We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Do not believe the negative reports - pete and julia” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Canifor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Canifor Hotel
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Qawra
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Do not believe the negative reports - pete and julia”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2012

We have just returned last saturday the 17th from a week at the canifor , after reading the negative reports knocking the hotel we were a bit sceptical about going there . make your own mind up , we found the staff most helpful , very friendly , the food was quite good with good choice we could always find something to eat every day and meal time , we have done all inclusive for a few years now and this was one of the best , you are not paying 5 star prices , the hotel was clean , the bedrooms were good , public areas were clean and domestic staff were very helpful . we met some very nice people on this holiday and found the island very picturesque and pretty . Visit the elvis bar and the Tavern close by , buses very good bus station close by , avoid the time share !

Room Tip: overlooking the pool on 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank petertwells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,656 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    412
    403
    322
    341
See reviews for
348
814
118
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (513)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
bristol uk
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2012

Im not sure what people expect for their money, its a low budget hotel...... YOU - GET -WHAT - YOU - PAY - FOR. I found the staff friendly, the rooms clean, the food was a bit hit and miss but there was always salad for people that are fussy. The entertainment is hilarious...the locals all gather at the hotel for a dancing session, its like watching come dancing live :D
The pool is rather small but there is plenty of sunbathing space, and the poor maintenance guy works really hard to make sure the pool side is clean and washed down every day.
We hired a car and explored the island so we didn't spend all our time at the hotel.
If you want a base to explore the local area at a low cost then this is the place for you, if you want the Ritz you need to book elsewhere. Honestly, i dont think the hotel deserves the low rating it has received but then i dont have high expectations when i book a low cost hotel x

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank glittergirlNO1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2012

All staff 1st, class,good choice of food, very clean,towels changed daily, bed linen every 3 days bus station & shops close by

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank handy_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2012

Just got back from a weeks stay at the canifor,great time there lovely staff and made some good friends.ideal location,food good and clean rooms,we went all inc.well worth the money,resort prices were cheap as well,will come back to malta again lovely island. angie&stu.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank stu59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow scotland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2012

We have been to this hotel before and it was ok, but just ok. When we visited this time we expected little from it but got less. The first room we were given was nothing less than a disgrace it was small and dirty and the toilet did not flush, we were supposed to have a superior room so I complained to reception straight away,she said all the rooms were the same, but with a superior room you had extras like an iron , kettle etc, having stayed here before I knew it was a lie the room I was in the last time was much bigger, faced with this the receptionist spoke to another member of staff and we were eventually moved, into a superior room which was more than double the size of the first one, We were given an iron (which we could not use because of all the stuff stuck to the bottom) a kettle (which was filthy and had to be changed). The food was what I expected (edible) at dinner, breakfast was a laugh, bacon every second day but on the no bacon days you could have stew from the night before as an alternative. The whole place is in need of a good clean and a coat of paint, new furniture would not go amiss, and the reception staff really need to pull there socks up they are really shocking as reps of this hotel.
Positive points are the bar staff, restaurant staff and the really hard working cleaning staff, who have a thankless task cleaning rooms, which quite frankly have seen better days.This hotel is no way a four star, it is a pretty poor three star perhaps even a two star, I will visit Malta again because I love the place, but never this hotel unless they make drastic changes.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool are probably best
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank supersally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth L, Manager at Canifor Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2012
All of our rooms are standard, but we aren’t aware whether the room was single or double because the writer did not give us any information. Naturally, Single rooms are smaller than double rooms and so on, and if client was allocated a single room instead of a double room the comment if unfair. Superior rooms usually consist in having more facilities than the normal rooms, like Ironing table, iron, tea & coffee making facilities etc. It is highly unlikely that the kettle mentioned was unsatisfactory.
The food is good and compares very well with the value of the whole package paid for the holiday. The share of the package paid for the board is ridiculously low and it is unreasonable to expect more than we have on offer. Guest should check the share from the package paid for the board and then compare with what one gets for the money spent.
During Breakfast we serve 35 different items some of which are plain bread / Toasted, sausages, bacon, eggs fried/Scrambled, boiled and poached every day, Danish Pastry, Vanilla/Choc cake, lettuce, tomatoes, Cold cuts, Cheese, 3 types of cereals, 2/3 juices, Milk Etc.
The Hotel is has lately undergone a refurbishing program and the remarks made by the guest are unfair.
We are very sorry to note that guest is unable to compare value for money.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Qawra hotels

Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2012

We were under the impression that the hotel was a four star hotel. When we arrived the hotel looked the part from outside with black marble steps and a lagre clean welcoming reception area.
We went to the desk where the receptionist took her time to acknowledge our existance, only to give us a registration card, then went into the back office. She later arrived back still chatting away to someone else and gave us our welcome pack, half board pass and key. I explained we were All Inclusive. she looked us up and down and said ok I will change the card, I beleive you just bring the paperwork down to show me. I took the papers out of the suitycase there and then to avoid any issues.
She was very dismisive and pointed us to the lift. we had been allocated room 230.
Our booking stated twin room sleeps four so you get a poicture of the size of room you would get.
The room was very small,dingey and not what we expected.
We went to reception and asked to be moved. we were told the Hotel was full and we could not move, eventualy we were moved to 227 and the following day to room 223.

If you want tea and coffee in the room or to use the TV there is an additional charge.
The hotel was pleasent on the ground floor and down stairs in the restaurant, but the bedrooms could do with new furniture and maybe a no smoking floor or rooms as we could not get rid of the stale smoke smell in the room. (take some Fabreeze)


After the bad start and the wish to catch the next flight home the Bar and Retaurant staff were fantastic and a saving grace to the hotel. Nothing was too much trouble for them and after a day or two knew the drinks and room number etc.
The food was a hot and cold buffet and was extreemly satisfying to the extent of the waiste line getting bigger and if there was someyhing you did not like the chefs would happily change it or do something for you.

There was entertainment every night and was the sameish each day, but go with an open mind, but this is not four star go for 2/3 star rooms with 4 star surroundings and 5 star staff(except reception)

Unfortunatly the weather was not as good as we had hoped but they have an indoor pool which was small but warm and charming.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupar, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2012

My fiance and i stayed at this hotel for a week arrived on Monday 27th Feb and were expecting terrible things after reading these reviews. I must ask what are you all complaining about??? the food was good and if you didnt like anything then they are happy to make you a plate of chips all you do is ask. My room was clean when i arrived and cleaned everyday. found staff very helpfull. The hotel did not have great entertainment for younger people but it was a nice place to go and just relax, You could also chill out at the indoor pool, outdoor pool or on the roof. I would recomend this hotel All inclusive as we had no problems you dont even have to go all inclusive there were plenty place round about to go.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pupxXx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Qawra
0.4 mi away
Soreda Hotel
Soreda Hotel
#4 of 16 in Qawra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,894 reviews
0.3 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
0.0 mi away
Bella Vista Hotel
Bella Vista Hotel
#12 of 16 in Qawra
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Qawra Palace Hotel
Qawra Palace Hotel
#6 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,492 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Santana
Hotel Santana
#4 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,342 reviews
0.9 mi away
San Pawl Hotel
San Pawl Hotel
#11 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canifor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canifor Hotel

Property: Canifor Hotel
Address: Nakkri Road, Qawra, Island of Malta SPB 05, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Qawra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Qawra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Canifor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Canifor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canifor Hotel Qawra
Canifor Hotel Malta/Qawra
Malta Canifor Hotel
Canifor Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing