We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“would not go back to the canifor” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Canifor Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Canifor Hotel
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Qawra
wales
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“would not go back to the canifor”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Well, first of all I must say that this is not a 4 star hotel and I would not give it more than 2 and a half stars. When we arrived we were put in a very small corner room with the bathroom ceiling which had fallen down,they put us in another room which was a good size. When it was time to go to bed we pulled back the sheetsand they were dirty and had long black hairs in between the sheets, we complained and eventually they were changed. We had great big ants in our room that only seemed to show themselves in the evening, we did report it several times but nothing seemed to be done about it. Now the food, we were all inclusive, breakfast was the same every day horrible bacon, sausage, fried egg, poached egg and baked beans. Cold. Sometimes lunch and dinner was ok but never very hot. Entertainment was ok for the Maltese and the over 70's. I would never stay in this hotel again although the staff was very nice and helpful. We stayed at the Meleiha bay hotel a 4 star a few years ago and it was superb. You could not make any comparisons between the two. Very small swimming pool and the spa bath on the roof terrace was not working at all.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are very small,
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank maggie32wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,660 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    412
    405
    322
    343
See reviews for
348
817
118
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (513)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

We are returning for our third visit to the canifor at Xmas and New Year. We stay for a month each year. We have always found the staff to be friendly and the rooms spotless. You can always find something to eat and the boys behind the food counter are always obliging. Looking forward to seeing you all again. Can we have a room at the front of the hotel again?

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

We had been on a weeks cruise prior to stayin at the canifor hotel for a week what a come down it was a shock to the system, not a lot choice for breakfast and the the food was appalling and repetitive and cold most of the time, only 1 bowl of salad, snack meals were better and if you want some fresh fruit you have to pay for it which i have never known before it,s a place we won't being visiting again, if your on all inc you can get pint beer but you can't have pint coke

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank crimbo1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frinton-On-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

Having seen the couple of reviews where guests say they were unsatisfied with their room or the food, I felt I must say how much I disagree with their reviews! We've stayed at the Canifor a couple of times for a month at a time, and have enjoyed every minute of our stay. We have no complaints, and have never heard anyone complain either. When you stay for a month you get to know most of the other guests and I can't remember anyone ever saying a bad word about the place. Our room was cleaned thoroughly every day even though we were rarely there in the daytime, and every day we had fresh towels and soap. As for the food, it was far better than you'd get in a lot of restaurants in Britain, and there was more choice. I'd thoroughly recommend the Canifor to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tony k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

My partner & i have recently spent 1 week at the Canifor Hotel,throughout our stay we found the staff most helpful & considerate. The hotel was excellent in all ways apart from the usual people that seem to go on holiday to moan constantly about everything & ruin everyone elses good times.The rooms were always clean & the air con was a godsend- maybe the nets could use a wash but apart from that everything was very satisfactory & we shall be returning again soon.If you are looking for value for money then this is the place to stay in malta..It is also very central for getting around the island..

Room Tip: Rooms over looking pool are quieter apart from birds 1st thing in morning..these rooms do not get fu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank n d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

had a great week in malta helped greatly by where i was staying friendly staff decent food clean room nice pool entertainment excellent location and wonderful people staying in the hotel all in all a great experience the hotel is very close to the shops and bus station wher a weekly ticket allowing you to go anywhere cost just twelve euros excellent value and having never been in malta before there was so much i wanted to see will have to go back to see some more but don't mind that at all and know i will go back to stay in the canifor.

  • Liked — the ambiance and the location
  • Disliked — leaving it
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jimbo058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

Stayed at the Canifor for 1 week and generally thought it reasonable for the price we paid.Room cleaned everyday,clean towels everyday,food was basic but plenty of it,the only gripe I had with the food was the cold plates.We only really use a hotel for a base,as we like to travel around and see the places we visit.Shower was a bit iffy but bathroom generally clean.If we could be guaranteed the same room we would definately stay again.

Room Tip: room 221 at rear of building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Qawra
0.4 mi away
Soreda Hotel
Soreda Hotel
#4 of 16 in Qawra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,897 reviews
0.3 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
0.1 mi away
Qawra Palace Hotel
Qawra Palace Hotel
#6 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Bella Vista Hotel
Bella Vista Hotel
#12 of 16 in Qawra
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,695 reviews
0.9 mi away
San Pawl Hotel
San Pawl Hotel
#11 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,396 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Santana
Hotel Santana
#4 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canifor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canifor Hotel

Property: Canifor Hotel
Address: Nakkri Road, Qawra, Island of Malta SPB 05, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Qawra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Qawra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Canifor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick and Booking.com so you can book your Canifor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canifor Hotel Qawra
Canifor Hotel Malta/Qawra
Malta Canifor Hotel
Canifor Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing