We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel just ok”
Review of Soreda Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Soreda Hotel
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Qawra
Reviewed November 1, 2012

I was in the hotel from 20th October to 27th October. Food offers a lot of choice, soup, salads and various meats, fish and pasta and vegetarian.
The rooms are a different story I was in room 112, it was dated, not very clean, as in the bathroom had mould and was very very dark.
Be sure if you go there to ask for room 426 or 321 as they obviously have been refurbished and are clean and bright. Do not settle for less
Hotel staff,,, well reception not at all nice!. The bar staff, not being ageist, the young men and women are a delight the older ones are grumpy to say the least.
I would not recommend this hotel for a lot of reasons and this is the first time I have commented on a trip because I was so disappointed..

Room Tip: Do not get a room at the front. Buses come and go all times of the day and night. Look at your room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Katie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,118)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,432 - 1,438 of 2,118 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2012

I stayed for a week with a bunch of friends. We were missing one bed in one of the rooms due to a foul up by the travel agent.The hotel staff did their best to sort it out and uprated us to a suite from a family room to compensate us. The hotel is maybe a little tired but not bad and everywhere was kept very clean especially the rooms.The staff were polite and friendly and all speak excellent English. The food is a self service buffet which I would describe as perfectly serviceable,though dinner finishes at 20:45 so dont hang about in the shower too long. There was some form of entertainment on each night which some younger people might think a bit cheesy but for the average guest at this hotel was fine. It is not a 4 star by modern British standards but then it didnt cost 4 star money. If you want somewhere decent to flop and eat then the Soreda will do the job.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank YorkshireManinblack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Just back from a week AI and what a week it was. The food was outstanding- a different carvery each evening plus two meat dishes,a fish dish,pasta with varying sauces and more combinations of salad than I can remember. Also a different soup each night made from local vegetables. The locals go every Sunday- you can't say fairer than that. The rooms were very spacious,with twin beds two chairs and a table aswell as the dressing table - we were a group on 13 in rooms 335 onwards. However we were overlooked but when you see how close together buildings are in Malta, it;s a mere hitch. Entertainment was excellent and varied which is unusual at this time of year and appealled to all ages. There were a good selection of drinks on offer although the AI was only local beers and spirits. The hotel is in a side street but within 5 minutes walk of the main road and sea front and if you enjoy a stroll along the coast, within half an hour you are in the bustling town of Bugibba.
Highly recommended to all ages with 3 pools, a games room, internet cafe, 3 bars, TV lounge and very pleasant staff

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Hilary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Just returned from a weeks all inclusive and don't have a bad word to say about the hotel. I was apprehensive prior to going due to some of the reviews on here, but needn't have worried. Ok, so the hotel is a little tired in places and could do with some updating but overall it was clean and tidy. The bedrooms are fine, cleaned every day with fresh towels provided, although my parents did have one of those rooms whose balconies all overlook one another, but how long do you spend on a balcony? The food at all mealtimes was the best all inclusive food I have had, lots of choice everyday, food was kept hot and the plates were hot too. Soft drinks are branded and the local wine and beer was totally drinkable. People have complained on here about the attitude of staff but we found them all to be very friendly and poilte, especially Sharon the the restaurant manager, and they all work so hard. Having spoken to several people at the hotel I find that many of them have been coming to the Soreda for many years including one couple who have been coming twice a year for 18 years! We had no trouble getting sunbeds up on the roof terrace, though space might be an issue in the summer months, but there's so much to see and do in Malta you don't want to spend all your time sunbathing. We hired a car from a place in Qawra - next to the Qawra Palace Hotel - and it was only 50 euros for 3 days, great value and a good way to see the island, and do go on the local buses as they are so cheap, 2.60 euros day return to Valletta. Overall we had a great time at the Soreda and will definately be booking for next year.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank emgjdg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Hotel a bit out of the road but only 5min walk to main area. We were in room 143 which was on the ground floor of Main Street which had some sort of generator outside which was very noisy and room quite dark so if you are given this room please ask to be moved

Room Tip: A bit out of the road but only 5 min walk to main area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank char0311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

The Soreda's mixed reviews gave us some cause for concern, however, we decided to go with the majority view and booked seven nights AI as it was close to our Army re-union function pubs. We went in with eyes wide open and we fully understand that the Malta star system of accommodation grading is quite often wishful thinking and in some cases, downright fraudulent. We paid our money and took our chance but we knew the minute we pulled up outside, that we had made a bad decision. The place is generally scruffy and brown is a pre-dominant colour throughout. The corridors are dimly lit and the room we were shown on the ground floor seemed like it had not seen the light of day for some time. The twin beds were about under two feet off the floor and there was an unusual smell lingering. On pulling back the curtains we were surprised to see that the main road was 5 metres at the most away from the window. We did not look any further and marched back to reception. Our friends meanwhile had been sent to the 5th floor and their faces told it all as they too returned to the lobby. There was a bit of mumbling at reception and we were then offered a so called suite so of we trooped but again, it was dark, dingy and lacking in natural daylight. Clearly, from the reviews, there are those who are more than happy with the standard the Soreda has to offer and good luck to them. As far as we were concerned, we had seen enough to be satisfied that we could not stay there so we handed in the keys and beat a hasty retreat.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank BasilOswestry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Arrived late in the evening and due to a booking error we did not get the rooms that we were anticipating, We were asked to persevere for that one night and speak to reception in the morning. As a group of 4 adults we were not expecting to be give one double room and 2 singles in the lounge area. True to their word they did offer us another room albeit across the road in apartments (Sea Eagle) which was more than adequate with 2 good sized double rooms, shower and toilet, separate toilet. Lounge and kitchen area with the bonus of a superb view over the bay from the balcony. Staff all over the Hotel were excellent and more than happy to help. On all inclusive food can get rather repetitive but the quality cannot be faulted. Some of our group found the food on the upstairs terrace more to our liking ie toasties, burgers and chips. 10 minute walk to Bugibba (when you find the shortcut!!) which is a more lively area. All in all we cannot really find fault with this Hotel and would definitely return.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Awison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Qawra
0.3 mi away
Park Lane Aparthotel
0.3 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
0.3 mi away
Qawra Palace Hotel
Qawra Palace Hotel
#6 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Santana
Hotel Santana
#4 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,618 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Dolmen Resort Hotel
#2 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
3,003 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sunflower Hotel
Sunflower Hotel
#6 of 15 in Qawra
837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soreda Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soreda Hotel

Address: Andrew Cunningham Street, Qawra, Island of Malta SPB 1744, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Qawra
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Qawra
#4 Luxury Hotel in Qawra
Price Range: $65 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Soreda Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 192
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Soreda Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soreda Hotel Qawra
Soreda Hotel Malta/Qawra
Hotel Malta Soreda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing