We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Canifor Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$182
$164
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
$129
$126
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$99
$90
Priceline
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
$159
$139
Priceline
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$122
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$320
HotelsClick
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Dolmen Hotel Malta(St. Paul's Bay)
$153
$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
The Triton(Qawra)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Internet
Reviews (1,926)
Filter reviews
1,926 results
Traveler rating
207
477
470
363
409
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
207
477
470
363
409
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssoupsbus stationbudget hotelbad reviewstowels changed dailyfresh towelsplenty of choicesea front
Filter
Updating list...
1,331 - 1,336 of 1,926 reviews
Reviewed May 13, 2012

After 12 hours of travelling from Norway, we arrived at the hotel at 9 pm. just to be told that there had been a mistake.. we were doublebooked. To make this up for us, they had "upgraded" us to The Coral Hotel (same owners) and a half-board stay.
The receptionist at Canifor would like to give us a meal before they moved us, but in the restaurant things went out a little schocking: - we couldnt be given anything to drink with the food, because we did not have a room. We tried to tell that the meal was suppose to be a "complement" for beeing moved, but we did not sucseed. After then waiting for the driver for about 15 min we finally went to The Coral. Friendly staff, but what a hotel. Needs some upgrading I think. Even the tiles on the floor was making noises as a wooden floor. Problems to get the toilet flush, no hot water, nearly no water at all, hard beds, etc.etc. The day after we went out to find somewhere else to stay, and moved out the same evening.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank siwbg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2012

After flying from Birmingham to Malta with Air Malta (which encluded aan unexpected inflight meal) we arrived at the Canifor at around 2.00 am. Our room was on the first floor, basic but clean, overlooking the Irish bar at the rear of the hotel.. The food was ample and on the first day we purchased a 7 day bus ticket for 12 euros each and saw quite a bit of the island every day.The beer was good and you are always given a good measure when you order a short .The hotel lounge does get over taken somewhat by the locals on Saturday night .But we shared a table with them and got on fine .I find the Maltese a very friendly people we visited the war museum in Valletta and saw the hardship these brave people went through in both the wars .On our last night there was karioki which was good fun and on other nights there were good singers .We found the staff helpful and hard working .We will return to Malta as we enjoyed our first trip and for £570.00 A.I. for both of us it was an ideal early break

Room Tip: Lower floors better as you can use stairs
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank brummiepat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2012

My Husband and I have just returned from a 3 night AI weekend break from the Canifor Hotel. We were a little worried when we read the mixed reviews before we went so prepared for the worst as it was very cheap. To our great surprise we were delighted when we got there. Firstly we got a warm welcome and an Ai card given to us, better than the silly wrist bands you have to wear in most hotels. When we got to our room we were anxious to open the door to look inside, when we did it was a very spacious family room with a comfortable sofa, sky tv and balcony.Spotlessly clean with lovely new white towels in abundance.The food was excellent,allways a vast choise and the chefs serving were very helpful. There was waiter service for drinks with your meal.The hotel was used by alot of elderly guests on long stay visits, by god they can dance.We spent most of our time on the sun terrace on the 6th floor enjoing the 28 degrees sunshine,when it got to hot there was a covered jacuzzi to cool down in. The hotel is walking distance from St Pauls bay,well worth a visit.We have allready booked our next holiday there.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank allycat61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2012

10 May 2012 - Active couple in early fifties, if you go with the thought it provides a bed and a hot shower you won't be dissapointed. Don't bother with all inclusive meals unless you miss the works canteen, you pay extra for fruit and the alternative Pizzeria was shut and we were told it only opens Saturdays. Good news its near the bus station and with no reason to spend time in a very tired 2 star (Can it be 4, Canifor) Hotel you can explore the lovely island of Malta and superb reasonable restaurants. We had a great holiday not a great experience in the Canifor. Ask for a room away from the Elvis tribute bar as he does tend to warble into the night. Oh! and finally, I'd wash my dogs bedding weekly the matresses for the pool lounges are close to self combusting with the soaked in fluids.

Room Tip: Don't unpack your bags until you have checked whats outside the balcony and have looked up for mould on the ceilings.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2012

We returned from our stay at the Canofor on the 8th May 2012, the reason we decided to use the Canifor again was we stayed there in 1993 and had a enjoyable time with no complaints at all.
This time we booked a superior room, it was clean but could have done with some cosmetic work, the girls who attended our daily cleaning were very good and when about their work with a smile and geeted us with a good morning every day, this was something that the front desk staff never did, they seldom lifted their heads to look at their customers and say good morning, in fact, we got the message they were not enjoying their job, or we, their customers were an inconvenience to them. the only time they made any contact with us was when we first arrived for our stay. They require training in Customer Care and how to greet their guests.
The resaurant staff, we never had a greeting of "good morning" from them or a "good evening" at the evening meal, in fact they were also looked as if they were not enjoying their work, our empty plates were often left on our table and remained there until we were ready to leave. staff often walked pass them and never bothered to remove, again a good training course in Customer Care would certainly not go amiss.
We never asumed that we would have to queue up for our evening meal and be served by the staff from behind the counter, this reminded us of being back at school, the standard of the food was something else, it looked good, but the taste was certainly not as good as it looked, in fact we decided after three days to eat out at the local resaurants, this inflated the price our our holiday but it was the only way of getting a meal worth eating.
At breakfast there was no fruit available, if you wanted fruit there was an extra charge, but you only had the choice of an apple or an orange, we have never stayed at any hotel in Europe were we have had to pay extra for fruit at breakfast, and this rule certainly did not apply last time we stayed at the Canifor, in fact the standard of food was of a much higher standard, this was the reason for using the Canifor again. and the management at on the front desk were much more pleasent.
Another comment we will make is, this hotel is not wheel chair friendly, or suitable for any persons with walking problems, it has no gradiant at the entrance only two levels of steps outside leadind to reception, guests are expected to carry their own luggage from the pavement to the check in. I helped a number of guests with disability problems by carrying their cases up the steps and into reception, they had been been left on the pavement with their cases after being dropped off by their transfer from the airport, the front desk staff could see what had happened but made no attempt to help in any way at all. The last time we used the Canifor our luggage was delivered to our bedroom door , as was the same with all other guests. We did witness a member of staff passing comment to a guest who used a entance door from the lower level to gain access outside, they were informed in no uncertian manner, not to use that door, she again had walking problems, her husband told this member of staff they would not use the Canifor again, the reply came back, "Please Your Self."
Would we return to the Canifor for a third time, No, why, it is no longer value for money, it is certainly not of the standard when we last used it, this is clearly the fault of the Management in charge. they can use the excuse of, they ony get a small amount of cash to spend, we dont and won't acept this excuse. if they cant give better value for money then either reduce the board to a bed and breakfast and reduce the catering staff, this way they could at least upgrade the breakfast to include more of a selection.
A warning to Senior the Management, without customers you are nothing, you will have learn this the hard way unless a number of your staff change their attitude towards your customers.
Make your self available and to be seen by your customers, in the restaurant at meal times, and around the hotel, this is good Management skills, I know, because I speak from experience, I am a inspector for hotels and guest houses B&B in the UK. And finally, we noticed we were not given a comment form fill in before our departure, again Management will not recieve feed back from your customers without this.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank drofekaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews