We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was as we expected.”
Review of Canifor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Canifor Hotel
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Qawra
Reviewed October 17, 2012

To be honest, when we booked this holiday we were looking for a budget break. This hotel was exactly that. Well situated between Qawra and Bugibba you can get all around the island very easily. The main bus terminal is only a short 5 minute stroll away and the buses are extremely reliable- we could have been in London! The room was basic but did the job. And working in a hotel myself, I was very impressed with the housekeeping standards.
The food was quite repetitive but enjoyable. The restaurant was always clean and well staffed. The staff are extremely friendly, but do seem to receive some rude behaviour. I would definitely recommend the entertainment- Danny J De Vito was hilarious. And watching the dancing kept me entertained for hours.
The local bar owners are also all extremely welcoming and the prices are very good.
The outside pool area was quite small but never full so it works quite well. The indoor pool and jacuzzi are lovely- especially when they've warmed up!
I would definitely recommend an afternoon on the sun terrace- such a sun trap.

Finally I would recommend the Luzzu restaurant in Qawra, situated on the waterfront. My partner and I ate there twice during our trip and if we had not paid for all inclusive we would have been there even more. The food was lovely for an extremely reasonable price and their outside balcony area has a stunning view! I definitely recommend the pizza!
If you go to Malta, make sure you explore. Go on a local bus or a boat trip. It is a truly beautiful island.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smith9492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,875)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,206 - 1,212 of 1,875 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2012

money was tight this year & we wanted to stay at malta to meet friends. they always stay at the canifor hotel & we stay at the qawra palace we got a price with chevron for just over £700 for 10 days half board at the canifor & booked up,i later read the reviews & it was saying the staff was misrible & the food horid ugh i thought what have we done well on ariveal the staff seemed very freindly & we got our room 301 it was very nice we had a iron iron board hairdryer kettel cups & every day we got milk tea & coffees well what do people want (now for the food) again we found the staff to be lovely the food was great salad bar lovely.what i could not beleave was how ignorent some engish people are it was embarasing the way they spoke to the staff when we left the waiter seaid how pleasent it was to serve us i could of cried . overall e were in a good location the hoter had a outside pool & beds a roof terace beds & jucussie inside pool with a jucussie reading room gym the qawra palace might look nice but when you get in from the front its not that good & nearly a grand more if we did return to malta we would stay at this hotel its great value for money the only downfall is the surrounding area dirty loads of pot holes but the weather isgreat NEVER go in july or august.

Room Tip: rooms at the frount of the hotel get all the sun & night life
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jill910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth L, Manager at Canifor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2012

Dear Guests,
We would like to thank you for your recent visit to Canifor Hotel. It was truly a pleasure to serve you. We hope that the accommodations and service were to your liking, as complete satisfaction is our goal at The Canifor Hotel.
We look forward to your next visit and wish you all the best in all your endeavours.
Thanks & Regards
Kenneth Laferla
Operations Manager
Canifor Hotel
Triq in-Nakkri
Qawra
Malta.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We booked the hotel but when we arrived the hotel was full. We were put in the apartments for one night. The apartment was clean and tidy. When we got there we had no water. This was soon fixed. We asked for the safe key but this had been mislaid. There was alot of noise and at first we thought other guests were moving the furniture. This turned out not to be the case. It was the water pump on the roof above us. This went on all night (every time someone in the block used a tap) We went for something to eat and when we returned to the room the access was in complete darkness. We found our way back using a lighter.
The next day we were given a room on the 5th floor. This was fine.We looked out onto the pool.
We booked all inclusive but I don't believe this hotel is really that well set up to offer this option. The food was fine but not as much choice as we have had in other all inclusive hotels.
I don't think this hotel derserves the four stars. It's location is ideal for the bus station and there are many bars and eating places just minutes away.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool seemed better. The ones that faced the road did not have a very good view. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Having read some of the previous reviews, I really wonder what some people expect for the price they pay. Were they expecting the Ritz ?.Come on this is an excellant value for money hotel. The staff were friendly, the food was good with plenty of choice. Our room 513 was clean & tidy & everything worked ok. My only moan was that the sparrows in the big tree near the pool were very vocal early in the morning, however for some city folk it might be nice to wake up to bird song. All in all we enjoyed our stay at the Canifor.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the pool had the best outlook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank delb0y27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

good location,nice clean hotel good service.there was a problem with my room they never had one ,..it was all sorted and they put me in the cardor apartment's 503 good room a/c.tv. fridge.fan,could not fault it
pub's and eating places all around,bus station around the corner
must recomend the RED LION good food, cold beer and advice on trip's and thing's to do,ask for Andrew or Martin.

Room Tip: be firm,tell them your need's..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

This hotel appears to ignore the actual booking you have made and will try to put you in any
room they have available ! Two days of our seven day holiday were wasted sorting this out.
The room we ended up in, needed a good lick of paint and a fridge returned to room as there
was just an empty cupboard where it should have been. Under no circumstances accept key
for room 601, this is an utter disgrace,on the top of hotel and we wonder whether it was
actually a hotel room at all. Food was reasonably good and was varied.

Room Tip: Rooms at either end of hotel are better, you will be away from lift noise, which is almost 24 hour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank john b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth L, Manager at Canifor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

After checking what have happened with the booking of these guests we found out that there was a mistake from the agencies side. The Canifor Hotel was on Stop sale but the agent still took the Guests booking. We have tried to inform the Agent that there was no space available to accommodate the guests but the agent didn’t reply back to our emails. The Spare is only used in case of emergencies and is not a room that is normally used. As the Guests comments show there were no other problems after we managed to sort out the problem that the agency overbooked.
Thanks & Regards
Kenneth Laferla
Operations Manager
Canifor Hotel
Triq in-Nakkri
Qawra
Malta.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Me and my boyfriend went to this hotel all inclusive.

We were very disappointed with the hotel.
On arrival our room was not available so we were put into an apartment. The apartment was: DAMP, DIRTY, SMELLY, WALLS IN ROOM COVERED IN MOULD, BATHROOM WAS ALSO MOULDY. We complained about the state of the apartment and we were transferred to a STORE ROOM, which was also DIRTY, for our first night.
Second day we were transferred to a room (128). Initially the room appeared alright but by the third day we had a cockroach infestation.

Further more the food wasn't great but was just about edable and was not very many options
On a positive note the staff we very helpful.
The holiday with the exception of the hotel was good and Malta is a beautiful island.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kate T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth L, Manager at Canifor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

We are very sorry to read that the guest was not satisfied with the accommodation and we very much regret of any inconvenience however caused to our esteemed Guest.
The Hotel is covered by a pest control company and is checked and on a regular basis (every two weeks) to make sure that there aren’t any bugs or rodents infesting the Hotel. Also if the guests never reported to the front desk what they have seen the Hotel cannot be held responsible since we assumed that the guest is happy with the room and that everything is fine for the guests staying there.
Thanks & Regards
Kenneth Laferla
Operations Manager
Canifor Hotel
Triq in-Nakkri
Qawra
Malta.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Qawra
0.3 mi away
Soreda Hotel
Soreda Hotel
#4 of 15 in Qawra
2,119 reviews
0.1 mi away
Qawra Palace Hotel
Qawra Palace Hotel
#6 of 13 in St. Paul's Bay
2,885 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sunflower Hotel
Sunflower Hotel
#6 of 15 in Qawra
839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hotel Santana
Hotel Santana
#4 of 13 in St. Paul's Bay
1,619 reviews
0.2 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
0.6 mi away
Bella Vista Hotel
Bella Vista Hotel
#11 of 15 in Qawra
1,865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canifor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canifor Hotel

Address: Nakkri Road, Qawra, Island of Malta SPB 05, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Qawra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Qawra
Price Range: $29 - $806 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Canifor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Canifor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canifor Hotel Qawra
Canifor Hotel Malta/Qawra
Malta Canifor Hotel
Canifor Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing