We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“friendliness and food in great supply” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Soreda Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Soreda Hotel
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Qawra
newtownards
Level Contributor
161 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“friendliness and food in great supply”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

We, like others,had great difficulty in finding our way around the area at first as the street lighting is poor and there are few "landmarks" easily visible. However, once we got around in daylight it was fine. The hotel is very homely and the staff at reception, in the resturant, servicing the bedrooms, etc were friendly and efficient. Our only negative comments would be about the poor level of lighting in the bedrooms and on the staircases. The stairs can be difficult to negotiate as the edges of the steps are not easy to see. The buffet style meals had a reasonable range of food and was well presented. In places the decor needs refreshing, though in fairness some work had already started.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank liambt23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,894 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    480
    737
    366
    169
    142
See reviews for
483
871
104
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (510)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, England
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

Stayed from 10/9/2012 - 19/9/2012, arrived 11.00am and had to wait a couple of hours for the room to be prepared, in the meantime was invited to use the roof bar for a drink. (Not free). Booked Half \board and was immediately asked if I wanted to upgrade to All Inclusive for a fee of €14 each per day. From 11.00 - 23.00hrs. (Declined it, glad I did). Shown to Room 227 which was first class, great size, good bathroom and overlooked he main street. Food was OK nothing to write home about, breakfast was reasonable although getting a coffee and toast was a fight, 2 toasters for 350 people (one of them only toasted one side), 2 coffee machines also, one of these were placed right next to the toasters which caused a bottle neck. Evening meal was much of a muchness, salads were the same every night and so to was the dessert. Main course varied and not exciting. Staff in the restaurant were fair although you could not leave your plates with food on whilst getting other items, if you did the plates were taken away. Facilities at the hotel were average, drinks were served in plastic cups at the roof bar, not to expensive and was on a par with the local bars. Loungers on the roof top terrace were fair, not enough really to go around, you had to be up early to grab them. usual towel brigade seemed to be up all night in order to reserve a lounger. Generally the hotel could do with a lick of paint especially at the roof top bar. Whilst we were there the lifts were constantly breaking down, one day they were out all day which was a bind especially when you wanted to to get to the 5th floor and back again.
The hotel catered mainly for English clients the majority of whom were in the early 70's or 80's which showed in the entertainment programmes. If you want a good hotel, (this by the way is not a 4* hotel, 3* at best.) then I would suggest you go elsewhere, it is good for the elderly but not for younger middle aged clients.
I have not reviewed the area as everyone to there own. Personally for us there was not enough variation in the area during the evenings, and after a couple of days we got bored.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank barry618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

Returned from the Soreda on 9th September. The Hotel was clean and comfortable with a spacious dining room, comfortable lounge and library. Our room on the 4th floor had a sea view and had everything we needed, including daily fresh towels, tea/coffee making facilities, good shower/bath and plenty of space. The roof top swimming pool was ok and the water was tested daily, plenty of sun beds and a bar which offered evening entertainment. Free wi fi was ok but internet cafe was a bit expensive. Staff were friendly and helpful always. The selection of food in the dining room was very good ranging from bowls of various salads to carvery, and cakes; there was fresh bread and fruit available at every meal. All in all a good holiday! However, the day before we came home I began to feel ill; hubby soon followed. By the time we got home i was very ill indeed and hubby was poorly. Tests proved that we have had Salmonella poisoning; I have had my first normal, feeling ok day today 21/9/12. We only ate at the hotel so it could only have come from there. Suspect the source was the lovely bowls of salad. Sure it was a one off but be careful what you eat!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank LinL7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius, Vilniaus Apskritis, Lithuania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

Hi guys.Just came back from Malta staying in Soreda. Well the hotel was quite good.Reception staff helpful. We got very spacious room with 2 balcones. What i notice and what i didn't like too much,that light in the room and coriddors are realy bad. If you wanna put make up in bathroom you will have problem,cause they are using this ecological lamps,which need time to light brighter. So basically its dark everywhere. As Malta was Britains colony everything in hotel is british.even the food menu. Forget about fish and other sea food,which supose to be in islands quite common.I would say that dinner menu is more likely you get in any Britain city, pork, rost beef, pasta and so on. Breakfast are alright. Dont taste coffe,you wont like it:) In general restaurant is avarage. What i liked it's housekeeping. Good job! We didn't have problems with our conditionier as well.Roof pool was realy nice.
The hotel location is not really good.Because all nice sandy beaches are realy far.You have to take a bus to go there.In general it's very quite area.Good for relaxation,but not for party and action.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gerda V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

After reading some of the reviews before we left for our 2 weeks all inclusive holiday I was a little worried about our stay, but on arriving at about 7pm we were greeted at reception by very friendly and efficient staff. The boys were also glad we were still in time for dinner after traveling all day, as this didn't finish until 8.45 pm.
The hotel does maybe need a lick of paint and modernisation in some areas but otherwise we found it very nice. We had a 2 bedroom apartment on the 2nd floor with the balcony overlooking the pool in the outside courtyard. The apartment was ideal for our needs and was cleaned every day plus fresh towels.
Food in the restaurant was of a good standard, always hot and a variety of choice, and the snacks available on the rooftop bar we very good as well (large tasty burgers, hot dogs and toastie sandwiches cooked to order and served with chips and salad).
The pool on the rooftop is saltwater but adequate for when we wanted a swim. We did check out the indoor pool and gym once when we had a look around the hotel and found that very good as well.
Staff were very friendly and helpful and we didn't have a problem at all during our stay.
All in all, we enjoyed our stay and would probably stay at the Soreda again on our next visit to Malta.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Mamagribbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

Just back from the Soreda Hotel in Qawra last week and was pleased with our all inclusive 1 week stay. The hotel could do with a lick of paint and a couple of tired bits need sprucing up but generally, no complaints.
The food was particularly good and plentiful at all 3 meals throughout the day and generally of a high quality. Service in the restaurant was very efficient.
The entertainment in the evenings took place at the rooftop bar near the pool and was normally a guy singing with a computer to provide the music, mostly 60's, 70's and 80's music but the 2 latin dancers one evening were the stars of the week in my opinion. Bar staff were friendly and very efficient.
We enjoyed our stay at the Soreda hotel.

Room Tip: Back of the hotel is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peteduncan69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

Staff very help full but hotel is looking tired.Bathroom very much in need of refurbishment. Not easy for staff to keep clean as seal round the bath and floor is damaged or missing. Room had cracked floor tiles and walls marked and in need of a coat of paint. Small portable TV about 10 years old with very bad picture quality.The little frigde in the room was complete iced up.
Lucky we just stayed on bed and breakfast and used the room just to shower and sleep. The was only one chair in the room and was not good enough to spend any longer time in. The hall way on second floor bad stained and smelled musty.
Breakfast buffet was quite good, but thick chipped Crockery and a luck of cups at and glasses for juices and the quality of tea and coffee from the two old out dated machines ruined it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fred F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Qawra hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Qawra
0.3 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
0.3 mi away
Qawra Palace Hotel
Qawra Palace Hotel
#6 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,493 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Santana
Hotel Santana
#4 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Canifor Hotel
Canifor Hotel
#13 of 16 in Qawra
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,656 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Dolmen Resort Hotel
#2 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,564 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bella Vista Hotel
Bella Vista Hotel
#12 of 16 in Qawra
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soreda Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soreda Hotel

Property: Soreda Hotel
Address: Andrew Cunningham Street, Qawra, Island of Malta SPB 1744, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Qawra
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Qawra
#4 Luxury Hotel in Qawra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Soreda Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 192
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Soreda Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soreda Hotel Qawra
Soreda Hotel Malta/Qawra
Hotel Malta Soreda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing