We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 Star Joke”
Review of Canifor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Canifor Hotel
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Qawra
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We booked a 4 Star hotel and upraded to a superior room. When we saw the room to say dissapointed would be an understatement. The next morning complained to the desk, they moved us to a better room. this room was better , but had a wire hanging out of the ceiling fan, one mattress had a tear right down one sidethere was a damp stain on the ceiling and the water came out of the taps in a dribble. We will never return to the Canifor. Also very dissapointed with coop travel for giving this place a 4 star rating

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Co-op Travel
4  Thank Martin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,787)
There are newer reviews for Canifor Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

950 - 956 of 1,787 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

Arrived on September 22 when we were given room 428, we opened the door and all you could smell was a stale cigarette smell.we sprayed the room,also opened patio doors. Well the next day we complained,we were told curtains would be changed. Made no difference complained again and were moved to room 330,it smelt better,both rooms were dated and dirty and were on the north of. The hotel.no sun,kept awake by an Irish bar and woken by 6Am by the bin men.also food was not good. We have been to Malta 9 times and this is the worst hotel we have stayed in.
The best thing in the hotel is the free WiFi in reception and by the pool.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jane f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Arrived at approx 11.30 and we were greeted if you can say greeted by a rude ignorant night porter who said NO BEDS you go somewhere else, I said then I will sleep on the floor as it is very late and he said go and sleep on the floor Eventually he arranged a Taxi and we were moved to
another hotel in Bugabay (unsure of the spelling) we did not want to stay at that resort but had no alternative. Have found out that both Hotels are closing down soon apparently the Receivers are running the hotel.
We travelled with Mercury Direct and their Couriers were very unhelpful when they could be found !! Never again. I am 80years of age and have never had a holiday like this last one.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maddyrobinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

I took a group of students aged 14 plus in July this year. Having visited this hotel earlier in the year I was surprised at poor reviews. You get what you paid for. This was a cheap holiday so the students could learn to scuba dive. The rooms were Clean and tidy. We went all inclusive and the students loved the beef burgers at lunch. Yes the food not excellent but considering the price it was not that bad. I regularly say at the Fortina spa hotel in Selima (5star rated), even though all inclusive I cannot get beef burgers!the staff were very happy to meet any demands that my students(20) asked them. I cannot fault the hotel other than there being a load of EF students there at the time. We will be returning in July next year and we will be staying at the Carnifor.

Room Tip: Pool rooms can be loud. Rooms overlooking the entrance better in my view
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael_Coats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We attended this hotel in september 2012 and where initially impressed, This dropped when we saw the bathroom and how small it was, you had to avoid the toilet to shut the door and the shower curtain was very short so that when one had a shower it flooded the floor. Other that this the room was big with 4 beds and a small balcony. The food, although a medium choice, was hot and the staff were very good at clearing and resetting the tables. The Bar was ok though on a friday, saturday and sunday nights you could not get a seat as it was virtually taken over by local residents dancing. There was often only the one person behind the bar so queuing was he norm.

Room Tip: Ask for a big bathroom
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

After reading the reviews before we left, we did not know what to expect from this hotel.
As it transpired, we were pleasantly surprised.
The hotel was clean & smart looking.
Staff were friendly & welcoming.
Room was very clean & tidy - beds made every day & fresh linen every day as well (The cleaners worked hard all week)
Air con was not fantastic, but kept the room cooler than outside. The night time temps did not drop much so the aircon & large ceiling fan were a real help.
We had booked Bed & breakfast so cannot comment on the food so much.
Breakfast was adequate for us - the same each day
Personally, I just went for toast, beans, fried or boiled eggs and a few slices of ham along with a coffee to start the day.
There was bacon of sorts and sausages, but I personally did not like them too much, there were also poached eggs, cheeses, luncheon meat, yoghurts, jams marmalade, melon, cereals etc.
Entertainment in the evenings was pretty much geared to the 'older generation' and the majority seemed to enjoy it.
Each evening the bar had a 'special' cocktail for 3 euros.
The location of the Canifor is very good, it is very close to a number of small bars, shops & restaurants and only a 5 min walk to the main bus terminal.
We did not make use of the main facilities within the hotel as we spent our time sight seeing through the day and eating out in the eves.
Mr Kebab is worthwhile for a snack and Incognito is a fabulous place to dine - lovely Lobster Thermador & huge T-Bone Steak!

Room Tip: Stayed on the 1st floor (room 121). Overlooking pool area
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

I arrived tired at 11.30 pm after a long day to find that there was not a room for myself and friend. We were taken to the Coral Hotel for 1 night which had a 12 foot concrete wall on balcony - not really acceptable - but was promised to go back to Canifor next morning. We were collected next morning and was allocated a lovely room overlooking pool and had a good holiday. The hotel is close to all amenities and bus terminus, which is a must in Malta, and the rooms were clean and serviced every day. I would go to this hotel again as long as our room was ready!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank christine1510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Qawra
0.1 mi away
Qawra Palace Hotel
Qawra Palace Hotel
#7 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,770 reviews
0.8 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,613 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Santana
Hotel Santana
#4 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
0.3 mi away
Soreda Hotel
Soreda Hotel
#4 of 15 in Qawra
2,028 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bella Vista Hotel
Bella Vista Hotel
#12 of 15 in Qawra
1,773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canifor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canifor Hotel

Address: Nakkri Road, Qawra, Island of Malta SPB 05, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Qawra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Qawra
Price Range: $28 - $868 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Canifor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Canifor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canifor Hotel Qawra
Canifor Hotel Malta/Qawra
Malta Canifor Hotel
Canifor Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing