We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value Hotel”
Review of Il Palazzin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Il Palazzin Hotel
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Qawra
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good Value Hotel”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

This hotel is situated in a back road off the main Qawra road. The area consists of a lot of apartments occupied by locals. There are a number of empty holiday complexes which gives the area a look of Beirut. The hotel was quite small by some of the ones nearby which was a positive aspect. The hotel was clean and welcoming and the staff could not be more helpful. They were always pleasant and available.Our room was no. 512 which was on the top floor. It was clean and comfortable with a view over the sea in the distance. There was a TV with minimal English channels, a hair dryer and a safe (at extra cost 2 euro per day). There were 2 single beds which were comfortable and clean. Maid service was provided every day with clean towels provided.
We stayed on a Band B basis and I have to say the breakfast was excellent. Although the hotel was full there was a continual supply of hot and cold food. The staff managed the restaurant well.
There was a bar which was managed by the reception staff at night and the prices were not unreasonable.
The pool was small and a little exposed to the wind. It did not get used much by the guests. It was cleaned and maintained every morning.
Evening meals were available for 15 euros which included a free bottle of wine. It was well used by guests although we preferred to walk into Bugibba to eat.
The location of the hotel is good for using as a base to get around the island, it is close to the bus station and the main road were tour and local buses can be boarded.
As a closing comment. If you are a first time visitor to the hotel the 4 star Malta rating is not equivalent to some other resorts around the world,however for what we paid it was excellent value and I would recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rawkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    308
    140
    53
    24
See reviews for
114
425
36
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

A small and comfortable hotel with 5* staff. Simon and Roselynn could not do enough to help, and the staff were always so pleasant. Rooms are a good size and comfortable and always very clean. The breakfast was adequate and offered a good variety. In a nice quite area within easy reach of everything. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAnchester
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel before so knew about it in advance
It is a 5 minute walk from the bus station and a few minutes to the seafront
The hotel itself is clean and well cared for. We had a 3 bed room on the 5th floor where you do get a 'distant' sea view. The room was large and very clean. The only draw-back was that the beds were very hard, not a problem for me but hubby was uncomfortable.
The breakfast was very basic, a small choice of hot foods, (beans, sausage and eggs) and plenty of cereals, fruit, yogurts and bread products. My only complaint was that it was a 'vegetable spread' rather than butter (it is my holiday treat!) I did look at the evening meal one night and was not impressed. There are so many restaurants in the area it would be a shame to go H/B at the hotel and miss the wonderful, local cuisine

The young lady on reception was always smiling and pleasant

The pool looked well maintained albeit too cold to use it in early April. They could have done with mattresses for the sun loungers though

Room Tip: ask for a high room for a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charliegir1007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I stayed here over easter with my other half on a late deal. The hotel is well located in a quiet back street just off the sea front. We were in room 412 which is certainly one of the better rooms with a sea view. The room was very clean and spacious if a little dated. The mattress was very firm though which I personally wasn't keen on but that is personal preference. The staff were helpful and friendly but the bar area was very cold and univiting. The food was ok but there was little choice with slightly over attentive staff. As soon as you put your knife and fork down the plate would be taken so just make sure you keep hold of your cutlery after your starter !!. We didn't try the pool as the weather wasn't quite warm enough but it was still cleaned and maintained well every morning. The gym was a major let down just a cross trainer and an exercise bike both having seen better days. I wouldn't personally rate it as a 4 star but overall it was very cheap and an excellent base for exploring malta. It was perhaps a little too quiet but that was just my personal opinion the higher floors are definatley the better rooms to go for if you have a choice

Room Tip: 412 is one of the best rooms with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We have just returned from a weeks stay at this lovely hotel last week in March.
The atmosphere was very welcoming, it's good value for money, basic,clean and affordable.
the breakfast was buffet style, cereal, fresh fruit, yogurts, toast, rolls, cold meats and cheese.
The restaurant staff were all very friendly and helpful nothing was too much trouble.
The bedroom was lovely-twin beds with a balcony and a view. Our room was serviced every day with fresh towels daily.
The receptionist was FAB, always smiling and again nothing was ever too much trouble.
Would definitely return..

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grant21wf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kings lynn
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

we enjoyed our stay at the IL Palazzin.Staff friendly and very helpful. Rooms clean and room service very good.3 Course meal 15 euros each with a free bottle of wine per couple if you stayed B/B plain but good value.Only negative point is that Wi Fi is 2 euros an hour.Hotel is ideally situated for public transport which is reliable.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sinatra70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alnwick, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
1,940 reviews
173 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 621 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

The General Manager and staff of the Il Palazzin hotel are to be praised for their friendliness and helpfulness. They really make you feel a valued customer. The hotel itself is ideally located for exploration of Malta or for simply enjoying the sea front of the island. Rooms are perfectly large enough, quiet and clean. If you are travelling by car, in-street parking is available outside or near to the hotel and the building is only a short distance from buses. Many bars and restaurants are within easy walking distance. Il Palazzin is excellent value for money compared to similar hotels in Malta and has a splendidly welcoming atmosphere.

Room Tip: Worth paying a little extra to see the sea from your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank profjoypc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Qawra
0.7 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,534 reviews
3.7 mi away
Luna Holiday Complex
Luna Holiday Complex
#7 of 12 in Mellieha
1,298 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Santana
Hotel Santana
#4 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Soreda Hotel
Soreda Hotel
#4 of 15 in Qawra
1,980 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sunflower Hotel
Sunflower Hotel
#6 of 15 in Qawra
759 reviews
0.2 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Palazzin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Palazzin Hotel

Property: Il Palazzin Hotel
Address: R Loria Street | near St. Pauls Bay, Qawra, Island of Malta SPB 08, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Qawra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Qawra
#5 Luxury Hotel in Qawra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Il Palazzin Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Il Palazzin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Il Palazzin
Il Palazzin Hotel Malta/Qawra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing