We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five days was enough”
Review of Canifor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Canifor Hotel
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Qawra
Reviewed August 1, 2011

Pool area very small and in the shade by 2pm. The pool is also saltwater. Roof terrace was ok and never busy. Rudest receptionist I have ever met. Don't bother booking a superior room - we did and were initially given a standard room with a balcony that was designed so you sat and held hand with the neighbouring room! Moved next morning to a bigger room but it just had more beds in it so no more floor space, a kettle and iron. If you are given a room on the fifth floor be aware that you will be woken every morning at 7am by the maids trollies and the air con/solar panel equipment on the roof terrace. It sounded like a helicopter was landing in our room and then gushing water as if the room was about to be flooded. Didn't watch entertainment but seemed to be a club style singer every night. Nothing for kids or teenagers to do and no outside space apart from the pool area for them to play (luckily didn't have any with us). The food was the biggest let down. Not badly cooked but very limited choice served school dinner style so men were given the same portion size and women and kids. Luckily my husband doesn't eat alot! Although only there for five days the food was very repetitive and hardly any choice of vegetable. The desserts were the same choice of four every night and if you wanted ice cream you had to ask a waiter and he brought out a tiny bowl. The only fruit on offer was watermelon for breakfast and dinner although they had bowls of plastic fruit for decoration! The piece de resistance was the beef in gravy served for breakfast two mornings which was obviously left over from dinner the night before. If you do stay here either go self catering or breakfast only. Cheap hotel but in hindsight probably should have paid a bit more and stayed elsewhere. Only positive point was location.

Room Tip: Don't bother with a superior room and avoid the fifth floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pepsimerchant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canifor, Manager at Canifor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2011

Dear Guest,

A superior room is basically a room which is slightly larger and contains tea and coffee making facilities as well as iron and ironing board, no more no less. People booking superior rooms most of the time expect to have some sort of suite which is not the case. I get customers claiming to have booked a superior suite which is NOT sold by the hotel.
Solar power which is located on the roof of the 6th floor does not use any pumps and is relatively noiseless so I do not understand what the helicopter noise is. Again I wish this case was reported whilst on holiday as I have just checked for noise and could not hear a thing. Breakfast at the Canifor is full English and we also serve liver twice a week which is not beef and obviously not served the night before, there is a variety at dinner as well with fresh veg , two types of meat, fish and large cold selection of salads as well as cheese and crackers. Sweets there are usually 4 types of gateau and these are also changed on the day as well. We do get good comments about the food.

Max Gatt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,838)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,353 - 1,359 of 1,838 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2011

We arrived on Sunday 24th July at 12.30, the hotel receptionist told us the room would not be ready untill 2pm, check in was smooth the lady gave us our all inclusive card and direct us to the bar which was fine. had lunch in the restaurant that too was ok. At reception we were given our room key a superior room we booked room pool towels at a cost of 6 euro with a 6 euro refundable deposit and 12 euro for safe with same deposit also refundable.
We were on the fith floor, got into room still not been made up after last guest, anyway caught maid on the landing, and she sorted things out stright away, so on first impression, room a bit tired but bright bathroom similar chipped tiles loose toilet seat etc. First night not good as ceiling fan kept us all awake the following moring the light blew in the bathroom. reported to reception, the repair man was with us within 10 mins and fixed the light adjusted the fan which fixed it for 10 mins, in all fairness the man said he would call back and sort it out and he did not more issues after.
The hotel restaurant very cramped at busy times no room to walk betwen tables for self service *** plan your walk through *** the food was fine breakfast full english and continental every morning always a good choice, evening meals we all found good too, bearing in mind we will eat or try most things. * note if your are a fussy eater or have children of a similar disposition they always have sausages and a fritter type thing which I tried and found to be ok. Saturday roast was very good and try the fruity curry or pork stew very good. you have to ask for ice cream. We were ALL INCLUSIVE the drinks for local standard were ok but must add the red/white wines are very young and course not too everyones taste. I drank the draft beer mostly which was lowenbrau, hmmmmmm not sure it was but was fine anyway. The whisky is John Brown never seeen that before and its dredfull stay away. the white rum is ok, makes a nice rum and coke. The lounge entertainment is dreadfull, if hotel reads this doing somthing about it please. It is aimed wholey at the older generation. Nothing for the younger ones at all, try even a modern disco at least one night a week, give them a break, infact give us all a break we are both in our 40's and must from the 40's and 50's just not doing for us at all most of the singers the various artists portrayed are deceased or nearly. Moving on things did take a turn for the worst on our last evening when going to our room there was the biggest cockroach i ever seen at our door, the mrs sent it scurrying off down the corridor, the following morning it was lying their legs in the air another client had obviously dispatched it from this world. The follwing morning we checked out. Summing up the hotel is ok overall and not the complete horror stories you will have read, but it does have a couple improvements to make to live up too a 4* status.
The resort itself has very little walk to buggiba for shops bars etc a very nice front and places to get into the sea, has a rocky coast line, however you can take a bus to sandy beaches further down the coast. I can say that the bus services all air conditioned are excellent we used alot to visit Valleta and Mdina both well worth the trip if using bus on more than one day get the week pass at 6.5 euro p/p fantastic value and the bus trip great way of seeing island and get a cool down, as you will find that hotels room air con works when it feels like, sorry the last bit was an after though on the hotel. Hope you enjoy your break.

Cheers Tony and Jen

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AnthonyCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canifor, Manager at Canifor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2011

Dear Tony and Gen,

Thank you for your comments and we appreciate them as we can always improve on what we offer. We do offer entertainment but due to the locality and due to the fact that Bugibba is full of different types of bars all offering differnt types of music the hotel cannot really compete and offer the same variety. Thank you for your comments regarding the food , I am glad that you found the variety suitable , as for all inclusive drinks these are all local mostly although we do change the products and try and obtain better ones as well. I will look into the whisky brand too. The hotel also has a full pest treatment programme and as Malta has a hot climate some incidents do happen on rare occasions, but we can assure you that insects do fly in too.

Please feel free to write to me at max@canifor,com and I will answer any questions you might have. I would appreciate it if comments are also passed to me whilst people are here as well as sometimes we have to explain and I am sure that there would be able to understand some situations better.

Regards,


Max Gatt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

This was the first holiday abroad I had ever been on, so in a way I have nothing to compare this holiday to. I have read the previous reviews and was a little apprehensive but went along with an open mind as I believe that some people expect too much when they go abroad.

Booking in went smoothly however the receptionist looked a little stressed and didn't exactly greet us "with a smile" so to speak. There was a lot of sighing under the breath and felt like they weren't 100% fully concentrating on the customer and their needs. I'm from a customer service background in both retail and the entertainment industry and felt like the reception was a tad "cold". Maybe this can be improved on with more training? Ive been to a 2 star hotel in Barcelona on a University excursion and the gentleman at reception was very friendly and went out of his way to help you with your trip in any way he could, and he always smiled and acknowledged you. Was disappointing considering Canifor is advertised as a 4 star.

Room was ok, however felt like the cleaning during the duration of the week wasn't up to speed. The floor never seemed to be swept and we had the same hand towel for the entire time we were there, it was never taken away to be washed! Maids only seemed to clean the toilet and bed sheets in the room and yet they were still cleaning at 3pm on the same floor? Seemed all too lax, and also witnessed two of the maids casually chatting in someone's room as we passed by. Why is this allowed? Also balcony was dirty with bird droppings everywhere, quite disappointing because I was looking forward to having a balcony area to spend some time on during the holiday.

On the first full day we were at the hotel, I paid the 12 euro for a mini cooler in the morning. (Baring in mind this is a non-refundable payment) Waited all day and nothing came of it. I had to visit reception on 3 more occasions asking where the mini cooler was (Took 24 hours in the end to FINALLY get it!)! I didn't even get a sorry or a refund/compensation for the wait. This incident indeed left a sour taste in the mouth.

Food was ok but not a very large selection, but it is a small hotel so I gave it the benefit of the doubt and I never went hungry. Dining area was a little cramped though, warm milk for cereals and tea/coffee from a machine? In a 2 star hotel we were served teas and coffees fresh! Plus the orange juice in the mornings wasn't freshly squeezed but a weird tasting sugary cordial. At dinner time, we would be seated but had to wait until AFTER we had ate for someone to come around and offer drinks, and add another 15 minutes wait onto that... surely its common curtsey to offer drinks as soon as you have sat the guests down at the table?

Would be nice to have had smaller mini snacks available in the hotel such as ice cream/crisps/nuts/cake etc on the all-inclusive, as we had to end up buying these at the local shops which means extra expense when you take into account that you have paid for all inclusive. Gentleman at the door to the restaurant was very welcoming and friendly, as well as the young chap who works at the basement bar/cafe! Very good service! (Not the tall chap who seems to work on a sunday however, thats another story...)

Malta is a lovely place and I would love to go back, but unfortunately not to the same hotel. However this is not a bad/horrible hotel as people are making it out to be, but areas could be improved upon. Oh, and sort those lifts out! Why were they breaking down nearly everyday? The lifts we had in student digs were more reliable...

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pepper32Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canifor, Manager at Canifor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2011

Dear Madam,

I thank you for your review and I am sorry if you do not think that we are of four star standard because we do try very hard to satisfy all our customers needs. Rooms are cleaned on daily basis and towels changed as well , both hand and bath as a matter of fact.Cleaning does go into the afternoon at times and this is due to the fact that on few days we have an almost total hotel changeover (170 rooms) , although we do advise our guests to check out at 11:00 this is not always followed and it creates the inconvenience of having to delay the service. It is unfortunate that some guests do not respect the times given by the hotel and that they do not understand the inconvenience that is being caused ,such as your case.


It is true we do not serve tea and coffee from pots but there are two machines in the restaurant equipped with not only tea and coffee but also with warm milk , hot chocolate and other items. We have replaced the 'old' service with the machines in order for us to offer a larger variety of items for breakfast.

I am sorry to hear that you would not return to our hotel and although no organisation is perfect I urge any reader of this review to contact the management or myself (Max Gatt) should you require anything whilst staying at the Canifor. I will only be too pleased to help you out with any difficulty :)

I do hope to see you again and that you would be able to change your mind about us. My email is max@canifor.com

Regards,


Max Gatt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

hi our names are gary and sam and we would like to say thanks to everyone at the hotel who made our holiday enjoyable,thanks again.who knows we might return,all the best for the future,gary/sam xxx

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank garypenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canifor, Manager at Canifor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2011

Dear Gary and Sam,

Thank you for your kind words and review, we appreciate your comments and look forward to hosting you again shortly.

Max Gatt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

Great place to stay for what we piad, have already booked for next year and taking family and freinds

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank macWolverhampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2011

really enjoyed our stay here, room was clean food was good staff were helpfull, the gym was undergoing work at the time i was there but max the owner gave me the key and let me use the gym free of charge, my only gripe is i didnt really like the entertainment in the evenings apart from when one of the bar staff sang

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank champboxer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canifor, Manager at Canifor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2011

Dear guest

Thank you for your review , it is much appreciated although I am not the owner but the manager :) It was a pleasure helping you out and as a gym gower myself I understood you fully. I am glad you enjoyed the Canifor and hope to have you back shortly.

Max Gatt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2011

Booked a single room as i was meeting my family who were staying at the cardor apartments next door,when i arrived the hotel was overbooked and i was expected to go to another hotel for a night or two which i refused,the hotel manager was very helpful and gave me an apartment at the cardor which was basic but very clean and spacious,the cleaning staff were fantastic,nothing was too much trouble.
We were half board,the food was ok though a bit repetative,it was nice to eat out a couple of times but for what i paid £361 for flights,transfers,7 nights hotel and food i couldn't fault it,
if you want 5 star you have to pay 5star prices

Room Tip: speak to the manager as the reception staff are not very helpful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank linnyUnitedKingdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Qawra
0.2 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
0.3 mi away
Soreda Hotel
Soreda Hotel
#4 of 15 in Qawra
2,085 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bella Vista Hotel
Bella Vista Hotel
#11 of 15 in Qawra
1,812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Qawra Palace Hotel
Qawra Palace Hotel
#7 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,854 reviews
0.8 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,681 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sunflower Hotel
Sunflower Hotel
#6 of 15 in Qawra
809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canifor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canifor Hotel

Address: Nakkri Road, Qawra, Island of Malta SPB 05, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Qawra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Qawra
Price Range: $19 - $787 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Canifor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Canifor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canifor Hotel Qawra
Canifor Hotel Malta/Qawra
Malta Canifor Hotel
Canifor Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing