We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Canifor Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$117
$104
Priceline
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
$176
$171
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
$231
$192
Priceline
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$364
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,907)
Filter reviews
1,907 results
Traveler rating
204
469
466
360
408
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
204
469
466
360
408
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssoupsbus stationbudget hotelbad reviewstowels changed dailyfresh towelsplenty of choicesea front
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,597 - 1,602 of 1,907 reviews
Reviewed August 28, 2009

We read the bad reports about the Canifor but were not put off as we do not expect a 4* Hotel in Malta to equal other countries' 4 *s.. We had a superior room which was quite spacious, you had to pay 3.5 Euros (per person) per day to use the tea making facilities so we did not bother. The room also had an Iron and an Ironing table which was useful and supplied free of charge.
The food was not bad but but not 4*. They used frozen vegetables and canned or powdered soup. There was ice cream and fruit mentioned on the dinner menu but there was no evidence of this in the dining room. As for the Maltese night, I failed to see what was Maltese about it as they just served up the usual meals. In fact the Spagetti Bolognese was actually Tagliatelli with some meat suspicously like sausage, inan unknown sauce.
We found the swimming pool tiny and not very clean, the larger pool had cloudy murky and oily water. Our room overlooked the pool and we never saw any staff testing the quality of the water during our stay.
The hotel is well situated for the Bus Terminal and other facilities in the Qawra and Buggiba area.
All the staff we encountered were frienly and very helpful.
In all we did enjoy out holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mirandamac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2009

We booked this trip fairly last minute and was mildly concerned about the bad reviews it was getting among the good ones it had. But away we went.

We travel a lot and this is not UK standard 4* but I have to say we were not disappointed. The Hotel reception is one of the best we have come across and could not do enough for us (sorted out car rental problems we had with someone else and saved the day) and the rooms were clean and modern - clearly having been recently refubished. Some rooms are bigger than others with tea and coffee making facilities. The pool area is more than just small, and the sunbeds are dirty - this is where the cleanliness lost points, but we wasn't going to be using them much anyway!
We were in Malta to scuba dive (which was fab by the way for those of you interested - dont miss out on the Blue hole and Azure window in Gozo) and so rarely in the hotel during the day to witness the service but on the last day it was slow going behind the bar - there simply is not enough staff in this area.

The night entertainment wasn't for us and it was aimed at the more elderly guest shall we say. Though there was children at the hotel and they seemed to be having a good enough time.

The food is perfectly fine, it is very English in the main but the Maltese Night had the best food for me.

There is a fridge in your room, a safety dep box and a tv but you wont be using then without paying extra.

It is about 5 min walk to the beach - and by this I mean rocks - so it was well enough placed for us.

We upgraded to All Inclusive when we got there and despite not being in the hotel all day it was worth it.

Overall we had a good time - dont worry.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarieE_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2009

Where do i start? ... Malta is a lovely hot, beautiful and friendly place, BUT the hotel not.

When we first arrived at the hotel we had our first fault to find our room that had been double booked, which staff was not apolagetic or helpful and just moved us to a different hotel which was not 4*. With that we complained finally moved back.
The room was ok specious but at 3* standard only. Toilet smelt other than that it was kept clean. The lifts kept breaking down and out of use.

I would not recommend All inclusive here as you dont get much for what you pay. The food was not 4* food a four course ballet BUT only a chose of 2 items at each corse no varity. The pool was always kept clean but very small pool and area, it was soon covered in shade by midday.

Some of the young staff where nice and where helpfull others where very abrupt.

we did not enjoy our overal stay at this hotel, but defenatly will come back to Malta

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GraceDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2009

Stayed at the Hotel Canifor for 1 week on a half-board basis as part of a Direct Holidays package holiday. We were allocated Room 417, a twin room with a small balcony that looked onto the pool area at the rear of the hotel. The room was spacious, simply furnished to European *** standard, comfortable and clean.
The public areas of the hotel were also nicely decorated and clean. In fact, there were always staff constantly buffing floors and polishing the brass-work!
The only real criticism of the hotel and its facilities was the small pool and pool area. As it was enclosed on three sides, it also became shaded from the sunshine by mid-afternoon. Small compensation was the rooftop solarium.
The hotel is well located in a quiet street only a 5 minute walk from the resort's bus station which made it an ideal base for visiting Malta's tourist attractions by public transport. The sea-front promenade is only a 10 minute walk away. There was a good choice of shops, cafes and bars in the streets adjacent to the hotel.
We found the quality of the hotel's catering to be very good. The buffet breakfast offered both a hot "English style" breakfast as well as a selection of cereals, cold meats and cheeses. Only critical comments are that the "fruit juice" was of the reconstituted powder variety and there was no fresh fruit available. The evening meals followed a formula of four courses - an "antipasti" selection of cold salads, a first course of soup, pasta or risotto, a main course of meat, poultry or fish with cooked vegetables, then dessert of fresh fruit and cakes. During our stay there were two special evening meals served outdoors at the pool area - one a BBQ and the other a Maltese-themed evening. In our opinion the quality of the food was consistently good. The breakfast service could be a little hectic at times but the evening service was always organised and efficient.
We found the hotel staff to be always helpful and courteous.
The Qawra/Bugibba resort offers a huge choice of bars, cafes and restaurants. We found a little family-run restaurant/bar - The New Buccaneers - on Pioneer Road just behind Bay Square, that served good quality, unpretentious food at very reasonable prices.
In summary, in our experience the Hotel Canifor provided a comfortable, relaxing stay and was very good value.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ellonway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2009

We went to the canifor hotel as self catering this hotel has 3 parts to it the hotel then the holiday complex and just up the road the appartments.we had booked for the canifor court but were put into the holiday complex as the appartments were full.The room was basic with 2 single beds,bathroom with overhead shower lounge was a table with 4 chairs,sink with draining board,cupboards,fridge and a small tv with showed only sky news in english outside was a balcony with 1 sunlounger and 2 chairs.Cleaner came every day and on self catering you could buy a 3 course meal for 8.euros if you wanted. pool area very crowded and pools very small.beer in the main bar area was lousy had that not cleaned the pipes smell and taste best bet is to go to the tourist bar next door and meet jools,charles and there son tony for a super night out great beer great price and great company with entertainmant on 6 days a week (thursday also inc a couple of games of bingo inbetween the artist) ..would stop in the holiday complex again but would give the court appartments a miss as they seemed grotty from the outside..also facing the court was a little cafe which did the cheapest full english in malta 2 eggs,2bacon,2 toast,2 sausage,beans,cup of tea and jam and butter all for 3 euros 90% of the others charge around 3.50 euros and dont inc tea or coffee

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ixi1456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews