We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great visit”
Review of Canifor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Canifor Hotel
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Qawra
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We have just had another great visit at the Canifor, we arrived at the hotel to find that we were being moved to a different hotel because the hotel was overbooked but we spoke nice and politely to the reception staff and the problem was solved.
The restaurant was good, plenty of food, and if you are a person that is not easily pleased then the Canifor is not for you, the Italian starters and the rabbit dishes were very good, and there was plenty of choice at breakfast time too.The restaurant staff are very friendly especially if you talk to them and address these people with their christian names. The restaurant is certainly better than our last visit.
Our room was compact, very clean, serviced every day, with clean towel and sheets, also plenty of hot water.
The bar was good, entertainment ok too.If you are going to the Canifor, go with a open mind but also remember what you have paid because its good value for you money, and if you just enjoy moaning then just stay at home. We can not wait for our next visit to the Canifor in December 2013.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the swimming pool are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chris16Yorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,861)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,010 - 1,016 of 1,861 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2013

Booked here for a budget holiday over the internet, using Purple Travel.
Arrived at the hotel, but after filling out the usual forms so marketing could be sent to your home address and email, we were told that there were maintenance issues in the hotel the prevented us staying here.
We were then told that we would be transferred to the Topaz, which we protested about, as that hotel was one to avoid for us, but were were faced having no bed for the night, so had to go to the Topaz.
Not Happy !

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Spongeandcustard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

We arrived at canifor11 pm. They told us we had to stay in the Bugibba Hotel because of a flood that had destroyed many of rhe rooms. We waited a long time for transport, and arrived at buggiba hotel 1 am. It was terrible, dirty, crawling with ants and insects, aircondition not working, one of the beds were broken and painful to sleep on, stinky and dirty towels, no fridge... we had to stay there for two days, while we kept nagging Canifor about the water damage and when we could return. Of course there was no flood. We saw no carpenters or workers, and we even spoke to a maid, that said she didn't hear anything about a water damage, but she knew that all the rooms were in use. We also spoke to other guests who were also forced to stay at bad hotels because of room maintenance, flood or whatever lie they chose to tell.
We spent a lot of time getting our room back, we even spoke to the hotel manager.
When we asked him why they didn't tell is in advance, he said'we didnt have the time, the flood only happened 2 weeks ago. But here, you can have two free meals.'
We are never going back, and we are really angry and sad.
Why are they doing this? Why are they lying all the time? How do they make money from the overbooking?

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank krisnelvik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We booked a 4 Star hotel and upraded to a superior room. When we saw the room to say dissapointed would be an understatement. The next morning complained to the desk, they moved us to a better room. this room was better , but had a wire hanging out of the ceiling fan, one mattress had a tear right down one sidethere was a damp stain on the ceiling and the water came out of the taps in a dribble. We will never return to the Canifor. Also very dissapointed with coop travel for giving this place a 4 star rating

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Co-op Travel
4  Thank Martin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

Arrived on September 22 when we were given room 428, we opened the door and all you could smell was a stale cigarette smell.we sprayed the room,also opened patio doors. Well the next day we complained,we were told curtains would be changed. Made no difference complained again and were moved to room 330,it smelt better,both rooms were dated and dirty and were on the north of. The hotel.no sun,kept awake by an Irish bar and woken by 6Am by the bin men.also food was not good. We have been to Malta 9 times and this is the worst hotel we have stayed in.
The best thing in the hotel is the free WiFi in reception and by the pool.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jane f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Arrived at approx 11.30 and we were greeted if you can say greeted by a rude ignorant night porter who said NO BEDS you go somewhere else, I said then I will sleep on the floor as it is very late and he said go and sleep on the floor Eventually he arranged a Taxi and we were moved to
another hotel in Bugabay (unsure of the spelling) we did not want to stay at that resort but had no alternative. Have found out that both Hotels are closing down soon apparently the Receivers are running the hotel.
We travelled with Mercury Direct and their Couriers were very unhelpful when they could be found !! Never again. I am 80years of age and have never had a holiday like this last one.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maddyrobinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

I took a group of students aged 14 plus in July this year. Having visited this hotel earlier in the year I was surprised at poor reviews. You get what you paid for. This was a cheap holiday so the students could learn to scuba dive. The rooms were Clean and tidy. We went all inclusive and the students loved the beef burgers at lunch. Yes the food not excellent but considering the price it was not that bad. I regularly say at the Fortina spa hotel in Selima (5star rated), even though all inclusive I cannot get beef burgers!the staff were very happy to meet any demands that my students(20) asked them. I cannot fault the hotel other than there being a load of EF students there at the time. We will be returning in July next year and we will be staying at the Carnifor.

Room Tip: Pool rooms can be loud. Rooms overlooking the entrance better in my view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael_Coats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Qawra
0.3 mi away
Soreda Hotel
Soreda Hotel
#4 of 15 in Qawra
2,102 reviews
0.2 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
0.1 mi away
Qawra Palace Hotel
Qawra Palace Hotel
#7 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sunflower Hotel
Sunflower Hotel
#6 of 15 in Qawra
820 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Santana
Hotel Santana
#4 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,592 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bella Vista Hotel
Bella Vista Hotel
#12 of 15 in Qawra
1,838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canifor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canifor Hotel

Address: Nakkri Road, Qawra, Island of Malta SPB 05, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Qawra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Qawra
Price Range: $29 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Canifor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Canifor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canifor Hotel Qawra
Canifor Hotel Malta/Qawra
Malta Canifor Hotel
Canifor Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing