We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel”
Review of Canifor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Canifor Hotel
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Qawra
Reviewed November 2, 2012

My partner & i have recently spent 1 week at the Canifor Hotel,throughout our stay we found the staff most helpful & considerate. The hotel was excellent in all ways apart from the usual people that seem to go on holiday to moan constantly about everything & ruin everyone elses good times.The rooms were always clean & the air con was a godsend- maybe the nets could use a wash but apart from that everything was very satisfactory & we shall be returning again soon.If you are looking for value for money then this is the place to stay in malta..It is also very central for getting around the island..

Room Tip: Rooms over looking pool are quieter apart from birds 1st thing in morning..these rooms do not get fu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank n d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,858)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,181 - 1,187 of 1,858 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2012

had a great week in malta helped greatly by where i was staying friendly staff decent food clean room nice pool entertainment excellent location and wonderful people staying in the hotel all in all a great experience the hotel is very close to the shops and bus station wher a weekly ticket allowing you to go anywhere cost just twelve euros excellent value and having never been in malta before there was so much i wanted to see will have to go back to see some more but don't mind that at all and know i will go back to stay in the canifor.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank jimbo058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Stayed at the Canifor for 1 week and generally thought it reasonable for the price we paid.Room cleaned everyday,clean towels everyday,food was basic but plenty of it,the only gripe I had with the food was the cold plates.We only really use a hotel for a base,as we like to travel around and see the places we visit.Shower was a bit iffy but bathroom generally clean.If we could be guaranteed the same room we would definately stay again.

Room Tip: room 221 at rear of building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

I was trained in four star hotels and I expected a certain standard. When we entered the room the smell of sewage would turn your stomach. The hotel was filthy, the toilet seat in the bathroom was ingrained with excrement and the shower curtain and tiles were just as bad. The bed linen was threadbare and there were two holes in it. There was dust on the skirting boards and a stain of liquid on the safe. I went and bought cleaning equipment before using the bathroom. I did complain to the manager Kenneth on Sunday and on Monday night I had to complain again. Nothing had been noted about my first complaint and the only thing that was done on Tuesday was the toilet seat had been changed. During the stay the room was not cleaned properly there were the same water stains on the bathroom for the duration of our stay.
The food is what I would call pig swill. When I walked into the breakfast room the smell was sickening. The tea was cold, the hot breakfast was a joke God knows how they cooked the bacon, the sausages were white the toast was cold and there was no fruit. I was afraid to try the evening meal and basically ate out for my whole trip.
I kept hearing that this was a budget 4 star hotel. This is something that is new to me but even budget hotels that I stayed in had a higher standard than this place. I would recommend that this so called hotel be avoided. I know that I will be doing just that.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank nastydragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth L, Manager at Canifor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

We are very sorry to read that the guest was not satisfied with the service and accommodation provided. We very much regret of any inconvenience however caused to our esteemed Guest.

The hotel undergoes regular checks from qualified persons to make sure that the cleanliness and standard of our rooms is up to standard. Unfortunately the guests was expecting more than what they paid for. While the Guests were staying at the Canifor Hotel we were serving approximately 350+ guests and we never had any problems with the Food. The Guests also mentions something about this hotel being a budget Hotel and saying that this concept is new to her but then saying that she has stayed in budget Hotels before which contradicts her whole concept and this shows that the guest intentions were only to harm our reputation, with unfounded and alleged accusations.
Thanks & Regards
Kenneth Laferla
Operations Manager
Canifor Hotel
Triq in-Nakkri
Qawra
Malta.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

When we first got there we were told they had double booked us for the first night and they were going to put us up in staff quaters. The room was disgusting, no air conditioning, damp bed clothes, when we used shower and sink for the first time water ran brown for a few minutes. The next day the room they wanted to put us the view was off derelict wasteland. We went straight to reception and asked them if they had a pool view room available. They looked on their computer and came up with one and gave us the key for it. We went up and were impressed for a while. It was a large family size one for just the 2 of us and the view was off the pool with the sea in the distance. However, after a few hours we tried the shower and discovered it leaks and was very weak. Entertainment wasn't very great either it catered for the more mature ballroom dancing persuasion not something for late twenty-somethings. Outdoor swimming pool was dirty didn't look like it had been cleaned for sometime and had salt water in it. Indoor pool and jacuzzi same problem, indoor pool was colder than the outdoor pool. Food wasn't great either we reckon my partner had food poisoning one night. Some staff were friendly but most of them were a bit miserable. I recommend the Qawra Palace Hotel down the road we spent a night watching there entertainment which was first class and hotel looks great too.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stephen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth L, Manager at Canifor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

We are very sorry to read that the guest was not satisfied with the service and accommodation provided. We very much regret of any inconvenience however caused to our esteemed Guest.

The guest is saying they were accommodated in the Staff Quarters for the first night. This statement cannot be true since the staff quarters are outside of the hotel building and all the rooms in the Hotel have all the same facilities (Air-condition unit, TV, Hair Dryer etc.) The Statement about the ‘Derelict Wasteland’ that the guest refers to is only a field and contains some overgrown weeds and has nothing to do with the Canifor Hotel. Usually maintenance issue with the rooms will be seen to on the same day and fixed or changed depending on the situation. One cannot say that something is bad due to the fact that it is doesn't cater to their age group, also the hotel provides entertainment 6 nights a week and it varies between, karaoke, stand-up comedians, solo singers, and ballroom dancing. In the Hotels description it is stated that the Pool is filled with Salt water we cannot see the point that the guest is trying to make there since most hotels that are close to the sea use Salt Water in their pools.
Thanks & Regards
Kenneth Laferla
Operations Manager
Canifor Hotel
Triq in-Nakkri
Qawra
Malta.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Stayed one night on transit home.On arrival mid afternoon many guests were making the most of the all inclusive drinks.Going down for evening meal the lift we called had the contents of someones stomach on the floor,we took the stairs to reception and reported the problem.Down to restaurant we were again greeted with a trail of sick footprints from lift to toilet next to dining room not great for ones appetite.Waiters not very friendly or attentive i.e. drinks service for meal.The food was just like school dinners and not a great selection.The bar staff were rude and arrogant with slow service.The room was a good size, bathroom shower curtain was disgusting.

Room Tip: Overlooking pool at rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank theo15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth L, Manager at Canifor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

We are very sorry to read that the guest was not satisfied with the service and accommodation provided. We very much regret of any inconvenience however caused to our esteemed Guest.

The Hotel has 170 Rooms has three lifts and combining all the corridors together adds up to more than a kilometre long so it is impossible to monitor the whole Hotel at the same time. It was an unfortunate coincidence what the guests found in the lift and such incidents are dealt with as promptly as possible. For the Buffet dinner there is always a selection of 18 different food servings so there is more then ample choice to choose from. All Maintenance issue that are reported will be seen to on the same day they are reported and will be fixed or changed depending on what is needed to be done.
Thanks & Regards
Kenneth Laferla
Operations Manager
Canifor Hotel
Triq in-Nakkri
Qawra
Malta.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We booked this time for 9 nights i wish it had of been for longer but i would have put on more weight as the food is realy good and plenty to choose from. The staff are realy freindly and some of them were there when we went 4 years ago.Tony the barman is realy good especially karioke night when he does nearly 30 minutes singing.We cant wait to go back again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wenjayWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth L, Manager at Canifor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Dear Guests,
We would like to thank you for your recent visit to Canifor Hotel. It was truly a pleasure to serve you. We hope that the accommodations and service provided were to your liking, as complete satisfaction is our goal at The Canifor Hotel.
We are looking forward to your next visit and wish you all the best in all your endeavours.
Thanks & Regards
Kenneth Laferla
Operations Manager
Canifor Hotel
Triq in-Nakkri
Qawra
Malta.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Qawra
0.3 mi away
Soreda Hotel
Soreda Hotel
#4 of 15 in Qawra
2,102 reviews
0.2 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
0.1 mi away
Qawra Palace Hotel
Qawra Palace Hotel
#6 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sunflower Hotel
Sunflower Hotel
#6 of 15 in Qawra
818 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Santana
Hotel Santana
#4 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,590 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bella Vista Hotel
Bella Vista Hotel
#12 of 15 in Qawra
1,834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canifor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canifor Hotel

Address: Nakkri Road, Qawra, Island of Malta SPB 05, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Qawra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Qawra
Price Range: $31 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Canifor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Canifor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canifor Hotel Qawra
Canifor Hotel Malta/Qawra
Malta Canifor Hotel
Canifor Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing