We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A delightful hotel with lovely people”
Review of Canifor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Canifor Hotel
Ranked #14 of 15 Hotels in Qawra
Frinton-On-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A delightful hotel with lovely people”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Having seen the couple of reviews where guests say they were unsatisfied with their room or the food, I felt I must say how much I disagree with their reviews! We've stayed at the Canifor a couple of times for a month at a time, and have enjoyed every minute of our stay. We have no complaints, and have never heard anyone complain either. When you stay for a month you get to know most of the other guests and I can't remember anyone ever saying a bad word about the place. Our room was cleaned thoroughly every day even though we were rarely there in the daytime, and every day we had fresh towels and soap. As for the food, it was far better than you'd get in a lot of restaurants in Britain, and there was more choice. I'd thoroughly recommend the Canifor to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tony k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,744 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    432
    429
    336
    362
See reviews for
363
859
125
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (536)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 2, 2012

My partner & i have recently spent 1 week at the Canifor Hotel,throughout our stay we found the staff most helpful & considerate. The hotel was excellent in all ways apart from the usual people that seem to go on holiday to moan constantly about everything & ruin everyone elses good times.The rooms were always clean & the air con was a godsend- maybe the nets could use a wash but apart from that everything was very satisfactory & we shall be returning again soon.If you are looking for value for money then this is the place to stay in malta..It is also very central for getting around the island..

Room Tip: Rooms over looking pool are quieter apart from birds 1st thing in morning..these rooms do not get fu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank n d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

had a great week in malta helped greatly by where i was staying friendly staff decent food clean room nice pool entertainment excellent location and wonderful people staying in the hotel all in all a great experience the hotel is very close to the shops and bus station wher a weekly ticket allowing you to go anywhere cost just twelve euros excellent value and having never been in malta before there was so much i wanted to see will have to go back to see some more but don't mind that at all and know i will go back to stay in the canifor.

  • Liked — the ambiance and the location
  • Disliked — leaving it
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jimbo058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Stayed at the Canifor for 1 week and generally thought it reasonable for the price we paid.Room cleaned everyday,clean towels everyday,food was basic but plenty of it,the only gripe I had with the food was the cold plates.We only really use a hotel for a base,as we like to travel around and see the places we visit.Shower was a bit iffy but bathroom generally clean.If we could be guaranteed the same room we would definately stay again.

Room Tip: room 221 at rear of building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

I was trained in four star hotels and I expected a certain standard. When we entered the room the smell of sewage would turn your stomach. The hotel was filthy, the toilet seat in the bathroom was ingrained with excrement and the shower curtain and tiles were just as bad. The bed linen was threadbare and there were two holes in it. There was dust on the skirting boards and a stain of liquid on the safe. I went and bought cleaning equipment before using the bathroom. I did complain to the manager Kenneth on Sunday and on Monday night I had to complain again. Nothing had been noted about my first complaint and the only thing that was done on Tuesday was the toilet seat had been changed. During the stay the room was not cleaned properly there were the same water stains on the bathroom for the duration of our stay.
The food is what I would call pig swill. When I walked into the breakfast room the smell was sickening. The tea was cold, the hot breakfast was a joke God knows how they cooked the bacon, the sausages were white the toast was cold and there was no fruit. I was afraid to try the evening meal and basically ate out for my whole trip.
I kept hearing that this was a budget 4 star hotel. This is something that is new to me but even budget hotels that I stayed in had a higher standard than this place. I would recommend that this so called hotel be avoided. I know that I will be doing just that.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank nastydragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth L, Manager at Canifor Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
We are very sorry to read that the guest was not satisfied with the service and accommodation provided. We very much regret of any inconvenience however caused to our esteemed Guest.

The hotel undergoes regular checks from qualified persons to make sure that the cleanliness and standard of our rooms is up to standard. Unfortunately the guests was expecting more than what they paid for. While the Guests were staying at the Canifor Hotel we were serving approximately 350+ guests and we never had any problems with the Food. The Guests also mentions something about this hotel being a budget Hotel and saying that this concept is new to her but then saying that she has stayed in budget Hotels before which contradicts her whole concept and this shows that the guest intentions were only to harm our reputation, with unfounded and alleged accusations.
Thanks & Regards
Kenneth Laferla
Operations Manager
Canifor Hotel
Triq in-Nakkri
Qawra
Malta.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Qawra hotels

Luton, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

When we first got there we were told they had double booked us for the first night and they were going to put us up in staff quaters. The room was disgusting, no air conditioning, damp bed clothes, when we used shower and sink for the first time water ran brown for a few minutes. The next day the room they wanted to put us the view was off derelict wasteland. We went straight to reception and asked them if they had a pool view room available. They looked on their computer and came up with one and gave us the key for it. We went up and were impressed for a while. It was a large family size one for just the 2 of us and the view was off the pool with the sea in the distance. However, after a few hours we tried the shower and discovered it leaks and was very weak. Entertainment wasn't very great either it catered for the more mature ballroom dancing persuasion not something for late twenty-somethings. Outdoor swimming pool was dirty didn't look like it had been cleaned for sometime and had salt water in it. Indoor pool and jacuzzi same problem, indoor pool was colder than the outdoor pool. Food wasn't great either we reckon my partner had food poisoning one night. Some staff were friendly but most of them were a bit miserable. I recommend the Qawra Palace Hotel down the road we spent a night watching there entertainment which was first class and hotel looks great too.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth L, Manager at Canifor Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
We are very sorry to read that the guest was not satisfied with the service and accommodation provided. We very much regret of any inconvenience however caused to our esteemed Guest.

The guest is saying they were accommodated in the Staff Quarters for the first night. This statement cannot be true since the staff quarters are outside of the hotel building and all the rooms in the Hotel have all the same facilities (Air-condition unit, TV, Hair Dryer etc.) The Statement about the ‘Derelict Wasteland’ that the guest refers to is only a field and contains some overgrown weeds and has nothing to do with the Canifor Hotel. Usually maintenance issue with the rooms will be seen to on the same day and fixed or changed depending on the situation. One cannot say that something is bad due to the fact that it is doesn't cater to their age group, also the hotel provides entertainment 6 nights a week and it varies between, karaoke, stand-up comedians, solo singers, and ballroom dancing. In the Hotels description it is stated that the Pool is filled with Salt water we cannot see the point that the guest is trying to make there since most hotels that are close to the sea use Salt Water in their pools.
Thanks & Regards
Kenneth Laferla
Operations Manager
Canifor Hotel
Triq in-Nakkri
Qawra
Malta.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ballater
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Stayed one night on transit home.On arrival mid afternoon many guests were making the most of the all inclusive drinks.Going down for evening meal the lift we called had the contents of someones stomach on the floor,we took the stairs to reception and reported the problem.Down to restaurant we were again greeted with a trail of sick footprints from lift to toilet next to dining room not great for ones appetite.Waiters not very friendly or attentive i.e. drinks service for meal.The food was just like school dinners and not a great selection.The bar staff were rude and arrogant with slow service.The room was a good size, bathroom shower curtain was disgusting.

Room Tip: Overlooking pool at rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theo15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth L, Manager at Canifor Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
We are very sorry to read that the guest was not satisfied with the service and accommodation provided. We very much regret of any inconvenience however caused to our esteemed Guest.

The Hotel has 170 Rooms has three lifts and combining all the corridors together adds up to more than a kilometre long so it is impossible to monitor the whole Hotel at the same time. It was an unfortunate coincidence what the guests found in the lift and such incidents are dealt with as promptly as possible. For the Buffet dinner there is always a selection of 18 different food servings so there is more then ample choice to choose from. All Maintenance issue that are reported will be seen to on the same day they are reported and will be fixed or changed depending on what is needed to be done.
Thanks & Regards
Kenneth Laferla
Operations Manager
Canifor Hotel
Triq in-Nakkri
Qawra
Malta.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Qawra
0.1 mi away
Qawra Palace Hotel
Qawra Palace Hotel
#6 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,677 reviews
0.8 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,533 reviews
0.3 mi away
Soreda Hotel
Soreda Hotel
#4 of 15 in Qawra
1,980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Santana
Hotel Santana
#4 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,457 reviews
0.2 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
0.8 mi away
San Pawl Hotel
San Pawl Hotel
#10 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canifor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canifor Hotel

Property: Canifor Hotel
Address: Nakkri Road, Qawra, Island of Malta SPB 05, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Qawra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Qawra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Canifor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Canifor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canifor Hotel Qawra
Canifor Hotel Malta/Qawra
Malta Canifor Hotel
Canifor Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing