We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“More 3 than 4 star”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Il Palazzin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Il Palazzin Hotel
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Qawra
Luxor, Egypt
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“More 3 than 4 star”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2011

Hotel was OK but nothing special. The main downside for us was the lack of anywhere to sit outside other than the small room balcony or the crowded sunloungers in the narrow strip beside the pool. There was a very small area with 3 tables (dining room overspill) by the main entrance steps but permanently occupied by smokers.

Room was clean & tidy, with a bath & shower over. We had a complimentary sea view because we booked direct & had asked for a quiet room away from the pool, but the pool was in front of the hotel & therefor in front of the sea view rooms. Being 4th floor it kept most of the noise down (apart from the mainly Italian guests who spent their time shouting across between balconies!)

I found the daily washing of all bedding & towels unnecessary & prefer the way most hotels give you the choice of laundry services.

We always like a fridge in a room & had checked there was one before booking but when we arrived it was locked & we were told 2 Euros per day. No mention of that in the advertising although all other chargeable items were listed as such, not a good start but the excellent lady on reception made a call after I said I would put that in my review on Trip Adviser & the charges were then waived:)

Breakfast ended at 9 (a bit early for us & we skipped a few) they were buffet style & adequate. There was only 1 restaurant with a daily buffet dinner menu (6.30 - 8.30) with 3 choices of main course. The 1 meal we ate in was quite good, 15 Euros each with free bottle of wine per room. You could have had A la Carte (from a very limited menu) with 24 hours advance ordering.

Room Tip: Ask for upper levels to keep away from the pool noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank franEgyptUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    293
    132
    51
    23
See reviews for
108
401
34
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2011

Our holiday started really badly by checking into the Mediterranea in St Pauls Bay. We saw some ofr the poor feedback on this site & tried to get moved, but the travel agency was having none of it. We ended up calling the agency as soon as we arrived and insisted on a move.

We were moved to the Il Palazzin Hotel, which even though they did not deal with our ttavel agent, pushed the boat out to find accomodation for our family in two rooms. Whilst I would not say the star rating for hotels in malta anywhere equates to the star ratings in the rest of the world, our rooms were well appointed, if not a little dated. The air-con worked fine and the only thing we could really fault with the rooms was the comfyness of the beds (which kept slipping apart on the tiled flooring).

The rooms were clean and adequate for our needs (B&B). Breakfast was reasonable but the hot food was a little limited & served on a plate the size of a saucer!

The staff were really friendly and more than willing to help make our unplanned visit to their hotel as nice as possible. Lazing by the swimming pool in the afternoons in the hight of the summer heat was infinately better than getting frazzled on the beach with the lobster red tourists.

Whilst Il-Palazzin was not our first choice of hotel for our holiday, I was glad they stepped up and saved our visit to Malta from being a total disaster. A perfectly adequate place to stay, if you just want to sleep somewhere safe & quiet, whilst getting out and about to discover a remarkable Country. A Special mention goes out to Rosa, one of the receptionist, who's helpfulness and perma-smile was one of the contributory factors to our enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank stripey1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2011

The photograph of the outside of the hotel is deceiving. It is up in a very narrow street and the buses have to drop travellers off at the end of the road. Although the bedroom and bathroom were cleaned every day with nfrresh towels and sheets, the air conditioning did work, if a bit noisy when on full. We were on a B+B tariff so were fortunate only to eat one meal per day there. I do not think the large bowls of cereal were ever emptied, just topped up at meal times. Some of the cups next to the coffee and tea pots were dirty and old, and could well do with being replaced. Everyday it was chipolata sausages and eggs (5 days out of our 7 it was the hard boiled variety with the other 2 days being scrambled eggs which you had to drain before putting any on your small tea plate). But we had a surprise on our4 last day, baked beans were also served with the hard boiled eggs and sausasges. Plenty of bread and rolls, but I could not understand why we had lemon meringue pie and profiteroles on the breakfast table - obviously left over from dinner the previous evening. The description of the proposed dinner menu which was in the folder on the reception desk did not tempt many people to eat in the hotel at night. The diving pool on the top floor next to the sun terrace and gymnasium was filthy, there was a dirty scum all round the edge of the pool.

Room Tip: Request a room with a seaview. These are only available on the top floors but there are two lifts...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HELEN52_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta, Europe
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2011

The plus points in my opinion are the following:
1. It's a small hotel and hence gives a cosy feeling
2. The room, including bathroom was very clean & cleaned every day.
3. The sea view is good, even though there are some buildings between the hotel and sea.
4. The staff are very very friendly and offer a service with a smile
5. They have a book case available with numerous books to choose from - which is a nice touch.
6. Good location - close to restaurants & located on a quiet street.

The minus points in my opinion are the following:
1. The air-conditioning system is not adequate for hot summer days, in our case August. In particular if you are on the top floors of the hotel, where it tends to be even hotter. The ac is turned off between 10 & 4 for refueling, or so we have been told. Also the temperature is kept too high. Usually at night at least, the temperature was decent but on our last night it wasn't. Not sure if ac wasn't working, but we could not sleep from the heat.
2. Breakfast was nothing special especially the hot buffet...which consisted only of 2 things: sausages and eggs (one day scrambled , one day boiled). There was however a good fresh cake every day and once there was even eclairs which were good.

This is probably a nice hotel to stay in autumn, winter and spring....but we wouldn't recommend for summer, especially August!

Room Tip: Hotel offers a special offer if booking from site - you get a sea view room at no extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lisa_C_Malta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siófok
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2011

Well... How should I begin? There are quite a lot things to tell... We stayed in Il Palazzin for week, during our holiday in Malta and the hotel has caused us a lot of nuisances... First of all I would like to warn everbody that this is NOT A 4STAR HOTEL, we have even doubted that it deserved a 3 star ranking...

The Room : Altough well-cleaned it definetly lacked the amenities that one expects from a four star hotel, the furniture was quite outdated(this one ftur for the whole of the hotel), and there was only a very very small TV and a loud air conditioner. Altough we heard from other guests that they had a mini frigo, there wasn't any for us. We had an extra bed in our room for our child, whose hand was hurt by a dangeorous, sharp piece of metal at the head of the bed, which in our opinion is outraging. The bathroom was fortunately quite all right.

Room Service: Altough they always cleaned the room properly, it happened twice that they took away the used towels and didn't give any back. Both times we had to complain, until the staff reluctantly provided us with some clean ones.

Staff: They were generally kind, but one of the receptionists, an old man who works in the evening and the night shift was rude and annoying. He simply wasn't willing to help us with anything and he was always trying to make us turn with our requests to the next shift in the morning.

The Lobby Bar: The staff here was inexperienced, and one of them didn't even know what Campari was. One also has to wait quite a long time until getting served.

The Food: Well I think we've arrived at the worst things of all.... The food was simply terrible! At breakfast there as hardly anything to choose from, but it was the dinner that shocked us the most! There was only a small variety of dishes, and theye were- with only a few exceptions- miserable... Overcooked, dry, flavourless, disgusting. The 'chicken cordon-bleu' was made of the disgusting frozen stuff, that you can buy at the supermarket. It was an awful experience.

Overall, Il Palazzin Hotel was a very bad choice, and we definetly don'T recommend it to anyone who wants to have a good holiday in Malta.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anonymous318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2011

We stayed at IL Palazzin Hotel 4 nights and enjoyed a very peacefull hotel, friendly stuff and clean rooms. The hotel is located strategically, in walking distance from the promenade, bus station, shops and everything you'll need for a great vacation.

Room Tip: rummage the reviews it's worthwhile
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank piniy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2011

Stayed 1 week rooms ok for decent nights sleep, thats the good points
BAD POINTS
All those 2 euro charges per day for fridge,safe and wifi
Why is ice so hard to get in malta asking for it in bar and lots of bars is met with a look of horror
Potatoes boiled,roasted,chipped and wedges were all hard as nails like bullets the one day it was mashed it had that instant smash taste
Pool area nice pool for 5 days then THEY ARRIVED the family of 7 from hell who emptied the pool area in five minutes complete with 4 rubber rings plus giant girraffe.By the time they went in it was like a war zone

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gardner1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Qawra
0.7 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,421 reviews
0.1 mi away
Soreda Hotel
Soreda Hotel
#4 of 16 in Qawra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,914 reviews
0.2 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Park Lane Aparthotel
Park Lane Aparthotel
#1 of 16 in Qawra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Santana
Hotel Santana
#4 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,360 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Dolmen Resort Hotel
#2 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Palazzin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Palazzin Hotel

Property: Il Palazzin Hotel
Address: R Loria Street | near St. Pauls Bay, Qawra, Island of Malta SPB 08, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Qawra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Qawra
#4 Family Hotel in Qawra
#5 Luxury Hotel in Qawra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Il Palazzin Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Il Palazzin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Il Palazzin
Il Palazzin Hotel Malta/Qawra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing