We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No Room At The Inn” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Canifor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Canifor Hotel
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Qawra
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“No Room At The Inn”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

I arrived tired at 11.30 pm after a long day to find that there was not a room for myself and friend. We were taken to the Coral Hotel for 1 night which had a 12 foot concrete wall on balcony - not really acceptable - but was promised to go back to Canifor next morning. We were collected next morning and was allocated a lovely room overlooking pool and had a good holiday. The hotel is close to all amenities and bus terminus, which is a must in Malta, and the rooms were clean and serviced every day. I would go to this hotel again as long as our room was ready!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank christine1510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,660 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    412
    405
    322
    343
See reviews for
348
817
118
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (513)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest
Level Contributor
125 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

The Hotel is in a quiet street (forget trying to park), almost in the town centre and 5 minutes from the rocky sea shore line. Access to transport is easy and it is island wide.

We went half board - i.e. breakfast and evening dinner. The room was good, clean and serviced well. The bathroom comprised a bath and shower. A balcony was a welcome plus in the night time heat. The niggles centred on the bolt on extra costs which were rather unnecessary - you paid a rather expensive daily rate for tea/coffee making facilities in your room; paid for pool towels and a safe. The television service was multi national but limited.

The breakfast/dining facilities were in the basement area. Although stylish table settings were rather cramped and similarly the service areas. The staff were friendly. The real niggle was that the restaurant closed at 9pm (last serving 8.45pm) and 8.30pm on a Saturday which in a hot climate is unusual. It was not helped by staff walking round you setting the breakfast table as diners cleared out at least an hour before closing time.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank colin_bishop1941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

I found the hotel to be clean and comfortable with very good service. The food was very good. The staff were friendly and efficient. The hotel was very close to amenities, the bus station and evening entertainment. My only criticism is a safety issue. There was a balcony outside my room with a low railing that a child could easily climb up on with the aid of one of the chairs provided. There was a 100 foot drop beneath.

Room Tip: A room on the ground floor would be safer with little danger of an accident from falling off the bal...
See more room tips
Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
6 Thank Keith D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

we stayed at the cardor appartments which is part of the canifor hotel this was in september 2013 we was located on the 4th floor at the back that had no view we asked the receptionist josephine if we could be moved as this was a saturday they could not do this until the monday we could cope with that so first thing monday morning we was moved to the front of the appartments with a view of the main street and the sea, the staff was very nice and very helpful and never once pulled there face at our request the food was very nice in the hotel and also staff there was very helpful i would not hesitate on staying there again rooms a little bit dated but maid came in everyday with clean towels

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dale h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st albans
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel near middle of qwara service good staff excellent however food basic room brillant just make sure when you walk to the nearby bus station if somebody offers you a free bus route map take it then walk into the station because this is the time share touts latest ploy i will go back next year !!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank neil c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

We didn't know what to expect after reading previous reviews on the Canifor but we had a good experience on the whole. Our room was comfortable and cleaned daily with fresh towels supplied each day, the air con worked great until the last two days but we managed with the ceiling fan ok.

We found the staff friendly and helpful and didn't encounter any rude employees. My son liked to chat to the reception staff and always found them friendly. The waiting staff were pleasant even though they were very busy. The maids were lovely and always supplied us with any extras we required.

The breakfast was fine, poached, boiled, fried, scrambled eggs, toast, fried bread, streaky bacon and sausage. Ham, cheese, melon, selection of jams etc . You help yourself to the tea, coffee, cappuccino etc via a machine.

Evening meals were ok, limited choice for kids but we always found something suitable. If you want ice cream just ask the waiting staff.

The only downside to our stay was the evening entertainment. The lounge bar is very clean and air con really good but the actual entertainment was for pensioners IMO. The hotel needs to liven things up a bit and supply some entertainment for kids and the younger generation. We went out every evening but we wouldn't have if the entertainment was better.

All in all we enjoyed our stay and would return.

Room 422

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lorrk2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
86 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

After reading several negative reviews before arriving at the hotel, we weren't expecting much, however, we were contented with the facilities and service provided.
Our room was a decent size, with air conditioning and fan, however the air con was comparable to an asthmatic blowing through a straw. The fan provided adequate enough breeze to allow a comfortable sleep throughout the evening. Bathroom was clean, however I feel all the linen + shower curtain could do with replacing as they were a little dated. Our room was made up, with clean sheets and towels on a daily basis.
Breakfast was totally inedible, so much so, we opted to miss breakfast most mornings. The toast was obviously made at 7am and placed under a heat lamp, so was chewy and cold by the time 9am came. The bacon contained no pork, but was infact strips of fat, the poached eggs resembled scoops of ice cream from a cheap gelateria, and careful not to burn your mouth on the sausages. The only redeeming feature of breakfast was the cappuccino from the branded Nescafé machine (which also dished out half cups of tea)
The location was perfect, it was a 2 minutes walk from the bus station, which allowed you to go anywhere on the island. 10 minutes walk from Bay Square (restaurant/bar hotspot), and 5 minutes from the sea front.
Overall, for what we paid for the hotel, we have few complaints, if you are looking for an all inclusive pool holiday, i wouldn't suggest the Canifor; however, a cheap alternative from a boutique hotel in St Julian's, then the Canifor is the place for you!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MAGS0303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Qawra
0.4 mi away
Soreda Hotel
Soreda Hotel
#4 of 16 in Qawra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,897 reviews
0.3 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
0.1 mi away
Qawra Palace Hotel
Qawra Palace Hotel
#6 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Bella Vista Hotel
Bella Vista Hotel
#12 of 16 in Qawra
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,695 reviews
0.9 mi away
San Pawl Hotel
San Pawl Hotel
#11 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,396 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Santana
Hotel Santana
#4 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canifor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canifor Hotel

Property: Canifor Hotel
Address: Nakkri Road, Qawra, Island of Malta SPB 05, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Qawra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Qawra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Canifor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick, Booking.com, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Canifor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canifor Hotel Qawra
Canifor Hotel Malta/Qawra
Malta Canifor Hotel
Canifor Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing