We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Canifor Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$116
$103
Priceline
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
$175
$171
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
$222
$192
Priceline
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$336
$323
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,907)
Filter reviews
1,908 results
Traveler rating
204
470
466
360
408
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
204
470
466
360
408
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssoupsbus stationbudget hotelbad reviewstowels changed dailyfresh towelsplenty of choicesea front
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,657 - 1,662 of 1,908 reviews
Reviewed November 11, 2007

First impressions of the entrance and room ok. First impressions of the food and dining room terrible. Food was buffet style but don`t help yourself. Daily rations two cold potatoes or six baked beans served army style slapped on the plate and a look of daggers from the norman sorry normal serving chef .The food temperature was mainly luke warm to cold apart from maybe three times in the fortnight when there was a young chef on duty. Breakfast was as usual the same food every day served cold or just warm tablecloths were turned over rather than washed but after more than six turnings there was more stains than pattern! The toast was the hottest thing when toaster worked- burnt to a cinder. Orange/fruit juice ast breakfast was filled up from dirty plastic jugs. Glasses at the bar were always dirty and staff rushed off their feet. They were pleasant though as were the cleaning staff and the good point was the linen got changed daily in your room. The hotel as a whole was a bit dated and in future will always read reviews instead of listening to travel agents. Pool area not worth a mention Entertainment hasn`t improved to date still 2 old folks and locals practicing ballroom dancing. The only stars you`ll see at the hotel is the ones that come out at night.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank tripping-treesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2007

Food very bland, boring, tasteless, occasionally disgusting and always COLD; evening meal a 'buffet' but meat and veg served by chefs (?) giving out very small portions - ask for more and you get a diry look along with another half a spoonful; restaurant tables far too close together, much shoving and pushing for the evening meal; shower heads very poor; television in room only has CNN and Sky News in English; orange juice for all-inclusive guests translates as a horrible orange squash, even when served as a meal course; long wait for snacks ordered at the bar - probably because only ever one person on duty; entertainment a joke - a couple on the keyboard every evening and the older folk doing ballroom dancing; we pre-paid for tea/coffee making facilities but it wasn't in the room until we asked for it (note that teabags and coffee are of very low quality but luckily we had our own, and the cartons of milk you get are really coffee creamer but we discovered that you can ask for a glass of milk in the bar under the AI option); very small outdoor pool - not a problem in October, but in the summer it would be hopelessly inadequate.

On the plus side, the staff were extremely hardworking and friendly (except the serving chefs!) and it's not their fault the management has let them down by cutting costs and therefore quality. The hotel itself actually does look quite good, especially the reception area, and the rooms themselves are cleaned every day and fresh towels are provided - so if you want a clean hotel with a good location and are not too bothered about the quality of the food and the entertainment, then this is for you. Just don't expect a hotel of a four star standard because this hotel is two star at best.

Stayed: October 2007
3  Thank South_Wales_Lady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2007

my stay in this hotel had many problems,food was the same every day so although id paid full board i only went in the resturant twice,one of te head staff was very rude,arrived at one in the early hours only to find the bed was soaking wet with the rain that had come in the window,so they put me in the directors room and finally got to bed at three in the morning.got a new room next day which im 99.99% was a staff bedroom which was tiny,no mini bar/radio/smoke alarm/no fire regs.beautiful view from balcony but no good to sit on unless your a size 8.no good for disabled or elderly as there is no slope.shower was hot or cold but no inbetween.bare wires hanging from wall where a light had fell off.i paid extra for a single room which by the way was no 530.i think this should be a 2 star grade only.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank skinteastwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2007

I stayed in Canifor from 9.9. till 16.9.2007 and i could not wait to go home! what kind of hotel with suppossed 4 stars serves dinner not hot not warm but cold, they even served us food that we didn't eat the previous day the next day and also cold...the air condition didn't work but when it did the room wasn't refreshingly cold it was steaming hot! The toilet had it's good and bad days-today i work, today i don't work :) The pool if i may call that pond a pool is claimed to have sea water-yeah right! every night someone came to the pool site and dropped in a bucket of salt! I couldn't believe what i was seeing!
I absolutely hated breakfasts because i had to wait for a table almost every morning. But the worst thing was that repulsive smell of garbage that lied every where! So in my opinion if you're smart don't go there!

Stayed: September 2007, traveled with friends
4  Thank hanca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2007

we stayed at the canifor hotel from 18th sept2007 to 25th sept 2007 all inclusive with direct holidays.on arrival at 1.15pm the receptionist was friendly and helpful.after filling in registration card and being issued with all inclusive card we were told room not ready till 2pm so we went for a meal and drink. the room on the 3rd floor overlooked the pool. the room was spacious 2 twin beds bed settee table 2 chairs plenty of space to put your clothes. the bathroom was okay. towels changed everyday.
the breakfast and evening meal are buffet type in the restaurant,lunch is waiter service although u can get snacks such as chips sandwiches burgers from the downstairs bar.when i say buffet service u do not help yourself. you are served by staff behind the counter.the portions they give out were poor you had to ask for more.the food was poor for a 4 star hotel.
breakfast eggs beans fried bread sausages or bacon not both,cereal or continental style breakfast.in a corner in the restaurant was a toast machine which was poor and always a queue. evening time the veg was always carrots and peas .in fairness the meat such as pork ,steak,chicken was quite nice
we went to the restaurant as soon as it opened as we found that at peak times it was horrendous.people pushing and shoving,not enough spaces tables to close,it was like feeding time at the zoo.
there r 2 bars, the 1 by the restaurant is open all day.there is only 1 member of staff on serving drinks,collecting and washing pots plus dealing with drink orders from the restaurant. the staff work long hours and are hard working
the lounge bar by reception is open at night.it shows live football.again only 1 member of staff behind the bar so a queue will form.the evening entertainment is a joke,normally a man singing his wife on keyboards and people balroom dancing

this is no way a 4 star hotel.the food is very basic no proper entertainment.the staff work hard

we found that the tourist bar next door has a great night on a thursday. a quiz night with other spot prizes. round the corner is an irish bar and an elvis bar

i would no way stop here again, although i did not go hungry the food was awful overall.restaurant to small. no proper entertainment . i would rate this a 2 star and thats being generous

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank hoyly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews