We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just short of very good......”
Review of Soreda Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Soreda Hotel
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Qawra
Reviewed October 5, 2012

This hotel was good value and we enjoyed our stay. The hotel itself is a little tired in places check out the coving repairs towards the bottom of the restaurant for example. However the hotel is kept spotlessly clean with the cleanliness of the room excellent and the lady who did it was very friendly. Roof top bar had a good atmosphere in the evenings but very flimsy plastic glasses could cause some problems. Rooftop pool in good condition and well used. Food in general was guite good but at times some dishes were a little bland but always a good choice so you could find something tasty. The reception staff could do with a little hospitality training as they only ever acknowledged you when you were stood right in front of them also some of them could smile a little more. Whilst there I thought they could have utilised the inside loungebar and possibly put on the big screen TV for sporting events. These little niggles leave the Soreda just short of very good. Several bars close by our favourite was The Two Cherries. James and his family offer a very friendly service reasonably priced drinks anf good food to boot.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank johnbluefox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,075)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,412 - 1,418 of 2,075 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2012

went to the soreda in jun 2012.the hotel is very nice and well run.it is not too far from beach or town centre about 10 minute walk.beds are not the most comfortable but this is more than made up for by the rooftop pool and bar area.you can get burgers etc from roof bar for lunch or eat in main restaurant.the food is the best all inclusive i have ever had and my friends and i did not eat out once as it was so good.it is catered mainly to the english with roast meats most nights.ican only describe this hotel as excellent as nothing was too much trouble i was sorry to leave

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank harve79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Arrived at 10pm there were 3 of us and we had booked 2 rooms but the rooms we had given us were on 2 different floors. When we requested 2 on the same floor we were advised it was not possible but he asked a collegue to show us an alternative.This was a 2 bedroomed former self catering apartment whitch we accepted as it had so much room. The apartment was dated and the only room you could see to put makeup on had no mirror in, but it was very clean.

All the staff were friendly apart from one barman that worked on the rooftop bar. The food was very good but slightly repetitive. Entertainment was at the roof bar and if you are 70+ then you would probably rate it. Hotel slightly out of the way but ok if you don't mind walking.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 222JudyJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

On day 1 I experienced a set back with my Tea.I had asked for peppermint tea as I don't drink Tea or Coffee. I was told I had to buy my own, the second person I requested this from was the holiday Rep and she stated" If we supplied a different Tea for you then others may want something different like Cranberry juice or something" I almost replied, "So," Please tell me,why can't a supply of different teas be puchased? in an all inclusive holiday!
The bus drivers drive like they needed to arrive yesterday! hold tight and enjoy the ride.
The pick up from the airport was quick and easy. the driver was very informative towards where to go and what to do as it was our first time in Malta. A wonderful Island, so peaceful, with swimming in the sea so clean and clear, blue and accessible by ladders from all areas and pretty in most areas. Very hot, and very laid back. A few niggles to contend with but overall a lovely place to visit

Room Tip: Ask for a good one with working air con!! All rooms open on to a balcony but face another balcony as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Suzanne310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We, like others,had great difficulty in finding our way around the area at first as the street lighting is poor and there are few "landmarks" easily visible. However, once we got around in daylight it was fine. The hotel is very homely and the staff at reception, in the resturant, servicing the bedrooms, etc were friendly and efficient. Our only negative comments would be about the poor level of lighting in the bedrooms and on the staircases. The stairs can be difficult to negotiate as the edges of the steps are not easy to see. The buffet style meals had a reasonable range of food and was well presented. In places the decor needs refreshing, though in fairness some work had already started.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank liambt23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Stayed from 10/9/2012 - 19/9/2012, arrived 11.00am and had to wait a couple of hours for the room to be prepared, in the meantime was invited to use the roof bar for a drink. (Not free). Booked Half \board and was immediately asked if I wanted to upgrade to All Inclusive for a fee of €14 each per day. From 11.00 - 23.00hrs. (Declined it, glad I did). Shown to Room 227 which was first class, great size, good bathroom and overlooked he main street. Food was OK nothing to write home about, breakfast was reasonable although getting a coffee and toast was a fight, 2 toasters for 350 people (one of them only toasted one side), 2 coffee machines also, one of these were placed right next to the toasters which caused a bottle neck. Evening meal was much of a muchness, salads were the same every night and so to was the dessert. Main course varied and not exciting. Staff in the restaurant were fair although you could not leave your plates with food on whilst getting other items, if you did the plates were taken away. Facilities at the hotel were average, drinks were served in plastic cups at the roof bar, not to expensive and was on a par with the local bars. Loungers on the roof top terrace were fair, not enough really to go around, you had to be up early to grab them. usual towel brigade seemed to be up all night in order to reserve a lounger. Generally the hotel could do with a lick of paint especially at the roof top bar. Whilst we were there the lifts were constantly breaking down, one day they were out all day which was a bind especially when you wanted to to get to the 5th floor and back again.
The hotel catered mainly for English clients the majority of whom were in the early 70's or 80's which showed in the entertainment programmes. If you want a good hotel, (this by the way is not a 4* hotel, 3* at best.) then I would suggest you go elsewhere, it is good for the elderly but not for younger middle aged clients.
I have not reviewed the area as everyone to there own. Personally for us there was not enough variation in the area during the evenings, and after a couple of days we got bored.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank barry618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Returned from the Soreda on 9th September. The Hotel was clean and comfortable with a spacious dining room, comfortable lounge and library. Our room on the 4th floor had a sea view and had everything we needed, including daily fresh towels, tea/coffee making facilities, good shower/bath and plenty of space. The roof top swimming pool was ok and the water was tested daily, plenty of sun beds and a bar which offered evening entertainment. Free wi fi was ok but internet cafe was a bit expensive. Staff were friendly and helpful always. The selection of food in the dining room was very good ranging from bowls of various salads to carvery, and cakes; there was fresh bread and fruit available at every meal. All in all a good holiday! However, the day before we came home I began to feel ill; hubby soon followed. By the time we got home i was very ill indeed and hubby was poorly. Tests proved that we have had Salmonella poisoning; I have had my first normal, feeling ok day today 21/9/12. We only ate at the hotel so it could only have come from there. Suspect the source was the lovely bowls of salad. Sure it was a one off but be careful what you eat!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank LinL7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Qawra
0.3 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
0.3 mi away
Qawra Palace Hotel
Qawra Palace Hotel
#7 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,840 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Dolmen Resort Hotel
#2 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Park Lane Aparthotel
0.3 mi away
Sunflower Hotel
Sunflower Hotel
#6 of 15 in Qawra
800 reviews
0.1 mi away
Il Palazzin Hotel
Il Palazzin Hotel
#5 of 15 in Qawra
768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soreda Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soreda Hotel

Address: Andrew Cunningham Street, Qawra, Island of Malta SPB 1744, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Qawra
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Qawra
#4 Luxury Hotel in Qawra
Price Range: $53 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Soreda Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 192
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Soreda Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soreda Hotel Qawra
Soreda Hotel Malta/Qawra
Hotel Malta Soreda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing