We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just back”
Review of Canifor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Canifor Hotel
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Qawra
bangor
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“just back”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

picked up a cheap deal on spur of the minute and didnt really expect too much but fight good and no hassel,pickup smooth and hotel was good ......had breakfast and decided to upgrade to al which proved to a good deal as food was well cooked and enjoyable ,,,,,,puddings were same all week and no fresh fruit in sight but we were offered to get an upgrade if we went to stay in the sister hotel of drinks at table with meals but we refused .This time of yr hotel was good and staff very funny and looked after us well .......a few would need to learn to smile more and have more respect but its an older clientile.In summer i think it would be hard to stay here cos dinning room is small and pool looks small as well .......rooms were fine but needing updated in the bathroom area and bed matteress was not the best but the cleaning staff were so plesant and nothing was a bother to them .Malta is worth visiting and its a busy holiday with lots of walking but for £6.50 a week u can travel on and off buses to all over island and lots to see ..............Would i go back ???......most definalty and yes to same hotel but as i say im not sure what high season would be like in it

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kayaBangor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,758 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    433
    432
    339
    368
See reviews for
370
864
125
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (538)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014

we arrived at this hotel, that i selected from the on the beach brochure, looked nice, read a few reviews too, so not really put off,on arrival, the reception cap, dropped the bombshell, "hello nice to see you! you are not booked in this hotel, but in our sister apartments in bugibba,".. so i showed paper work copy number 2, and it said we were, lie number one deteced, " oh sorry u are booked in here" BUT! we have given your room away to the locals, malteese new year, ( but what he did say was there has been a flood, and we have to go somewhere else for one night, hmmm, off we went, still looking for this flood,arrived at the bugibba apartments, room 616, my god what a room, toilet no flush, no heating, no dry bedding, so we diddnt even unpack,back down to reception, given another room, half a mile away,by now ten pm, new years eve, great, stayed in there, never ever again.
Morning came, waited 1 hr for lift in truck,back to canifor hotel, on arrival again waitng for room,finally got room on 1st floor nice room warm, stayed there for six nights, half board, food ok, jakuzzi not working, pool freezing,staff still lying,to new guests as we came to reception, saying we have had a flood please go away, for 4 nites and come back!!!.. this is not on,
the room service/maid i have to say was brilliant,shame the rest of the hotel didnt have the same attitude and williness...if u want a room for sun ask for a front of hotel room they are quite nice, this not a rant, this is the truth, make of it what u can..

Room Tip: front of hotel,dont be put anywhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank genehunt73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Qawra hotels

Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Hotel regularly overbooks relying on people leaving early or booking into lower grade hotel Topaz. The elderly clientelle go to meet friends from past years, definitely not for the hotel. Bus fares 1.50 euros for an all day ticket and the hotel is ideally situated for getting around the island but were unable to take advantage due to being ill most of the time.

Bonus free lobby wifi. Those wanting to hear Tony sing will be disappointed as he had been banned from singing. Evening room video stopped. TV only two English news channels. Aged couple of entertainers reserve seats for their local friends and most people go out to find entertainment. Simon's bar good shows. The nearby Overflow restaurant is really excellent, definitely worth a visit. Good breakfast can be had at the restaurant near the bus station.

Rooms average. Make the bed more comfortable by laying on the duvet - room is warm enough to do this. Rooms regularly cleaned and linen changed. Cafe chairs new and comfortable.

Food - sometimes good, sometimes absolutely terrible. Watch out for reheated cooked pork and shell fish from previous day. Plates can be dangerously hot. Dishwasher doesn't appear to be functioning properly. Restaurant manager shouts at clients and staff alike. Lots of gateaux and sauces. Not suitable for diabetics or celliacs. All inclusive cannot get proper orange juice. Very limited fresh fruit and never on show. Inclusive clients get plentiful drinks but not strong. Go early for breakfast and avoid the scramble.

Plentiful doctors and chemists nearby.

Black hotel floor and steps very slippery. Access definitely not suitable for disabled clients. Bath takes ages to fill and very difficult to get out of. Toilets work with two rapid sharp plunges of the lever.

Room Tip: Don't have rooms overlooking the bars in Tourist Street due to the noise. Reception side have n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UKBarbie007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irthlingborough
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

This is the forth time we have been to this hotel and will keep going back....the staff are brilliant and very friendly..the rooms that we have are big enough for the two of us and are cleaned every day..there is always plenty of food and a different selection every nite for dinner,it is very near the bus station and the shops/ small supermarkets, a very nice place to stay

Room Tip: The ones facing the street are good but all are suitable
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MaryC835
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

The Canifor is lovely hotel, close to the bus station and so it is easy to travel around the island. Unfortunately the Canifor overbooks to fill up the sister hotel, the Topaz and this upset our holiday and we had to complain bitterly to get the room that we had booked at the Canifor. A disappointing start but things improved once we were at the Canifor.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Gozo, Malta
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

We stayed here after booking a room at the 3* sister hotel which turned out to be closed for the winter and the staff relocated us to the 4* Canifor.
We booked a double room and were given a "double"room ie. 2 bedrooms/1 bathroom suite. Very spacious.
Food was OK although we were reminded of school dinners . Room was very comfortable, well appointed and very clean. Booze was cheap. Location very central for the attractions of Bugibba/Qawra (car museum, aquarium, lots of eateries).
Off season stays here are aimed at the over 60s, many of whom overwinter here, so it's a bit like an old folks home. This is also reflected in the live entertainment. Definitely not for the youngsters.
I have to say it was extremely good value, cheaper than staying at home.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Coral008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2013

Fawtly Towers

My lovely girlfriend booked this winter holiday getaway as a bit of winter sun for her birthday celebrations. We had both been to Malta before but couldn’t remember it in detail so it was an adventure for both of us.

Once we arrived on the transfer it transpired we were having a much shorter stay than everyone else as we were only there for a week, compared to 3-6 weeks which seemed to be the norm - but I think that’s because everyone else was retired :)

I'll break our feedback down by categories

The hotel
Marble/Granite reception room gives impressions of grandeur, regularly cleaned and polished which seems surprising given the age of the guests, seems a bit hazardous. The steps are also quite steep and the first automatic door does not work which again, given the age of most the guests, seems problematic.
Hotel decor, outside of reception, was quite dated. Lots of chips in the walls, which could easily be repaired, really drag the place down in appearance - it could definitely do with renovation.
Location
The location of the hotel is really good in that its central Qawra (pronounced Ow-ra), the bus terminal is only a short walk away as is the sea, and there are a couple of small bars dotted around outside. The Classic Car museum is also just over the road if you like that sort of thing. There are a few stores just around the corner that sell snacks & drinks etc.
Around the hotel isn't very picturesque -= just other hotels, apartments and wasteland but the hotel itself doesn’t look too bad. It has palm trees outside decorated with Christmas lights, and benches/tables for guests to take advantage of the sun's winter location. On the inner side of the exterior there are a few small pools which are too cold/shaded in winter, but they leave a small fountain running into the pool 24/7. Plenty of loungers but can’t comment on this too much as didn’t really use it due to be it being in the shade with the winter angle of the sun.

Facilities
The hotel has a 'gym' - that is it’s a room with exercise equipment in it - most of which is broken and dated. There's a multigym, which doesn’t work, a cross trainer which sort of works and an exercise bike which sort of works. I think there was one dumbbell as well. Everything else was broken. The 'Gym' is in a windowless room which seems to be used as a TV store room as well. Still, they didn’t lie, it exists! It's just very poor.
The hotel also has a library, which is accessed just in front of the 'gym'. Can’t comment on that as we took books with us, but it’s just a few shelves of books basically.
The hotel has 2 bars - one upstairs with music on the evening, but closed during the day, and one downstairs next to the restaurant.
There is a 'heated' indoor pool which is quite small (and not that heated when it’s on, and really cold when it is not heated) and a hot tub (which again we found warm when on, but other days unheated and freezing. Also quite slippy - my girlfriend slipped and banged her wrist on it, resulting in a large bruise). There's a sauna shed in the same room but this was not turned on during any of our visits.
The lift revealed that there is a sun lounge and Jacuzzi on the roof of the hotel, open 9-5 so we checked this out. The Jacuzzi had a cover over it so must be only available in summer, and the 'sun lounge' was basically deck chairs around the edge. There was not much of a view - basically other hotels and apartments, wasteland, and it was not very clean so I'd not really expect it to get much use.

Rooms
Not sure if there are different classes of rooms, my girlfriend asked for best available as birthday celebration, and can only comment on what we had. Room was 112 which had a TV (2 English channels - sky news and CNN - remote hire is extra), Safe (€23, with €12 returned upon return of safe key), wardrobe, hairdryer, bathroom, balcony and table/chairs. There was a radio build into the bed but that doesn’t seem to work. Our room overlooked the pool and i could hear the pool fountain all night. The bathroom wasn’t too small but not huge either. Toilet seat was chipped and could have been replaced cheaply. The shower didn’t have a lot of pressure and took forever to fill the bath - surprised that the bath did not have any handles too again given the age of most the guests.
Beds have sheets and a cover, with blankets in the cupboards. Ours were alright but other guests we spoke to reported soiled sheets which they put on the floor, only for room service to remake the bed with. Rooms have aircon which has heating controls, but only the aircon worked. There are no tea making facilities - that’s an additional hire at reception, but i noticed local bars hired them out too probably for cheaper.

Food
We booked half board and we were very glad we did not go all inclusive. I found it often took a few plates to find one without residue from washing up, and the hot plates were often VERY hot so you have to be careful how you take them out of the heater. Breakfast was beans, sausages (decent), bacon (Unpleasant - steamed back bacon or poor streaky bacon), fried eggs (decent), poached eggs (decent), fried bread (nice but very stiff to cut!), some sliced cheeses (it says cheese board but that’s a stretch) and meats, bread for toast and then butter, marmalade and jam. A few cereals are out too and yoghurt/honey. None of it is amazing, its all off-brand and quality wise it’s a bit like eating aldi's own brand of everything. There’s tea which isn’t very nice, and coffee from a machine which my partner said was ok. Concentrated orange and grapefruit juice from a machine. All in all breakfast was not too bad.
The evening meal on the other hand was awful. A couple of hot options, a salad bar, a 'cheese board ‘and deserts. Everything seems very cheap, badly cooked and unappetising. It's probably because we have stayed at hotels such as the RIU chain where buffet meals are delicious and plentiful, but we just couldn’t get to grips with it at all. At both breakfast and evening meal there was no fresh fruit at all and, whilst i admit i am a fussy eater, i just couldn’t find anything at all that i enjoyed. the food TYPES were things that i like - meat, stew, soup, shepherd’s pie, mashed potato etc., but the quality and way it was cooked let it down, genuinely awful. After 4 days we gave up and just ate biscuits in our room. Wine is quite cheap at 4€ per carafe (1L) but its not amazing and you can only have a glass of water on all inclusive - HB guests have to buy a bottle!
Clientele
The guests at the hotel were lovely, we had conversations with a good range of people and they were a great bunch so you will always have someone to talk to. You do need to be aware that this is definitely a silver surfer crowd however, I don’t think we saw anyone else our age range (29 & 33) for the duration of our stay in the hotel.
Summary
I'm not going to comment on the Star rating, as other reviews have, because in Europe, and often in the UK, star rating does not equate to the quality of the hotel, just the facilities that are available, hence the Carnifor is, unfortunately, a 4* hotel whether we like it or not.

I can’t, in good conscience, advise you to stay there. The overall experience was unpleasant and I was gutted for my partner as i wanted her to have a lovely birthday holiday.

Malta itself was lovely and we had a great time outside of the hotel. 12€ gets you a bus ticket for the week and busses are regular - Google maps app has all the bus times on it too. Weather was lovely for our stay.

So in summary, Malta is lovely, the carnifor is dated, vile food, all facilities are to be paid for and nothing works. Do yourself a favour and stay somewhere else :)

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Ashe-n-Daz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Qawra
0.1 mi away
Qawra Palace Hotel
Qawra Palace Hotel
#6 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,727 reviews
0.8 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,580 reviews
0.3 mi away
Soreda Hotel
Soreda Hotel
#4 of 15 in Qawra
2,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Santana
Hotel Santana
#4 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,489 reviews
0.2 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
0.8 mi away
San Pawl Hotel
San Pawl Hotel
#11 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canifor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canifor Hotel

Property: Canifor Hotel
Address: Nakkri Road, Qawra, Island of Malta SPB 05, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Qawra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Qawra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Canifor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Canifor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canifor Hotel Qawra
Canifor Hotel Malta/Qawra
Malta Canifor Hotel
Canifor Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing