We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did Not Like Canifor”
Review of Canifor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Canifor Hotel
Ranked #14 of 15 Hotels in Qawra
Clacton-on-Sea
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Did Not Like Canifor”
Reviewed June 24, 2008

My husband and I have just returned from a week at the Canifor and have to say we were very disappointed with this hotel. It was classified at a 4 star, but it should be rated 2 star plus. The main complaint was the dining area as it was very small and could not cater for large numbers of people as well as the food served. The tables and chairs were so crammed together it was a fight to get around and I got fed up by keep saying “excuse me” all the time. The food was very unappetising and very bland and not much choice. You did not help yourself, you had to ask what you wanted and it was plonked on to your plate. If you wanted a sweet you had a choice of gateau every night which you had to put on a saucer because there were no plates.

Breakfast was absolute chaos so we used to go down early to avoid the rush. The tables had horrible plastic tablecloths with just two plates on them, no cutlery as you had to help yourself. If you wanted tea or coffee you had to queue up because it came from a vending machine, which took ages. It was like a canteen.

We never stayed in the hotel in the evening so we cannot comment on the entertainment.

We never stayed at the swimming pool area as it was too small and cramped.

The rooms were not very nice. Air conditioning was appalling and could not use at night because very noisy. We were scared of the ceiling fan because it went at such a fast speed we though it would come off the ceiling straight on to us.

Apart from this hotel, we both enjoyed Malta very much, but unfortunately, we will never go back to this hotel as we have seen other 4 star accommodation which were much better.

  • Disliked — the outlook
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maggie042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,723 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    432
    422
    333
    354
See reviews for
358
848
123
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (534)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
airdrie
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2008

when we first arrived , we had indicated when we booked we said would prefer self catering within hotel with half board service due to our circumstances , we were booked into canifor apts 50 yrds down the road from canifor , when we went to the apts it was like refugee hostel ( there was so much wrong with these apts that do not have the space to write about it ) ....we complained and to be fair they put us in the cawdor apts within hotel and were basic but ideal for what it was used for , it also had a rather large hallway for some reason , seriously you needed to get a taxi to get to the door from bedroom. we had read not very good reports about the canifor , however i can say thAT the food was excellent good choices, varied and no chips throughout our stay ( brilliant) , i would only say that breakfast was a bit of a disaster not about the food , only because it was a bit of a free for all with only the fittest surviving , i have to say the greed and manners of some brits never fails to amaze me , because of this we decided against breakfast after 2nd morning , i would say the canifor is def not a 4 star prob 2 star but clean and the staff were very helpful, hard working and polite, another fault is the locale you cannot get the sun at the pool after approx 2pm as the sun goes over the skyline .

we had hired a car and spent very little time in hotel except dinner as we would head off to beach with my son ( we found the beaches very poor in malta def not portugal except prob dolphin bay area where we went most days) we would then head of to st juliennes , st georges bay for lunch, valetta where the cafes and local restaurants food especially seafood and choices were excellent, we found there was not a lot to do for children in malta except in st georges bay however driving was very safe and the history , museums , buildings in malta ( if you like that sort of thing ) are amazing all in all we had a good time at the canifor and because of the food ( loads of diff veg every night) never felt better

  • Disliked — the sun going down after 2pm at the pool
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steven63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2008

I booked this hotel for a birthday gift for my husband and a friend that can only holiday with help, so there were three adults expecting four star treatment in an all inclusive basis. I booked a double room for my husband and I ,& payed a supplement for a single room for our friend.
I had read the reviews on this site & chose to ignore them thinking it cannot be that bad. It truly is, I wish I had taken the advice written and gone else where. Arriving at 4.30 in the morning and lugging our cases up the stairs to the lobby , we checked in and were told where to go to our rooms. my friend requested some water to take his medication and was told to purchase a bottle from the machine , he had no change and wasnt offered any either so went without. The rooms are the MOST basic of rooms, tv, (pay to hire remote) Safe, (pay to hire
key) cooler for small fee, No tea or coffee making equipment, a radio that dosnt work, flickering light bulbs digusting decor and ants in the room even on the 5th floor. You are not allowed to hang your towel over the wall to dry , you must use the line provided so that it sweeps the dirty floor of your balcony rendering it usless, there is a notice telling you this, I suppose it is because the managment want the hotel to look nice on the outside, (why!!, all around you ,where ever you look are half built buildings and huge cranes ,I felt very let down but tried to make the best of things.
I found out the next day that all inclusive means 9am - 11 pm. , you cannot eat after 3pm as the snack bar is closed, you wait until the "resturant "opens. When you go down to this room in the basement you are greeted by, "HOW MANY & ROOM NUMBER", not, good morning madam , sir ,nice day, You have to sit in chaos arround you listening to plates being cleared away and food being scraped off into bins, the noise is deafening. One evening we asked to be seated on the other side of the room as it would have been quieter , we were informed that we couldnt as the staff were getting it ready for breakfast the next day, ( putting on the plastic table cloths etc..)ok, excepted ,but 10 minutes later the hotel staff were filling up their plates and sitting down on the right handside in the relativly quiet area where we had requested to sit . (I have never stayed in a hotel where the paying guest sit with staff for meals) . The food was awful, no fresh fruit, overcooked veg, under cooked white meat and usualy cold. gravy, (1 lump or 2) yes the soup was ok but you cannot live on that ,so many times we all payed extra and ate out in the local cafes. The hotel pizzaria that is advertised on the their web site was never open and You cannot get a cup of tea before 9 am,
(unless you pay for it ) The hotel is full of pensioners too, (although they were lovely and uncomplaining as the British usually are) so the entertainment is aimed at their level. (organist , line dance music, karioke and ball room.) There is not much to do in the early hours of Qawra apart from watch bad tributes acts freddie mercury etc...or drink ,so we all played cards on the terrace until the lights went out at midnight ( by order of the management I suppose again)
We had no hot water on and off at times in our room and when you did ,the bath would take forever to fill.
Down by the "salt water very small" pool you could not eat or drink anywhere. If you ate ,it had to be inside. I was told off for taking a burger in a serviette outside to eat. There are rules and regulations written down every where, its like being back at school. The day before we came home, my party of three and two guests got stuck in the lift, the emergency phone didnt work so we banged on the doors until help came, we were told quite rudely ( by an english member of staff) that it was meant for four people and there were clearly five in the lift, we said it was a guideline and had seen 5/6 people in the lift at a time. We were then told in no uncertain terms that if we did it again we would be left in there. also we had ruined it for other guests, Just wonderfull eh! make us feel bad why dont you. This was the final straw and we demanded to speak to the manager the next day , he sent a bottle of wine and basket of fruit to our room to compensate us, except it didnt go to our room, it went next door , one glass , one bottle, and the fruit was, "2 apples & 2 oranges" on a dinner plate with some cling film over it . It was a complete joke, most guests said it was like faulty towers. I spoke to the Directer of the hotel in the end and said I had read the reviews on this site and chosen to ignore it thinking people were maybe to picky but everthing that is said is true,( the hotel director had read these reviews but said the few that were written didnt compare to the 1000s of people that stay there and I hope he reads this one.) It ruined our holiday and I would never go back to that hotel again or Malta for that matter . This is not a 4 star hotel , Butlins as far better. My husband is over six foot tall and his legs hung out of the end of the bed which are like over sized cots. You could not order doubles at the bar, you could have wine, or soft drinks in the resturant but no spirits, All inclusive could not have ice cream or omlettes, or pints of coke. There were so many little stupid rules you would forget them.
The 6th floor had a jacuzzi outside and sun loungers which was handy as the pool in the basement is built in an area that dosnt get the sun in the afternoon . The jacuzzi was cold and filthy, we could not go in that, you couldnt get a drink as there is no bar up there. Bringing in your own food or drink is forbiddentoo. ( there is a sign telling you that, and a fine is threatened for doing so) The hotel web site makes the Canifor look great , taken at night though ,but dont be fooled, it is nothing like you would hope from a 4 star hotel To sum it up, the weather was nice, and we had clean towels every day!!!!!!
I gave a good tip to a couple of junior staff who I felt had gone out of there way to help us, (one of which told us she had never had a tip before and was very greatful, We felt choked ) such as getting us back to our room in the sevice lift when the lifts were not working but other than that ,most of our money was used to feed us or get out of the hotel and its many rules and regulations. I rearly think that there are many upset tourists that have stayed there but when you get home you just want to forget it and nothing gets said or done. I for one will always read reviews on this site and advise others to do so too, and act upon it if you can

  • Liked — clean towels every day, but thats all
  • Disliked — sleeping in single beds when a double is requested and they are only big enough if you are five foot tall
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank JAYDEE234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Qawra hotels

Liverpool
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2008

Having read the review on this site, I visited the Canifor with some trepidation. However, I was pleasantly suprised. the room was spacious, the bed was comfy, the hotel was clean and the food edible and plentiful.
My only criticisms are there is no disabled access, not even a wheelchair ramp. you have to climb about ten steps to enter the hotel, and more steps to enter the lounge.
The pool is very small, and wrongly situated. It is in shadow every day from 2pm , making the water very cold.

  • Liked — the cleanliness
  • Disliked — the small pool, badly situated
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank scouseboy45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 30, 2008

We stayed at the Canifor Hotel for a week all inclusive.
The rooms are clean and adequate.
Food is appalling, don't eat the fish, (if it is fish!)
Don't be expecting fresh orange juice either, it's really weak tasting orange squash!
The soup was nice though, that's what we lived on for the week.
Restaurant staff could do with training on how to treat people.
Bar staff were really friendly and helpful.
Hotel reception staff appear to get confused and mixed up with any problems that arise.
How they ever got a 4 star rating is beyond me, i would say a maximum 2 star on a good day.
Pool area is over crowded and not big enough to accomodate all
the guests.
This is the first time we have ever written a review but were that dissapointed with our stay there we felt we had to.
We will never stay again. we like good food when we go on holiday and you certainly dont receive it at the Canifor.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Food
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank CoventryCoventry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shropshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2008

we stayed at this hotel second week in april , i was very worried when booking this hotel as the reviews were really bad, so i took the bull by the horns, and for the price thought just do it!
Arrived late evening in a taxi and it looke really nice pictures dont really do anything for it at all. reception area and lounge really nice all marble and gold and the bar and entertainment area was good to.
Rooms- the rooms were ok big sleeping area with tv which you pay 5 euro deposit for a remote and also they had a hair dryer
the bathroom was tiny could not swing a cat in it but you dont spend your time in the bathroom.
We were on half board option and to be honest the food was not that good especially when you dont no what meat they are dishing up cus it all looked the same every night meat 2 veg usually and cheese board and deserts which were nice, as for the breakfast that was better sausages , bacon ( which were alot smaller than normal) eggs boiled , poached , continental breakfast to , also toast and coffee and fruit juices.
this hotel is a 3 star more really just the food that lets it down but the hotel was good nice pool area alots of things like museum and resturant and bars are really near so everything at your door step. something to reccommend is doing the malta sight seeing hop on hop off bus was 15 euros and it was real good go everywhere around the island in one day .
overall our stay was good and for a cheap holiday its worth it

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — food
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank madhead1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
2 reviews
Reviewed April 13, 2008

What do you lot want for less than £8 per night , 10 of us went in march , ok its not the ritz ,but it done us lot for 11 nights , staff were nice ,food was alright , room was cleaned every day. If you want a 4 star hotel look somewhere else , its a 2/3 star ,but we paid £76 for 12 days half board ,you cant go wrong at that price, and were going again next year. Its no good moaning about the canifor when youve got the room for two bob a night

  • Liked — value for money
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank allrightdrive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Qawra
0.3 mi away
Soreda Hotel
Soreda Hotel
#4 of 15 in Qawra
1,960 reviews
0.1 mi away
Qawra Palace Hotel
Qawra Palace Hotel
#6 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,631 reviews
0.8 mi away
San Pawl Hotel
San Pawl Hotel
#11 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
0.8 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,495 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Santana
Hotel Santana
#4 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canifor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canifor Hotel

Property: Canifor Hotel
Address: Nakkri Road, Qawra, Island of Malta SPB 05, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Qawra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Qawra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Canifor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Priceline, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Canifor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canifor Hotel Qawra
Canifor Hotel Malta/Qawra
Malta Canifor Hotel
Canifor Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing