We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel”
Review of Soreda Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Soreda Hotel
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Qawra
Reviewed April 3, 2014

I stayed at Soreda Hotel from 29th March to 2nd April. I was travelling alone so chose 4* All Inclusive option which was 'a star deal' on Travel Republic, quite reasonably priced for a solo traveller. The hotel was very busy as it was a Maltese Bank Holiday weekend. I was woken up a couple of times over the stay by noisy/boisterous neighbours! Food was good for All Inclusive. Good choices of fish/meat/vegetarian every night. Desserts plentiful & good. Staff are very happy to help, barmen, cleaners, helpful reception staff, all very polite & friendly. Bed wasn't too comfortable. Shampoo & shower gel provided. Shower was powerful & hot. Room was large although a little dark. Entertainment was good although that's a matter of own taste. I would not hesitate to book Soreda again, the hotel attracts honest decent people.....many return year after year which in itself is a good review. Sjx

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SarahEuropeanQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,047)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,061 - 1,067 of 2,047 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2014

We are here
currently the staff are wonderful the food is great loads to choose from the rooms are spacious there are three of us in our room and still room to move piping hot water for showers and bath close to main bus routes and other entertainment loving it xxxx

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Pauline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Along with two pals spent four days in Malta staying 3 nights at the Soreda. Great value for money as we only there for three days had bb only but ate in the hotel one evening great food great value there was a good variety of food and most nights are themed nights I,e, on our first night it was a Maltese night where we sampled local cuisine, excellent. Friendly staff who go out of their way to ensure that you have a comfortable and enjoyable stay. As stated in previous reviews not on the beach but is just a couple of roads from the promenade at Qawra. It is only a mere 10 minutes walk from the bus station where for just 1 euro 50 you can get an al lday bus ticket and can get buses to Valetta and other places of interest (if you want a weekly pass it is only 6 euros 50. Ignore anyone at the bus station with all sorts of offers, just wait for the bus. They are just touting for you to sign up for holiday clubs.
It was too early in the year to use either the outdoor pool or the rooftop pool but there is an excellent indoor pool in the basement with a gymnasium and spa. Finally if you are looking for a good base to tour around the island try the Soreda you will not be disappointed in the whole experience. Good food, excellent staff and comfortable rooms.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

The Soreda is in the quiet town of Qawra next to the larger, more lively town of Bugibba. We stayed in march on all inclusive and found the place to be nice & quiet. The hotel is not on the seafront and probably doesn't have sea views from any rooms apart from a distant view. The room decoration is a little tired but is large enough and comfortable. The staff are all very friendly and ensure you have a good stay. The restaurant is excellent. The food was well above the standard we expected. The staff were extremely efficient. Plates were removed from the table as soon as you had finished. The variety of food on offer was varied and plentiful. The people that moan about lack of variety, probably only eat meat and two veg for every meal. The beef curry deserves a special mention. The cakes and fruit pies are very moreish and as a result, the diet starts tomorrow! There is internet access in reception area, but no Facebook or Twitter. This is probably because the reception would be permanently full of people on their phones updating. There's always Macdonalds in Bugibba if you need to Facebook or its available in the hotel on a pay basis from the computers by reception. The bus service on the island is a absolute bargain. €6.50 per week/per person. Buy tickets from Bugibba bus station, about 15 mins walk away. This gives you access to the whole island. The buses can get crowded but if you get on at the bus station, you get first dibs on seats. My favourite visit was St John's catacombs in Rabat with audio. The town of Mdina is next to Rabat and also well worth a visit. Try to avoid the touts, normally at bus station in bugibba or getting out of cars whilst you're waiting for a bus. They will offer you free open top bus tours, free holidays, bottles of wine, just for looking at a hotel that's being built. They say it will be a quick in & out and they will give you a lift there, but when there, they get you to sign up to agree to a presentation for a "minimum" of 1 hour, where you will be subjected to a hard sell for membership to a holiday company, which will probably cost you a load of money & limit you to their resorts. They always ask if you're British as well, so they obviously aren't allowed to mug any other nationalities. Just give them a firm "no thank you" and walk away. Back to the Soreda. If you're looking for a cheap all inclusive base from which to explore the island of Malta, with good food and friendly staff, you can't go wrong. The outdoor pools on roof & courtyard weren't being used as it was too cold in march but the indoor one on level -2 was in use & quite warm, also a well equipped gym on same level to burn off those cakes you've just eaten! If I came back to Malta I would definitely stay at the Soreda :-)

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
7  Thank mibungi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

We were happy to go back to the Soreda hotel for another week in Malta. The hotel was still excellent value and we had the all inclusive deal. The food was fine but I would have liked to have had more local dishes available as options - it seemed much more geared to an older generation. The hotel was clean and the staff were friendly. We had a nice room and housekeeping was efficient. The rooftop pool was open but still a little bit chilly for swimming. While the area isn't terribly exciting, it's very easy to hop on a bus at the nearby bus station to get around the island or up to the ferry to Gozo - buses are only 6.5 euros for a weekly ticket which is great value!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hannie303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

recently back from our stay at the Soreda hotel. Lovely big bedroom fully functional however: two single beds on wheels were a challenge when a double bed was requested and the view of a wall was a challenge. Our first impression was a butlins/Pontins type hotel (no insult meant to those two companies) very tired building. The staff we felt were very welcoming and worked long hours to enhance our experience. The food was average and cooked in bulk so the flavours were lacking. We were all inclusive, this meant we were limited from 1100-2300hrs including access to bottled drinking water (pre-stock your fridge with water) the bar was well stocked and met our needs, though a bigger selection of wines would have been nice.

We had the pleasure of experiencing a Maltese ladies bingo which started as breakfast finished which meant about 200 ladies stormed the resturant whilst we were supping our morning tea. we watched one guest being harrased by a group of ladies who clearly sit at the table he was on!

Don't bother pre-booking late check out unless you confirm with the hotel as this would have cost an extra 30 euros.

For our type of holiday (we like to site see and explore)the hotel was functional with the bus station within easy access to all the best sites; Valetta, mdina & cathedral most (just too name a few)

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Clive M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

take plenty of warm clothes hotel was so cold people were wrapping themselves in blankets in the lounges food was not bad but cold by the time we got it to the table staff told people to wear more clothes if they were cold we felt that the holiday companies were screwing the hotel to the ground to save money hotel quite a long way from beach in a small back street

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank pauline f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Qawra
0.3 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
0.3 mi away
Qawra Palace Hotel
Qawra Palace Hotel
#7 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,812 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Lane Aparthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Dolmen Resort Hotel
#2 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,897 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Santana
Hotel Santana
#4 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,551 reviews
0.1 mi away
Il Palazzin Hotel
Il Palazzin Hotel
#5 of 15 in Qawra
754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soreda Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soreda Hotel

Address: Andrew Cunningham Street, Qawra, Island of Malta SPB 1744, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Qawra
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Qawra
#4 Luxury Hotel in Qawra
Price Range: $54 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Soreda Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 192
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Soreda Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soreda Hotel Qawra
Soreda Hotel Malta/Qawra
Hotel Malta Soreda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing