We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maybe we where here on a good day”
Review of The Great Wall

The Great Wall
Ranked #40 of 100 Restaurants in Qawra
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Level Contributor
114 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Maybe we where here on a good day”
Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

food fine service good we had 3 course special meal for 9 euros each portions huge
For those of us who are a little old school
they sell Blue Nun 13 euros a bottle well we like it
we had none of the problems that are listed on the train t a so possibly we where there on a.good.day

Helpful?
Thank Phil Brady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    104
    60
    25
    62
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Best ever Chinese meal”
Reviewed June 18, 2014

Stayed in malta last week, went to quite a few restaurants which most were lovely,
This Chinese was lovely, food was great and staff all very friendly. You may get the impression that the older lady is a bit scary but not the case when you get to know her,

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank victor51_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldershot, Hants
Level Contributor
139 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“Terrible”
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Ate here because we couldn't find the highly rated 'Peking' restaurant - Food was terrible from start to finish. NOT authentic Chinese and seemed full of MSG's. The curry was awful as were the other dishes. Not good.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Whitewizard666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
“Not even if it’s for free”
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Street view décor looks inviting, the interiors though run down seemed to be pointing eastwards, but there was this big hint things may actually be going down south when you realize that you are the only customers, but hey its hindsight.
And then there is an extremely loud, obnoxious and large lady barking away oblivious of guests (just the three of us) or the fact that she (part owner or manager) is in the hospitality industry.

Wanting to have some spicy vegetarian Chinese we discussed the dishes with the attendant who was not helpful, nor knowledgeable. Hence we had to go by the menu descriptions.
Veg Spring rolls with Hot Chilly sauce for starters. Singapore curry noodles with silken tofu in spicy black bean sauce for mains.
The veg spring rolls were uncooked at the core, extremely oily and devoid of taste. Tried with a dollop of hot chilly sauce, which did not help as it was more, sour and not spicy at all. Tried explain to the attendant, but he insisted that everything was just the way it should be.
Singapore curry noodles (good portion) were warm and well flavored, but missed out on the bean sprouts, onions and peppers which add body and texture to the dish. The silken tofu in spicy black bean sauce was a disaster! The tofu was alright, but the spicy black bean sauce was more of cornstarch soy-pepper sauce with a bit of black bean sauce.
A dinner worth forgetting except of the fact we dished out some fancy bucks for duds. The food was sad ambiance was crappy and service was pathetic.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Saumil0808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
101 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Disappointing and not worth the money”
Reviewed May 8, 2014

It was a good start as we walked in, we were told to sit anywhere. The term 'sit anywhere' apparantly translates to 'but not, there, there, there, there, or there', despite there only being 2 other diners at the time - 'people might come in' we were told. They didn't, only one other couple came through the door and they too were directed to only sit at a table for 2.

Surroundings are rather tired and a bit nasty. The table was really sticky as though it could do with a really good wipe down. The artificial flowers were not attractive, being of that faded and a bit dirty variety. The TV proudly displayed on the wall had obviously met with an accident at some point as it had a massive black mark right in the centre of the screen.

The food was ok, it was edible but not really much of it, and the rice is served on the same plate as the main dish which isn't ideal. Chopsticks are not even an option. All in all, it was a very disappointing experience which we will not repeat.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank berylthesilverperil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Great Wall also viewed

 
Qawra, Island of Malta
Qawra, Island of Malta
 

Been to The Great Wall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing