We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looking forward to our 3rd visit”
Review of Canifor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Canifor Hotel
Ranked #14 of 15 Hotels in Qawra
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Looking forward to our 3rd visit”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We are returning for our third visit to the canifor at Xmas and New Year. We stay for a month each year. We have always found the staff to be friendly and the rooms spotless. You can always find something to eat and the boys behind the food counter are always obliging. Looking forward to seeing you all again. Can we have a room at the front of the hotel again?

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,722 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    431
    422
    333
    354
See reviews for
358
847
123
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (534)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We had been on a weeks cruise prior to stayin at the canifor hotel for a week what a come down it was a shock to the system, not a lot choice for breakfast and the the food was appalling and repetitive and cold most of the time, only 1 bowl of salad, snack meals were better and if you want some fresh fruit you have to pay for it which i have never known before it,s a place we won't being visiting again, if your on all inc you can get pint beer but you can't have pint coke

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank crimbo1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frinton-On-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Having seen the couple of reviews where guests say they were unsatisfied with their room or the food, I felt I must say how much I disagree with their reviews! We've stayed at the Canifor a couple of times for a month at a time, and have enjoyed every minute of our stay. We have no complaints, and have never heard anyone complain either. When you stay for a month you get to know most of the other guests and I can't remember anyone ever saying a bad word about the place. Our room was cleaned thoroughly every day even though we were rarely there in the daytime, and every day we had fresh towels and soap. As for the food, it was far better than you'd get in a lot of restaurants in Britain, and there was more choice. I'd thoroughly recommend the Canifor to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tony k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 2, 2012

My partner & i have recently spent 1 week at the Canifor Hotel,throughout our stay we found the staff most helpful & considerate. The hotel was excellent in all ways apart from the usual people that seem to go on holiday to moan constantly about everything & ruin everyone elses good times.The rooms were always clean & the air con was a godsend- maybe the nets could use a wash but apart from that everything was very satisfactory & we shall be returning again soon.If you are looking for value for money then this is the place to stay in malta..It is also very central for getting around the island..

Room Tip: Rooms over looking pool are quieter apart from birds 1st thing in morning..these rooms do not get fu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank n d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

had a great week in malta helped greatly by where i was staying friendly staff decent food clean room nice pool entertainment excellent location and wonderful people staying in the hotel all in all a great experience the hotel is very close to the shops and bus station wher a weekly ticket allowing you to go anywhere cost just twelve euros excellent value and having never been in malta before there was so much i wanted to see will have to go back to see some more but don't mind that at all and know i will go back to stay in the canifor.

  • Liked — the ambiance and the location
  • Disliked — leaving it
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jimbo058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Stayed at the Canifor for 1 week and generally thought it reasonable for the price we paid.Room cleaned everyday,clean towels everyday,food was basic but plenty of it,the only gripe I had with the food was the cold plates.We only really use a hotel for a base,as we like to travel around and see the places we visit.Shower was a bit iffy but bathroom generally clean.If we could be guaranteed the same room we would definately stay again.

Room Tip: room 221 at rear of building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

I was trained in four star hotels and I expected a certain standard. When we entered the room the smell of sewage would turn your stomach. The hotel was filthy, the toilet seat in the bathroom was ingrained with excrement and the shower curtain and tiles were just as bad. The bed linen was threadbare and there were two holes in it. There was dust on the skirting boards and a stain of liquid on the safe. I went and bought cleaning equipment before using the bathroom. I did complain to the manager Kenneth on Sunday and on Monday night I had to complain again. Nothing had been noted about my first complaint and the only thing that was done on Tuesday was the toilet seat had been changed. During the stay the room was not cleaned properly there were the same water stains on the bathroom for the duration of our stay.
The food is what I would call pig swill. When I walked into the breakfast room the smell was sickening. The tea was cold, the hot breakfast was a joke God knows how they cooked the bacon, the sausages were white the toast was cold and there was no fruit. I was afraid to try the evening meal and basically ate out for my whole trip.
I kept hearing that this was a budget 4 star hotel. This is something that is new to me but even budget hotels that I stayed in had a higher standard than this place. I would recommend that this so called hotel be avoided. I know that I will be doing just that.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank nastydragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth L, Manager at Canifor Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
We are very sorry to read that the guest was not satisfied with the service and accommodation provided. We very much regret of any inconvenience however caused to our esteemed Guest.

The hotel undergoes regular checks from qualified persons to make sure that the cleanliness and standard of our rooms is up to standard. Unfortunately the guests was expecting more than what they paid for. While the Guests were staying at the Canifor Hotel we were serving approximately 350+ guests and we never had any problems with the Food. The Guests also mentions something about this hotel being a budget Hotel and saying that this concept is new to her but then saying that she has stayed in budget Hotels before which contradicts her whole concept and this shows that the guest intentions were only to harm our reputation, with unfounded and alleged accusations.
Thanks & Regards
Kenneth Laferla
Operations Manager
Canifor Hotel
Triq in-Nakkri
Qawra
Malta.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Qawra hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Qawra
0.3 mi away
Soreda Hotel
Soreda Hotel
#4 of 15 in Qawra
1,960 reviews
0.1 mi away
Qawra Palace Hotel
Qawra Palace Hotel
#6 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,633 reviews
0.8 mi away
San Pawl Hotel
San Pawl Hotel
#11 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
0.8 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,495 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Santana
Hotel Santana
#4 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canifor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canifor Hotel

Property: Canifor Hotel
Address: Nakkri Road, Qawra, Island of Malta SPB 05, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Qawra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Qawra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Canifor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Priceline, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Canifor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canifor Hotel Qawra
Canifor Hotel Malta/Qawra
Malta Canifor Hotel
Canifor Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing