We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reality Check”
Review of Canifor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Canifor Hotel
Ranked #14 of 15 Hotels in Qawra
Littlehampton, West Sussex, England
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Reality Check”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Don't judge this hotel by it's star rating but by the price you pay. The staff were good and friendly, the rooms clean and functional although they could do with a makeover. The bed was comfortable and mattresses were new but the bedspreads were dated. The restaurant has been refurbed and re-opened whilst we were there and in turn the food improved with each day both for dinner and breakfast. The carvery on one night was excellent. Overall a fairish 3 star hotel in an excellent location just needing a bit of updating. Entertainment was OK but more suited to a retired clientele.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms at the back of the hotel overlooking the road as the balcony will not get any sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank betty_tours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,744 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    432
    429
    336
    362
See reviews for
363
859
125
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (536)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We have just returned from a week here, having stayed here before we wernt too concerned about it but cannot believe any of the poor reviews, I don't understand why people seem to go on holiday to find things to complain about by the sound of things. The staff are more than helpful I didn't meet a rude or unhelpful staff member all week and if there is a problem I'm sure it would be sorted out quickly without the need to be rude to staff like I saw a couple of times, if you are going here and are worried about the negative reviews don't be it is a nice clean hotel with nice food in the restaurant, good maid service and reception staff and good bar service so what more could you ask for, all the good reviews are justified and the poor ones are I think for the most part are just people looking to complain as I said I'm sure a problem would be sorted without any need to complain

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank craigg106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

I have to agree with the review given by William H. As soon as you enter it was like going back to my childhood ie the late 60s and early 70s with plastic flowers in grubby vases and a great big sign displaying a 4* grading, goodness knows who awarded this! We had paid for a 'superior' room but were made to stay our first night in a dirty room with no shower gel, the fridge had been removed and everything about the whole hotel was tired and dated. It was as if the hotel had never been updated since its building. We went half board but the quality of the food was so poor that (after one night) we ate out each night in a different restaurant which enhanced our stay. The restaurant is self service and the food is what I would expect to be served in a poor care home. It is overcrowded so it's difficult to reach the buffet counters (if you're going to eat here grab a table near the outside. Everything in the hotel is an extra, you have to pay to get a remote control for the TV which is 15" and circa 1985 and they only have 2 English channels - CNN and SKY News. They put a useless film on at 7pm each night on Channel 10 - the time everyone goes to dinner, where's the forethought in that? You have to pay for tea and coffee in your room (in a 4 star?). Towels for the pool are available for hire at 6 Euros but in the neighbouring shops you can buy one for 3!
The roof spa was covered over and the main pool appeared dirty and dated.
I have no complaints about the staff, they work very hard in depressing conditions and keep a cheerful attitude about them but sadly they can't enhance the hotel and its facilities.
Personally I feel this hotel needs a total overhaul but even if this is carried out I won't be going back to see how it turns out.

Room Tip: I'm afraid I can't recommend this hotel at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Duncan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Qawra hotels

Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

This Canifor Hotel masquerade as a 4 star Hotel no way lucky to be 2 and a half star, when we booked we paid extra for a superior room but on arrival the reception new nothing about this and we were given a small room untill morning and then changed to a larger room over looking the pool the only extras were tea coffee kettle and an iron and ironing board, the room was cleaned each day but the towels were out of the ark very old and thred bear they had seen better days.
The food was only sometimes o'k but mostly not so good if you like cheap cerials very streacky bacon for breakfast and if you wanted fruit you had to pay extra.
This Hotel is in a back Street not shown on the photographs and the pool has a large brick wall not shown, We will never again visit this Hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank William H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Well, first of all I must say that this is not a 4 star hotel and I would not give it more than 2 and a half stars. When we arrived we were put in a very small corner room with the bathroom ceiling which had fallen down,they put us in another room which was a good size. When it was time to go to bed we pulled back the sheetsand they were dirty and had long black hairs in between the sheets, we complained and eventually they were changed. We had great big ants in our room that only seemed to show themselves in the evening, we did report it several times but nothing seemed to be done about it. Now the food, we were all inclusive, breakfast was the same every day horrible bacon, sausage, fried egg, poached egg and baked beans. Cold. Sometimes lunch and dinner was ok but never very hot. Entertainment was ok for the Maltese and the over 70's. I would never stay in this hotel again although the staff was very nice and helpful. We stayed at the Meleiha bay hotel a 4 star a few years ago and it was superb. You could not make any comparisons between the two. Very small swimming pool and the spa bath on the roof terrace was not working at all.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are very small,
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank maggie32wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We are returning for our third visit to the canifor at Xmas and New Year. We stay for a month each year. We have always found the staff to be friendly and the rooms spotless. You can always find something to eat and the boys behind the food counter are always obliging. Looking forward to seeing you all again. Can we have a room at the front of the hotel again?

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We had been on a weeks cruise prior to stayin at the canifor hotel for a week what a come down it was a shock to the system, not a lot choice for breakfast and the the food was appalling and repetitive and cold most of the time, only 1 bowl of salad, snack meals were better and if you want some fresh fruit you have to pay for it which i have never known before it,s a place we won't being visiting again, if your on all inc you can get pint beer but you can't have pint coke

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank crimbo1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Qawra
0.1 mi away
Qawra Palace Hotel
Qawra Palace Hotel
#6 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,679 reviews
0.8 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,534 reviews
0.3 mi away
Soreda Hotel
Soreda Hotel
#4 of 15 in Qawra
1,980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Santana
Hotel Santana
#4 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,457 reviews
0.2 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
0.8 mi away
San Pawl Hotel
San Pawl Hotel
#10 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canifor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canifor Hotel

Property: Canifor Hotel
Address: Nakkri Road, Qawra, Island of Malta SPB 05, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Qawra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Qawra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Canifor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Canifor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canifor Hotel Qawra
Canifor Hotel Malta/Qawra
Malta Canifor Hotel
Canifor Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing