Property: Bella Vista Hotel
Address: Qawra Coast Road, Qawra, Island of Malta SPB 1908, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Qawra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Qawra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bella Vista Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bella Vista Hotel is a modern 4 Star Hotel consisting of 157 rooms with a turnover of 300 guests per week. All rooms are well appointed with balcony and a bathroom en-suite with most of the rooms having picturesque country views and pool views. Room facilities include Air Conditioning, Central Heating, Satellite TV, Radio, Ceiling Fan, Hair Drier and a Direct Dialing Telephone. The following are available at an extra charge: Safe, Frigo Bar and Tea & Coffee making facilities. The Highlands Restaurant serves an exciting choice of Mediterranean cuisine. Our Outdoor Swimming pool is serviced from the Pool Bar while the Roof Top Terrace has a swim spa with bar facilities during the summer period. The Mondrian Café serves snacks throughout the day. Live music is held 6 times weekly at D` Tate Lounge Bar. The Hotel is also equipped with 3 Conference Rooms, Indoor Pool, Gym, Sauna, Jacuzzi, Massage Service, Internet Café, Games Room and Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Bella Vista Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bella Vista Hotel Malta/Qawra
Bella Vista Qawra
Hotel Bella Vista Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing